BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Trapped

Average Rating 3.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and suspenseful

Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside t...
Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside the school. It's interesting to think about both what they do right and what they do wrong. The narrator is a basketball player named Scotty Weems. His little asides and observations are sometimes funny, but the snow keeps falling so the pressure keeps rising right up till the end.

posted by PDobyns on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Misleading and a disappointment.

OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not wh...
OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not what I expected what-so-ever. Northrop conveys the story of Scotty who is trapped in Tattawa High school along with his best friends Pete and Jason. Krista and Julie the "hotties" are also a part of this maverick bunch. Les; the school bully and Elijah; the weird kid that is placed in the goth category are also a part of this calamitous seven. There is a history teacher trapped along with them, but he is too deficient and ends up leaving out into the noxious snow- to supposedly get help. He is never mentioned nor triumphantly comes back for the kids. So I assume he dies, which doesn't tear jerk me since he is way to conceited to think about the kids before himself. The kids main priority should be getting help right? Somewhat wrong. All Jason cares about is making his way down the the shop room and working on a snow mobile which comes up in the story dilatorily. So everything starts shutting down, the lights, heat, water, and the roof ironically decides to start falling. It even gets up to twenty feet of snow, IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I was mislead and disappointed in this book. Micheal even states early on "Not everyone made it in the end." Which yes, is true. But it only is like this because of a arrogant decision. This book is 2/5 stars for me. I wish I spent my- what?- 11 dollars on this book on a more memorable novel. Without so much cheese, and more what the story is told to be. Action, page turning, and the teeny bit of a romance is what I expected this to be. It's none of the above, it's way to short to tell a story like this in, but the pages are continuously filled with stuff that is totally nugatory. Don't spend the money on this please- do not do what I did. While this idea was splendid and prolific, it was poorly written. May I ask, Why is this book under MUST READS? ( A book review written by a thirteen year old girl who extensively read magnificent books, but must review the bad one's too.)

posted by AberrantBooks-13yr-girl on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Misleading and a disappointment.

    OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not what I expected what-so-ever. Northrop conveys the story of Scotty who is trapped in Tattawa High school along with his best friends Pete and Jason. Krista and Julie the "hotties" are also a part of this maverick bunch. Les; the school bully and Elijah; the weird kid that is placed in the goth category are also a part of this calamitous seven. There is a history teacher trapped along with them, but he is too deficient and ends up leaving out into the noxious snow- to supposedly get help. He is never mentioned nor triumphantly comes back for the kids. So I assume he dies, which doesn't tear jerk me since he is way to conceited to think about the kids before himself. The kids main priority should be getting help right? Somewhat wrong. All Jason cares about is making his way down the the shop room and working on a snow mobile which comes up in the story dilatorily. So everything starts shutting down, the lights, heat, water, and the roof ironically decides to start falling. It even gets up to twenty feet of snow, IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I was mislead and disappointed in this book. Micheal even states early on "Not everyone made it in the end." Which yes, is true. But it only is like this because of a arrogant decision. This book is 2/5 stars for me. I wish I spent my- what?- 11 dollars on this book on a more memorable novel. Without so much cheese, and more what the story is told to be. Action, page turning, and the teeny bit of a romance is what I expected this to be. It's none of the above, it's way to short to tell a story like this in, but the pages are continuously filled with stuff that is totally nugatory. Don't spend the money on this please- do not do what I did. While this idea was splendid and prolific, it was poorly written. May I ask, Why is this book under MUST READS? ( A book review written by a thirteen year old girl who extensively read magnificent books, but must review the bad one's too.)

    34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Excellent and suspenseful

    Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside the school. It's interesting to think about both what they do right and what they do wrong. The narrator is a basketball player named Scotty Weems. His little asides and observations are sometimes funny, but the snow keeps falling so the pressure keeps rising right up till the end.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Ehhhh, I've read better...

    The description of the book was more interesting than the book itself. The author droned on and on and on...
    I continued reading, hoping the climax would be worth the bland first part of the book, never happened.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    An incredible Nor'easter hits Little River, leaving seven high school students and one teacher stranded at Tattawa Regional High School. Officials schedule an early dismissal, hopefully sending students home safely, but each of the remaining seven students has some reason for staying behind. No one really believes the storm will be as bad as predicted. Five boys and two girls sit with their teacher watching the snow fall. As it comes down faster and heavier, they all begin to regret their decisions to stay behind. When they see what looks to be a snowplow on the highway near the school, the teacher heads out to intercept it. He disappears in the blizzard and is never seen again. With cell phone service interrupted by the storm, the students have no way to contact their loved ones, so they begin to make the best of what they hope will be a temporary situation. They gather food from the cafeteria and blankets from the nurse's office. A transistor radio provides their only connection with the outside world. The snow piles up past the windows of the first floor, so the group moves to the second story. When the power goes out and the batteries on the emergency lights eventually run out, at least they will still have light coming in through the windows. With no heat left in the old building, they use materials from the shop class supplies to get a fire going in one of the rooms, hoping to generate enough heat to melt snow for water and provide a minimum of warmth. Now what remains is to stay positive and be civil with one another until someone comes to rescue them. Unfortunately, none of them considered the weight of the snow on the aging building's roof, the tension of being together 24/7, and the tragedy that would happen when one of them tries to go for help. Considering the massive snowstorms parts of the nation have endured this winter, this book truly hits home. Author Michael Northrop has created a frightening but intriguing adventure that will spark fear in the hearts of teens. High school has enough pitfalls without the worry of being hopelessly stranded there with no way to contact the outside world. TRAPPED is sure to be a success long after the snow melts and Spring arrives.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling! A must-read!

