Customer Reviews for

Trapped (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon th...
Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon the Norse, the Greeks, the Romans, and the Tuatha Dé Danann (the Irish gods). At first, Atticus and Granuaile have to dodge wrathful gods as they struggle to complete the binding process. But once that is completed, Atticus has to deal with his promise to the Norse gods to help them stop Hel and Ragnarok.

A lot of time passes in between Tricked and Trapped. It takes Atticus twelve years to train Granuaile, and all of it happens off page. When this story kicks off, the training has already been completed and she’s reading for the binding ceremony to seal the deal. However that time span in between books isn’t a complete void. Readers will definitely want to check out Kevin Hearne’s eNovella Two Ravens and One Crow as it fills in some important events halfway through he time gap.

There is some cool stuff to look forward to in Trapped for long time readers. Perun, the Russian thunder god returns, as does Leif the ancient Nordic vampire. Newcomers include Loki, the Nordic dwarves and dark elves, Hermes and Mercury, as well as Theophilus, the oldest living vampire in the world. There are battles with the dark elves, Bacchus and his minions, a run in with Loki, and a full out battle in Hel against her draugar armies and her wolf brother Fenris. All of it builds up for the big show down against Loki and Hel, which is yet to come.

In comparison to the other books in the series, Trapped is on par with Tricked, but falls a little short of the first three novels. There was just something about Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered that hit on a higher level. There was more laughs, action and entertainment. But Trapped still throws in some humor and enough excitement to keep things interesting. Oberon still pops in with some hilarious dialog, and I really like Granuaile’s progression. Yet the further Granuaile progresses, the more I feel Atticus regresses. He just doesn’t seem to be growing much as a character. He’s still childish at times and doesn’t think very far ahead. Of course he is 2,100 years old, so if he was going to change any as a person, he probably would have done so already. Perhaps it’s just an odd, unavoidable circumstance. Still, I would imagine there’s more to Atticus’ character that could be revealed, and as a reader, I’d like to see that head somewhere.

One thing that hasn’t suffered any in the series is the crafty development of the plots, both short term and long term. There are a lot of plot threads in Trapped that get weaved around with promises of blossoming into something in the future. For instance Leif is still in the gray area between friend and foe, and Atticus predicts Leif may have an ambitious agenda of his own. The Morrigan is still playing a game against Brighid for control of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Plus there is finally some movement on Atticus and Granuaile’s love life. Meanwhile some old story threads come back to bite Attiucs on the ass in the way of dark elves and dwarves.

Overall, I give Trapped a four out of five. It was an enjoyable read and entertaining addition to the series.

posted by Skuldren on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder. However B&N states it will now charged my card as its is released.

posted by latefred on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After twelve years of training Granuaile is finally ready to bec

    After twelve years of training Granuaile is finally ready to become a full-fledged druid. The only problem is Granuaile and Atticus must travel to the base of Mount Olympus so that he can bind her to the earth and finish the ritual. The problem being the Roman God Bacchus has sworn to take his revenge on Atticus. Bacchus is not the only one who is out for Atticus’ blood though, Loki the God of Mischief, An Ancient Vampire, and a group of Dark Elves are all on the hunt to kill the druid before he can complete the task.

    I was actually sent an advanced copy of this book for review, but about ten percent through I knew I had to use one of my precious audible credits and get the audio book. Luke Daniels has done an amazing job with this audio series and it has by far become my favorite to listen to. The story itself is so much fun, from the beginning Atticus is thrown into another instance where his mouth has brought doom upon his head. With excellent comedic timing both by Kevin Hearne and through the narration of Luke Daniels along with the fast paced action this is a great read. If you are a fan of any mythology Kevin Hearne has you covered this entire series covers ancient Gods from Norse to Christian each with their own unique personality that the author has brought to life in a remarkable way and Luke Daniels furthers this with his dramatization. The only thing I didn’t like was that Luke Daniels changed the voice of Atticus’ mentor whom he frequently has arguments with inside his mind, this book he wasn’t as high pitched and sounded much more serious than he has in the previous books, not bad just not as funny. This is by far one of the best audio book series and one of the best story lines I have come across I cannot wait to see where Kevin Hearne will take us next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Wonderful

    I think that every book gets better!! I love this series. And loved Granuailles part in this one ...I cant wait until they get a poodle for Oberon. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    :)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    AdviceExtreme

    Post all the advice you need here, or choose a book, and I will go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Most Highly Recommended - Reading is not an option... it is a MUST!

    Like all the previous offerings in the Iron Druid Chronicles, author Kevin Hearne has proven himself the new master of mythology-based supernatural adventure fiction. Atticus and Oberon, with their few allies, as well as their many enemies, keep the pace going with action, humor, and even a little romance. I can't wait for future additions to the Chronicles and you can't afford not to read each and every one as they are offered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Keep 'em coming, Mr. Hearne!! I love these books, characters are awesome, great story line -- one of the best series out there :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    The series just keeps getting better!

