Customer Reviews for

Trapped (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon th...
Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon the Norse, the Greeks, the Romans, and the Tuatha Dé Danann (the Irish gods). At first, Atticus and Granuaile have to dodge wrathful gods as they struggle to complete the binding process. But once that is completed, Atticus has to deal with his promise to the Norse gods to help them stop Hel and Ragnarok.

A lot of time passes in between Tricked and Trapped. It takes Atticus twelve years to train Granuaile, and all of it happens off page. When this story kicks off, the training has already been completed and she’s reading for the binding ceremony to seal the deal. However that time span in between books isn’t a complete void. Readers will definitely want to check out Kevin Hearne’s eNovella Two Ravens and One Crow as it fills in some important events halfway through he time gap.

There is some cool stuff to look forward to in Trapped for long time readers. Perun, the Russian thunder god returns, as does Leif the ancient Nordic vampire. Newcomers include Loki, the Nordic dwarves and dark elves, Hermes and Mercury, as well as Theophilus, the oldest living vampire in the world. There are battles with the dark elves, Bacchus and his minions, a run in with Loki, and a full out battle in Hel against her draugar armies and her wolf brother Fenris. All of it builds up for the big show down against Loki and Hel, which is yet to come.

In comparison to the other books in the series, Trapped is on par with Tricked, but falls a little short of the first three novels. There was just something about Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered that hit on a higher level. There was more laughs, action and entertainment. But Trapped still throws in some humor and enough excitement to keep things interesting. Oberon still pops in with some hilarious dialog, and I really like Granuaile’s progression. Yet the further Granuaile progresses, the more I feel Atticus regresses. He just doesn’t seem to be growing much as a character. He’s still childish at times and doesn’t think very far ahead. Of course he is 2,100 years old, so if he was going to change any as a person, he probably would have done so already. Perhaps it’s just an odd, unavoidable circumstance. Still, I would imagine there’s more to Atticus’ character that could be revealed, and as a reader, I’d like to see that head somewhere.

One thing that hasn’t suffered any in the series is the crafty development of the plots, both short term and long term. There are a lot of plot threads in Trapped that get weaved around with promises of blossoming into something in the future. For instance Leif is still in the gray area between friend and foe, and Atticus predicts Leif may have an ambitious agenda of his own. The Morrigan is still playing a game against Brighid for control of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Plus there is finally some movement on Atticus and Granuaile’s love life. Meanwhile some old story threads come back to bite Attiucs on the ass in the way of dark elves and dwarves.

Overall, I give Trapped a four out of five. It was an enjoyable read and entertaining addition to the series.

posted by Skuldren on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder. However B&N states it will now charged my card as its is released.

posted by latefred on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Wonderful! The series just keeps getting better.

    Comparing "The Iron Druid Chronicles" to Jim Butcher's "Dresdon Files" is a huge compliment to both authors as skilled writers with equally wonderful characters in worlds that very different. I love this series and can't wait to read the next book. Kevin, you have earned my loyalty as a huge fan. Thanks for giving me something worth reading. You have captured my imagination and picqued my interest with the very first book. Keep the books coming and I will continue reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Atticus O¿Sullivan is the last the last surviving druid. At leas

    Atticus O’Sullivan is the last the last surviving druid. At least, for the time being. He is also completely irreverent and doesn’t know when to shut up. He backchats gods and goddesses left and right, and has only lived as long as he has (2000 years!) due to an agreement with The Morrigan, and generous imbibing of his specially brewed immortalityTEA.

    As with all the Iron Druid books, Atticus’ best laid plans go awry. When he’s not running / fighting for his life, he is expected to kill gods. And now the dark elves and vampires are after him as well. What’s a guy to see his apprentice bound to the earth, sheesh?

    The only drawback to these books are the author’s propensity for adding not so plot related historical backstory, told by a secondary character. It slows the story down for the most part, and while it is interesting mythological info, it can be skipped. This, however, does not lessen how much a I love these books one bit.

    Why do I love them, you ask? Above and all: the pop culture references. Atticus is kind of a geek meets happy go lucky surfer. In this book there is a throw away comment about him taking his apprentice, Granuaile, to Comicon, where she proceeded to fangirl over Nathan Fillion. I may or may not have squeed. Hell, Atticus himself nearly squees at one point in the story.

    One of the best characters is Atticus’ best friend, the talking Irish Wolfhound, Oberon. This dog is FUNNY. My favorite part is where he contemplates creating a new religion (because there is money and fame in that), called Poochism. For which the holy trinity is Ham, Humping and Holy Hydrant. It was important to Oberon to maintain alliteration. The holy writ for this religion will be called the Dead Flea Scrolls. I dare you not to snorfle at that!

    Oberon also comments on a wide variety of other topics, including sausages and human mating habits. So many giggle moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes, nothing will suit my reading mood except a fun story


    Sometimes, nothing will suit my reading mood except a fun story and Kevin Hearne is one of my favorite go-to authors for that. The whole idea of Atticus being a 2000-year-old druid, the last remaining, is wonderful but it’s even better that he passes for 21 (in the first book), he’s never short of funds, he swings a mean sword, he has a fabulous Irish wolfhound named Oberon and he’s just plain awesome. I love this line from a Publishers Weekly review of an earlier book—

    “Hearne, a self-professed comic-book nerd, has turned his love of awesome dudes whacking mightily at evil villains into a superb urban fantasy debut.”