    "Trapped" gave me the chills. Eerie, compelling, and wonderfully well-written, the book follows an interesting set of characters through a rough natural disaster. Northrop kept me turning the pages, seeing the snow grow with each passing chapter (literally...the clever book design has each new chapter starting higher and higher on the page as the snow in the writing accumulates). Really, a must-read!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Didn't explain

    The ending made me so frustrated it could have been an amazing book but the ending just killed it. Really dissapointed when I turned the page and realized it was the end of the story.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Really not worth the money

    Well, This book had a lot of potential, but in the end it failed completely. We never really get to know the characters- even the main character! This is particularly bad considering that this book is written in third person. This book is only 170 pages and could stand to be a lot longer.

    I was looking forward to a good book of survival horror but found myself dissapointed. What's worse, in the very beginning there is an insnuation that people will die. This is followed through with- about twenty pages before the end of the book. It feels like the author got bored half way through writing the book an dsloppily takce don an ending.

    They are only in the school for three days!

    And the ending was terrible too. It was another hastily tacked on bit to an already woefully dissapointing story. I wish that I paid attention to one of the bad reviews this book got. It was a waste of money. I wish I'd bought 'The Vampire Lestat' instead.

    If you must rea dthis, go to the library.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Very good!

    I really liked this book. I thought it was funny how the boys talk and how Scotty thinks. I would recommended this book to all readers who are looking for a short and great read. I was hoping for a little more detail, though. Like for example, when Pete dies i didnt really miss him because the book didnt talk about him that much, or make a strong contection to me to him.
    Over all this is a great read! Check it out for yourselves.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Best Book I've Read All Year

    This a book that you will put down and still be thinking about days later. Northrop spins a seriously suspenseful tale. You really feel like you're in the shoes of the trapped teens -- What would you eat to stay alive? How would you do to stay warm? How would you deal? As for the other reviews criticizing the ending: Yes, it is abrupt. But I can only hope this means there is a possible sequel in the future? In the meantime, I'll use my imagination...

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    good book

    i love how this guy writes but i wish he had a longer ending

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awful

    I read thus book because so many people told me it was a great suspensible book...it was the complete opposite. Unless you want to completely bore yourself with 200 pages ofthe worst book evrr DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!! This book has absolutely no suspense and is completely boring and just goes on and on forever. And t top that off the book has an extremely depressing ending. So basically there is nothing good about this book...not even a happy ending.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    :|

    This book was terrible for a number a reasons! The book had a borring storyline that was not a joy to read.It was very predictable and short. I would not recomend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Good book

    This book was ok for me. i was really disappionted in the end but you wil just have to read it first!!!:)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Kind of Dull....

    I was really excited to read this book because I thought it would be suspenseful and get me wondering which characters would make it through the storm and which characters wouldn't. Through most of the book it is very boring and what is supposed to be the climax is very dull and boring and it abruptly ends. If you are looking for something exciting I would skip this book...

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Not good

    I posted a comment about this i would say 1 or 2 month(s) ago im the honors 13 year old i reread the book and had second thoughts about it but i still think you should rewright the book but i dont really recommend it it is kinda good but you need more spice to it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    It looked like a normal snow storm when Scotty looked outside. That's why he decided to stay in school a few hours more instead of taking the bus home, to help one of his friends finish a school project. A few hours later Scotty realizes that there's 8 feet of snow outside and there's no way of leaving the school. Now Scotty and 6 other students are trapped in school and they have to figure out how to survive without heat, power and water.

    When I started reading Trapped I was excited about it but when I finished reading it I was disappointed. The concept is original but to me it wasn't properly developed. The author repeated himself too much and the plot didn't move quickly. What I did like about the book was how the author described the storm and how being trapped really feels like. I liked how the characters grew close to each other and how they managed to survived.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    :(

    Horrible ending i had get to get a new book to do my book report on because this just didnt cut it. Very disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Overall, nice

    Trapped is about 7 kids trapped in their high school during a snowstorm. I really enjoyed this novel. It kept me reading and I could relate to Scotty and the other kids. However, I was a little disapointed by the ending. I think Michael ended Trapped too soon. He never told you what happened to Pete, Jason, Julie, Krista, Les, and Elijah. I guess this is just one of those stories where you have to "figure it out on your own." Overall, this was a good book. It was very creative, and a good read for teens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Ps

    Okay here we go. I thought this was a very good book with some flaws.... but honestly is that how the book really ends??? It wouldn't have killed the author to make two more chapter of an epilogue "after the storm" ... the way it ended left me with no closure so I was disapointed. If the author did what I just wrote I would have given it a 4, also what happened to scottys mom?? Jasons dad.. or mr gossel... just not a good way to end it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Pretty Good, Very Easy

    I read this book for my HS book club. That might give you an idea of the reading level and amount of gore and psychological insight. It's very simple writing - almost dull. No swearing (very realistic). In the end it's just another survival story with nothing particularyly special about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12