    Fantastic characters and a story that doesn't disappoint Don't start reading this late unless you plan to stay up all night, impossible to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Atticus O¿Sullivan is the last the last surviving druid. At leas

    Atticus O’Sullivan is the last the last surviving druid. At least, for the time being. He is also completely irreverent and doesn’t know when to shut up. He backchats gods and goddesses left and right, and has only lived as long as he has (2000 years!) due to an agreement with The Morrigan, and generous imbibing of his specially brewed immortalityTEA.

    As with all the Iron Druid books, Atticus’ best laid plans go awry. When he’s not running / fighting for his life, he is expected to kill gods. And now the dark elves and vampires are after him as well. What’s a guy to see his apprentice bound to the earth, sheesh?

    The only drawback to these books are the author’s propensity for adding not so plot related historical backstory, told by a secondary character. It slows the story down for the most part, and while it is interesting mythological info, it can be skipped. This, however, does not lessen how much a I love these books one bit.

    Why do I love them, you ask? Above and all: the pop culture references. Atticus is kind of a geek meets happy go lucky surfer. In this book there is a throw away comment about him taking his apprentice, Granuaile, to Comicon, where she proceeded to fangirl over Nathan Fillion. I may or may not have squeed. Hell, Atticus himself nearly squees at one point in the story.

    One of the best characters is Atticus’ best friend, the talking Irish Wolfhound, Oberon. This dog is FUNNY. My favorite part is where he contemplates creating a new religion (because there is money and fame in that), called Poochism. For which the holy trinity is Ham, Humping and Holy Hydrant. It was important to Oberon to maintain alliteration. The holy writ for this religion will be called the Dead Flea Scrolls. I dare you not to snorfle at that!

    Oberon also comments on a wide variety of other topics, including sausages and human mating habits. So many giggle moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I Love this series! Great sense of humor - I love the variety of

    I Love this series! Great sense of humor - I love the variety of pantheons and Oberon is TOTALLY the best side-kick ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fantastic and Witty!

    There are testiments online about this series serving as the successor to the Dresden Files (spoiler - he is still alive and kicking), but it really is far more than that and distinct in its approach. True, the basic premise of magic in the modern age, and planes of existence filled with all sorts of good and bad denizens that all want to mess with mankind, is similar, and the wit is of a nature like in kind, but there is far more to the development of this plot line and the characters with it. I would recommend this installment, and the series in general, to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    This book is a great addition to an already great series. This book much to oberons chagrin is worth more then its wieght in sausage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was, as all the previous books were, a wonderful read. The characters are vivid and colorful, and the plot draws you in so you can't put it down. Another great addition to the iron druid chronicles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    The series keeps getting better and better!

    Kevin Hearne has created a world that is believable (yes Nordic, Irish and Olympian Gods can be made believable!) and very entertaining. The characters and plot keep on being surprising! Irish Mythos meets the 21st century, a great combination, read the whole series you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Yay!

    This was an unputdownable installment of The Iron Druid Chronicles. If you like fantasy novels you must read this series. Extremely entertaining and rich in detail. I very much enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Wow

    THREE WHOLE DAYS WOW SOME THING TO THINK ABOUT LOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Squeeeeeee!!!!!!

    Yup I squee-d!! I mean how could you not? Mr. Hearne is fast becoming one of my all time favorite authors! Action,comedy, hot guys,(girsl too I guess) lovable dogs, and stuffed with mythology! This series is awesome! I couldnr put it down and my only complaint is that this book is done and I need more! Really if you havent checked out this series get it asap I promise, you won't be sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    My favorite series

    My favorite series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Atticus O¿Sullivan and Granuaile, his apprentice, are searching

    Atticus O’Sullivan and Granuaile, his apprentice, are searching the world for the perfect place to bind Granuaile to the earth. Once the binding ritual is done, Granuaile will be a full Druid. There is a great disturbance in the earth and it is quickly discovered that Loki, quite mad, is on the loose. Loki's release marks the possible start of Ragnarok.

    It seems everywhere they turn, someone, be it gods, dark elves, vampires are out to get Atticus and Granuaile. Oberon, the irish wolf hound, Granuaile and Atticus must travel to the only place where the binding ceremony can be done, Mt. Olympus. Putting them right on the door step of so many that wish them dead. With out completely the ceremony, Granuaile will still be vulnerable a loss Atticus cannot face again.

    I have never read any of the Iron Druid Series before <b>Trapped</b>
    , that being said I loved this book. Oberon, well let us just say he ROCKS! Smart, witty banter surrounded with a great story line, fantastically original characters, non-stop action, and fascinating twists made <b>Trapped</b>
    jump off the pages and come alive in your imagination.

    This copy of <b>Trapped</b>
    was given to me by Netgalley and Random House Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date: November 27, 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3