BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Trapped (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also

Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon th...
Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon the Norse, the Greeks, the Romans, and the Tuatha Dé Danann (the Irish gods). At first, Atticus and Granuaile have to dodge wrathful gods as they struggle to complete the binding process. But once that is completed, Atticus has to deal with his promise to the Norse gods to help them stop Hel and Ragnarok.

A lot of time passes in between Tricked and Trapped. It takes Atticus twelve years to train Granuaile, and all of it happens off page. When this story kicks off, the training has already been completed and she’s reading for the binding ceremony to seal the deal. However that time span in between books isn’t a complete void. Readers will definitely want to check out Kevin Hearne’s eNovella Two Ravens and One Crow as it fills in some important events halfway through he time gap.

There is some cool stuff to look forward to in Trapped for long time readers. Perun, the Russian thunder god returns, as does Leif the ancient Nordic vampire. Newcomers include Loki, the Nordic dwarves and dark elves, Hermes and Mercury, as well as Theophilus, the oldest living vampire in the world. There are battles with the dark elves, Bacchus and his minions, a run in with Loki, and a full out battle in Hel against her draugar armies and her wolf brother Fenris. All of it builds up for the big show down against Loki and Hel, which is yet to come.

In comparison to the other books in the series, Trapped is on par with Tricked, but falls a little short of the first three novels. There was just something about Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered that hit on a higher level. There was more laughs, action and entertainment. But Trapped still throws in some humor and enough excitement to keep things interesting. Oberon still pops in with some hilarious dialog, and I really like Granuaile’s progression. Yet the further Granuaile progresses, the more I feel Atticus regresses. He just doesn’t seem to be growing much as a character. He’s still childish at times and doesn’t think very far ahead. Of course he is 2,100 years old, so if he was going to change any as a person, he probably would have done so already. Perhaps it’s just an odd, unavoidable circumstance. Still, I would imagine there’s more to Atticus’ character that could be revealed, and as a reader, I’d like to see that head somewhere.

One thing that hasn’t suffered any in the series is the crafty development of the plots, both short term and long term. There are a lot of plot threads in Trapped that get weaved around with promises of blossoming into something in the future. For instance Leif is still in the gray area between friend and foe, and Atticus predicts Leif may have an ambitious agenda of his own. The Morrigan is still playing a game against Brighid for control of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Plus there is finally some movement on Atticus and Granuaile’s love life. Meanwhile some old story threads come back to bite Attiucs on the ass in the way of dark elves and dwarves.

Overall, I give Trapped a four out of five. It was an enjoyable read and entertaining addition to the series.

posted by Skuldren on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder.

Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder. However B&N states it will now charged my card as its is released.

posted by latefred on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder.

    Released but cannot access on my nook, still listed as preorder. However B&N states it will now charged my card as its is released.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also

    Trapped is the fifth book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. It also represents a large step forward in the timeline as Granuaile finally completes her training as a Druid. While the previous books have all focused on a particular pantheon, Trapped shifts equal light upon the Norse, the Greeks, the Romans, and the Tuatha Dé Danann (the Irish gods). At first, Atticus and Granuaile have to dodge wrathful gods as they struggle to complete the binding process. But once that is completed, Atticus has to deal with his promise to the Norse gods to help them stop Hel and Ragnarok.

    A lot of time passes in between Tricked and Trapped. It takes Atticus twelve years to train Granuaile, and all of it happens off page. When this story kicks off, the training has already been completed and she’s reading for the binding ceremony to seal the deal. However that time span in between books isn’t a complete void. Readers will definitely want to check out Kevin Hearne’s eNovella Two Ravens and One Crow as it fills in some important events halfway through he time gap.

    There is some cool stuff to look forward to in Trapped for long time readers. Perun, the Russian thunder god returns, as does Leif the ancient Nordic vampire. Newcomers include Loki, the Nordic dwarves and dark elves, Hermes and Mercury, as well as Theophilus, the oldest living vampire in the world. There are battles with the dark elves, Bacchus and his minions, a run in with Loki, and a full out battle in Hel against her draugar armies and her wolf brother Fenris. All of it builds up for the big show down against Loki and Hel, which is yet to come.

    In comparison to the other books in the series, Trapped is on par with Tricked, but falls a little short of the first three novels. There was just something about Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered that hit on a higher level. There was more laughs, action and entertainment. But Trapped still throws in some humor and enough excitement to keep things interesting. Oberon still pops in with some hilarious dialog, and I really like Granuaile’s progression. Yet the further Granuaile progresses, the more I feel Atticus regresses. He just doesn’t seem to be growing much as a character. He’s still childish at times and doesn’t think very far ahead. Of course he is 2,100 years old, so if he was going to change any as a person, he probably would have done so already. Perhaps it’s just an odd, unavoidable circumstance. Still, I would imagine there’s more to Atticus’ character that could be revealed, and as a reader, I’d like to see that head somewhere.

    One thing that hasn’t suffered any in the series is the crafty development of the plots, both short term and long term. There are a lot of plot threads in Trapped that get weaved around with promises of blossoming into something in the future. For instance Leif is still in the gray area between friend and foe, and Atticus predicts Leif may have an ambitious agenda of his own. The Morrigan is still playing a game against Brighid for control of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Plus there is finally some movement on Atticus and Granuaile’s love life. Meanwhile some old story threads come back to bite Attiucs on the ass in the way of dark elves and dwarves.