    That pretty much sums up how I feel about The Iron Druid Chronicles and I dread to think of it’s inevitable end (as of right now, it seems there will be nine novels). No need to worry about that right now, though, because I have Trapped to savor and at least one more novel and novella and a handful of short stories to go later this year. As for this installment, I love it just a teensy bit less than the first four books and the novella preceding this one. Why do I say that when I’m such a fan of Atticus, Granuaile and Oberon? There are two issues that detracted from the pure joy I usually find in Hearne‘s writing.

    First, there are too many characters. As for actual count, I didn’t bother with being THAT obsessive about it and there may be no more than in Hammered with all its Norse gods, frost giants, demon hunters, etc., but Trapped somehow seems more populated and I found it a bit difficult to keep them all straight. The second thing is there were a few passages of an educational bent that reminded me too much of a classroom seminar.

    Oh, one other thing—not enough Oberon! OK, his amount of page time may have been appropriate for the story but there’s just no such thing as too much Oberon if you ask me. You’d have to have the humor of a rock not to laugh out loud when Oberon gives Atticus the sex talk or when he claims he should be knighted Sir Oberon for his literary achievements ;-) By the way, if you’re new to the series, Oberon and Atticus have quite lively conversations but it’s all between the two of them, made possible by the fact that…duh…Atticus is a druid and he can do cool stuff like that.

    Still and all, I love that the supernatural world has discovered the big secret, that Atticus is alive, and now there are a whole lot of supes out to get him. You can’t help thinking he’s ticked off an awful lot of these guys over the centuries and you also can’t help thinking that his band of himself, a dog and a sort of girlfriend are a very small army. How is he going to get himself out of this colossal mess?

    Despite the few shortcomings I’ve mentioned, I still love Trapped, so much that I read it twice, once in egalley form and then the audio book edition. Why? It’s quite simple, really—Luke Daniels is one of the best narrators in the business and he’s just plain brilliant with The Iron Druid Chronicles. I always know which character is speaking and, quite honestly, all he has to do is say one word in Oberon’s voice and I’m in hysterics.

    So, looking for a fun read? You can’t do better than this but, if you haven’t read the earlier books, you really should start at the beginning with Hounded and get caught up in time for Hunted this June. By the way, if you want a little taste, head on over to Mr. Hearne‘s website and you’ll find a couple of free short stories (but no promises they’ll be there forever).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I Love this series! Great sense of humor - I love the variety of

    I Love this series! Great sense of humor - I love the variety of pantheons and Oberon is TOTALLY the best side-kick ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fantastic and Witty!

    There are testiments online about this series serving as the successor to the Dresden Files (spoiler - he is still alive and kicking), but it really is far more than that and distinct in its approach. True, the basic premise of magic in the modern age, and planes of existence filled with all sorts of good and bad denizens that all want to mess with mankind, is similar, and the wit is of a nature like in kind, but there is far more to the development of this plot line and the characters with it. I would recommend this installment, and the series in general, to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    I have read the entire Iron Druid Chronicle series of books and

    I have read the entire Iron Druid Chronicle series of books and love them.  Atticus is a very cool druid and Granuaile has been training for twelve years to become a full druid - Atticus' first in a very long time!  At the end of the previous book, Atticus was able to fake his death in order to try and focus the next decade or so on training for Granuaile.  However, someone figured out he was not dead.  Having read the other books I am very familiar with the theme - everyone is trying to kill Atticus.  




    Once the training concludes after twelve years, they learn that Olympus has a binding on all of Europe except in one tiny remote area.  The binding will specifically not allow Atticus and Granuaile shift into that land.  However, that is exactly where they need to be in order to complete the process of her binding to the earth - making her a full druid and no longer an apprentice.  But of course that brings about many adventures, many characters from many different planes, gods (Roman, Greek and Norse), vampires and more.  




    Then Hearne adds in a little bit of romance with Atticus and Granuaile - which I believe was inevitable.  And Oberon was his usual great self - best Irish Wolfhound character ever.  Maybe he needs his own series... Just a thought.  Although I adore Oberon, I do have to give this book 4 stars and feel that is generous.  This book is so much more of the same type of stuff from previous books.  Everyone always wants Atticus dead.  The end.  




    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Just not up to par. It started out slow, then became exciting v

    Just not up to par. It started out slow, then became exciting very briefly, then went to ho-hum with a brief turn to exciting action before it suddenly ended. Think I'll pass on the pre-order of the next one and let some reviews come out before I decide to spend my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Really great

    Detailed and interesting as ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Trapped was a fantastic addition to the Iron Druid series! It wa

    Trapped was a fantastic addition to the Iron Druid series! It was definitely one of my favorite in this series. While I generally don't like reading books with male protagonists because I can't relate to them, I love Atticus dearly. This book had all of the things I love about this series (minus Coyote... I do love a trickster), but in larger quantities. If you love this series, you must have this book. If you're curious about the series, start at the beginning (obviously), but this book is still a must-have! If you're not sure if this series is for you, I'd definitely recommend it to fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files. 

    The character development in the Iron Druid Chronicles has always astounded me, and this installment was no exception. Atticus somehow managed to grow throughout the course of the novel, even though it took place twelve years down the road from the last book. Granuaile also evolved, and I've always I really liked her character. And who doesn't love Oberon? I mean, come on! Oberon is my favorite character, for sure. 

    Another thing I really loved about this novel was that it went really in depth with the mythology surrounding all of the characters/worlds. As those of you who have read Hearne's work know, he has incorporated vampires, lycanthropes, elves, the fae, etc. into this series, and as the series progresses, he includes more details about all of the mythology. This novel had more mythology than the previous ones, and I enjoyed that. 

    The plot was, of course, an action-packed thrill ride. There was not one dull moment in the entire novel. I was kept on the edge of my seat for the entire book, and I could not put it down. If you want a quick, intense read, then this book is for you. Some of Atticus' issues were solved at the end of this book, but there are still enough problems for the next book, don't worry.

    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who loves the Dresden Files, or just urban fantasy in general. You'll fall in love with the characters, and the plot is amazing. You do not want to miss this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    This book is a great addition to an already great series. This book much to oberons chagrin is worth more then its wieght in sausage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was, as all the previous books were, a wonderful read. The characters are vivid and colorful, and the plot draws you in so you can't put it down. Another great addition to the iron druid chronicles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    The series keeps getting better and better!

    Kevin Hearne has created a world that is believable (yes Nordic, Irish and Olympian Gods can be made believable!) and very entertaining. The characters and plot keep on being surprising! Irish Mythos meets the 21st century, a great combination, read the whole series you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great fun

    Good book. This series is just a great yarn. Highly reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Trapped starts of twelve years after Tricked and I was a little

    Trapped starts of twelve years after Tricked and I was a little afraid that we might have missed something with that big of a gap. Fortunately, we don't (other than Atticus thinking of a whole lot of baseball so as to not act on those pesky smexy feelings for his apprentice, Granuaile). The action picks right back up where we left off. Atticus has managed to piss off just about EVERY pantheon AND those elusive dark elves that he's so fond of blaming everything on. All he wants to do is complete Granuaile's binding so that she can become a full-fledged Druid and, maybe once that's completed, explore their mutual attraction.

    Atticus has a lot to answer for and has run-ins with multiple pantheons, vampires, and the dark elves. He uses his wit to defuse confrontations and his ninja-like Druidic skills when that doesn't work. He doesn't come out of every encounter unscathed and at the end of the book there are still a lot of plot lines that have to be addressed in future books.

    The Iron Druid Chronicles is one of my favorite series because it's an excellent mix of action and humor. There's not much romance, Atticus and Granuaile have had feelings for each other for quite some time and FINALLY act on them in Trapped. Unfortuantely all the hook up action happens off page. But, I don't read this series for romance and hook ups. It's fast paced and action packed. You get a mix of paranormal characters (Druids, gods, vamps, witches, etc) and the main draw for me is the snarky sense of humor throughout the book. In fact, I started highlighting favorite lines starting at page one.

    I can't wait to see where Hunted, Book 6, takes us. It's out in June 2013, so if you haven't started the Iron Druid Chronicles yet, you have time to catch up. Make sure you get it on your TBR list.

    Quotes from Trapped:
    “Lie down and offer your throat. No, wait, that's how dogs submit. I know! Offer her you're wallet!"~ Oberon

    "Damn it, Jim, I'm a Druid not a Physicist!”~Atticus

    “Druid log July 15: Dark elves are not only quick and efficient killers, but creative and pyrotechnically inclined ones.”

    “Not everyone can be bribed with meat, Oberon."
    "They Can't? Oh! you mean they're vegetarian."
    "No, they eat meat. It just doesn't sway their decision making process."
    "Well that... that's just wrong, Atticus! Are they Monsters? It's like they have no moral center!”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Yay!

    This was an unputdownable installment of The Iron Druid Chronicles. If you like fantasy novels you must read this series. Extremely entertaining and rich in detail. I very much enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Wow

    THREE WHOLE DAYS WOW SOME THING TO THINK ABOUT LOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Great Series!!

    Starts slow (compared to the others), builds up momentum slowly, then takes off like a space shuttle !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Squeeeeeee!!!!!!

    Yup I squee-d!! I mean how could you not? Mr. Hearne is fast becoming one of my all time favorite authors! Action,comedy, hot guys,(girsl too I guess) lovable dogs, and stuffed with mythology! This series is awesome! I couldnr put it down and my only complaint is that this book is done and I need more! Really if you havent checked out this series get it asap I promise, you won't be sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I purchased this book the night it was released. Why is it still

    I purchased this book the night it was released. Why is it still showing up as preordered in my nook library? I'm very dissappointed with this delay. Lets get it together B&N. IM NOT RATING THE BOOK just the service.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    My favorite series

    My favorite series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6