    Overall, I give Trapped a four out of five. It was an enjoyable read and entertaining addition to the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Paid for but not delivered

    I have it on my simple touch but not on my phone. Though i didn't get it on the nook til a full day after the release. Won't be preorderind ever again

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    A Good Story Sliding into Formula

    Kevin Hearne has an interesting protagonist, solid voice, tight pacing, and excellent writing skills. His Iron Druid novels were the subjects of my final senior literary criticism paper for my English degree at the local university! I and my conservative friends really enjoyed the first four books of the series despite their almost abusively left-wing worldview. Hearne is just that witty.
    But with this novel I think Hearne rushed it into production too fast. This one tries to do too much with too little build-up. We've got the romance with his apprentice that hasn't had any gravitas. There's never been a real tension between them. No internal conflicts ever threatened their relationship, so we've never seen it grow. As such there's much less payoff on their eventual couple status than even a mediocre sparkly-vampire romance I could name!
    That same rush-to-resolution feeling pervades the novels. This installment is packed full of genuine Hearne genius. There are inventive ideas, great concepts, and they're all machine-gunned through so quickly I had no time to savor any of them.
    This book would have done better with one of three things:
    1] expanding the novel to about 2x its current size
    2] postponing some of the ideas for a later book
    3] (and what I think really ought to have happened) this story is so epic, packed with ideas, and critical to the novel that it should have been two or even three books to tell the same story.
    But because of the content-overload even an amazing writer like Hearne has little opportunity than to follow plot formulae. He just doesn't have the room to be fancy or draw out any of the really excellent and entertaining ideas.
    Pity. I'll probably give the next book in the series a try, but for the first time in the Iron Druid series, I'm a bit disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Not quite up to snuff as far as Iron Druid Chronicles go. The s

    Not quite up to snuff as far as Iron Druid Chronicles go. The story seemed mashed together, and a lot of the interaction between the two main characters was jilted, and not believable. Not Hearne's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Heh...that is about all i can say. No wait, let down...that is w

    Heh...that is about all i can say. No wait, let down...that is what i feel, i feel let down with this one. It starts out really slow, picks up a little, gets real interesting towards the last 30 pages then just falls flat with a HUGE splat, I love how Granuaile gets fleshed out and developed, the same Oberon BUT Atticus, he sort of becomes a secondary character in his own story!

    I eagerly awaited the release of the book (wont go into the hassle I had getting it since I pre-ordered it etc etc) and feel real let down.
    When I finished it left me with the feeling that the next book maybe the last...either this is the last book he is writing in the series OR it wil be the last book I prchase in this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After twelve years of training Granuaile is finally ready to bec

    After twelve years of training Granuaile is finally ready to become a full-fledged druid. The only problem is Granuaile and Atticus must travel to the base of Mount Olympus so that he can bind her to the earth and finish the ritual. The problem being the Roman God Bacchus has sworn to take his revenge on Atticus. Bacchus is not the only one who is out for Atticus’ blood though, Loki the God of Mischief, An Ancient Vampire, and a group of Dark Elves are all on the hunt to kill the druid before he can complete the task.

    I was actually sent an advanced copy of this book for review, but about ten percent through I knew I had to use one of my precious audible credits and get the audio book. Luke Daniels has done an amazing job with this audio series and it has by far become my favorite to listen to. The story itself is so much fun, from the beginning Atticus is thrown into another instance where his mouth has brought doom upon his head. With excellent comedic timing both by Kevin Hearne and through the narration of Luke Daniels along with the fast paced action this is a great read. If you are a fan of any mythology Kevin Hearne has you covered this entire series covers ancient Gods from Norse to Christian each with their own unique personality that the author has brought to life in a remarkable way and Luke Daniels furthers this with his dramatization. The only thing I didn’t like was that Luke Daniels changed the voice of Atticus’ mentor whom he frequently has arguments with inside his mind, this book he wasn’t as high pitched and sounded much more serious than he has in the previous books, not bad just not as funny. This is by far one of the best audio book series and one of the best story lines I have come across I cannot wait to see where Kevin Hearne will take us next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Trapped

    Can not access the content. I can open the nook book, but it is empty All of the pages are empty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Wonderful

    I think that every book gets better!! I love this series. And loved Granuailles part in this one ...I cant wait until they get a poodle for Oberon. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    :)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    AdviceExtreme

    Post all the advice you need here, or choose a book, and I will go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Most Highly Recommended - Reading is not an option... it is a MUST!

    Like all the previous offerings in the Iron Druid Chronicles, author Kevin Hearne has proven himself the new master of mythology-based supernatural adventure fiction. Atticus and Oberon, with their few allies, as well as their many enemies, keep the pace going with action, humor, and even a little romance. I can't wait for future additions to the Chronicles and you can't afford not to read each and every one as they are offered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Keep 'em coming, Mr. Hearne!! I love these books, characters are awesome, great story line -- one of the best series out there :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    love love love this series!

    loved it! do not want to wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    The series just keeps getting better!

    Fantastic characters and a story that doesn't disappoint Don't start reading this late unless you plan to stay up all night, impossible to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    If you like Dresden Files, this is for you

    Kevin Hearne keeps up a good pace, and yet manages to keep bringing in solid ties to previous adventures. Definitely invokes the feeling of the old epic Norse tales, while keeping an organic bent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    I've enjoyed this chaacter from the day I found it. Have always characters against the world. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Wonderful! The series just keeps getting better.

    Comparing "The Iron Druid Chronicles" to Jim Butcher's "Dresdon Files" is a huge compliment to both authors as skilled writers with equally wonderful characters in worlds that very different. I love this series and can't wait to read the next book. Kevin, you have earned my loyalty as a huge fan. Thanks for giving me something worth reading. You have captured my imagination and picqued my interest with the very first book. Keep the books coming and I will continue reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6