Customer Reviews for

Trapped

Average Rating 3.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and suspenseful

Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside t...
Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside the school. It's interesting to think about both what they do right and what they do wrong. The narrator is a basketball player named Scotty Weems. His little asides and observations are sometimes funny, but the snow keeps falling so the pressure keeps rising right up till the end.

posted by PDobyns on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Misleading and a disappointment.

OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not wh...
OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not what I expected what-so-ever. Northrop conveys the story of Scotty who is trapped in Tattawa High school along with his best friends Pete and Jason. Krista and Julie the "hotties" are also a part of this maverick bunch. Les; the school bully and Elijah; the weird kid that is placed in the goth category are also a part of this calamitous seven. There is a history teacher trapped along with them, but he is too deficient and ends up leaving out into the noxious snow- to supposedly get help. He is never mentioned nor triumphantly comes back for the kids. So I assume he dies, which doesn't tear jerk me since he is way to conceited to think about the kids before himself. The kids main priority should be getting help right? Somewhat wrong. All Jason cares about is making his way down the the shop room and working on a snow mobile which comes up in the story dilatorily. So everything starts shutting down, the lights, heat, water, and the roof ironically decides to start falling. It even gets up to twenty feet of snow, IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I was mislead and disappointed in this book. Micheal even states early on "Not everyone made it in the end." Which yes, is true. But it only is like this because of a arrogant decision. This book is 2/5 stars for me. I wish I spent my- what?- 11 dollars on this book on a more memorable novel. Without so much cheese, and more what the story is told to be. Action, page turning, and the teeny bit of a romance is what I expected this to be. It's none of the above, it's way to short to tell a story like this in, but the pages are continuously filled with stuff that is totally nugatory. Don't spend the money on this please- do not do what I did. While this idea was splendid and prolific, it was poorly written. May I ask, Why is this book under MUST READS? ( A book review written by a thirteen year old girl who extensively read magnificent books, but must review the bad one's too.)

posted by AberrantBooks-13yr-girl on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Was a GREAT BOOK

    This book had me rivited to my seat! I also think that the book should have been longer, or have another installment, because I really wanted to find out what happens to the others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Ok :/

    Dont get me wrong the beginig of this book was awesome but the ending was HORRIBLE!!! I mean it literly just ends you dont even get to find out what happens to the other people! Did they die? We dont know cuz it just ends! This is te first book that i have ever red the realy got me mad.
    Begining: awesome
    Middle: wondering if there is gonna be a 2nd
    Ending: EVIL!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Okay book

    It was good, but the ending simply failed and the characters could have had their adventures through the school described more. The snowmobile thing was stupid, if it wasnt balenced right, jason or whoever would have said so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Ok

    It wasn't the best book i have ever read. I agree it was dissapointing at the end. And the characters were had to connect to. Over all it was ok

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book. It was a little hard to get into but after that it was amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Okay book

    It was an okay book,but the author fails to create feeling for the characters,so therefore you feel like youdont know the characters

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible.

    I was so excited to read this beak- the storyline seemed really interesting.

    I got to about page 160 and I was thinking to myself "how is there going to be a conclusion in about ten more pages?? maybe there's a sequel"

    I got to the last page, and the ending was EXTREMELY TERRIBLE. so anticlimatic.
    Even throughout the story, there was so much useless narration- things that weren't even pertinent to the story line or to add to a character's personality.

    The characters had no depth to them at all. There was no "drama" or conflicts. If there were, they were resolved within a matter of a paragraph. I have never written a review before, but that book was SO bad that I had to. I have read so many books in my 17 years of life, and this one is by far the worst i have read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    I havent red it yet but..

    I like action romance adventure. Would i like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book was AMAZING! Just wish it was continued!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Great book

    I loved that book so much i could read it ten times over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I am baffled at how this has five and four star reviews at all.

    I am baffled at how this has five and four star reviews at all. Frankly I've read much, much better fanfiction. I'm unsure how this was even published, let alone published hardback. Let's go over the many, many problems, shall we?

    Characters. What characters? In all 170 pages the kids in this story don't make me care about them at all. They are flat, uninteresting stereotypes, and the main character seems more interested in getting into the pants of one of the 'hotties' than, you know, surviving this deadly winter storm. Speaking of, is it even possible to get twenty feet of snow in America? Ten feet I have heard of, albeit in Canada, and if the plot was at all strong I would have been able to suspend my disbelief on the weather conditions.

    Oh, and lets continue. At the very beginning the main character talks about how people die. One person dies. Twenty pages from the end. For no conceivable reason, plot or other wise. It was pure stupidity. And you know what? I didn't even care. The ending its self was a poorly executed Deus Ex Machina. I was led to believe this would be a survival horror, but honestly if the kids involved weren't idiots and perhaps actual characters there wouldn't have been much issue. Ditto, the single teacher mentioned at the beginning who left to get hope and then vanished from the plot and essentially the characters minds.

    Please, do not waste your time or money on this. If you're looking for other much better books with a similar premise (surviving a natural disaster) go for the books linked in the recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Trapped

    This is a great book so far i tottaly recommend yoy to read it..... if ur intrested in an adventure i am on chapter twenty-four abd i love it andyeah ot shoul tottaly have a series i would tottaly read them....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    This book is alright, it's pretty basic. A page turner but slow

    This book is alright, it's pretty basic. A page turner but slow at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    GREAT Book

    This book deserves a lot better reviews. I normally do not write my own, but, as I read through the reviews, I felt that this book was not getting all the credit it deserves. I have reread it numerous times since I enjoyed it so much. It was originally chosen for a school book report, but I enjoy it as a pleasure read as well.
    It is about 7 highschool students trapped in their school during a snow storm that seems to last forever. For me, it was hard to put down. I suggest it for a younger audience, teens, because you can relate to the characters and it is just more enjoyable. It is well worth it.
    Yes, it does have an unexpecred ending where you are left craving more, and the author doesnt exactly explain how or if everyone is rescued. But I dont want to give anything away. What I can say is that it is pretty obvious how the story wraps up and this is no reason for you not to read it.
    This is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    captivating

    A good story that flows. It was a compulsion to read it every free minute to find out what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Really good

    It has a nice plot and its understandable. Just unbelieveable (duhhh its fiction) but still an amazing storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    This book

    This book was not very intresting. I totally agree with the person below. It some waht good in the begining but was really predictqble in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Food

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Good idea, but not enough plot. After reading this story by No

    Good idea, but not enough plot.

    After reading this story by Northrop, you may never think of a snow day the same way again. While your parents are home by the fireplace, imagine being trapped in your high school, with six others as the snow piles higher day by day.

    I have always loved survival stories. However, this book seemed to be the worst one I’ve read yet. Most of the characters had little to no character. Out of the seven people in the school, two were girls. These girls had absolutely no character traits, only a description of how attractive they were. In the entire book, I failed to read a part that gave her any real qualities. The narrator, Scotty Weems is described as:
    “My name is Scotty Weems. I prefer Scotty, but most people, even my friends, call me Weems. I guess it's easy to say, and maybe some people think it's funny. It doesn't bother me that much. I'm just glad that Snotty Streams never really caught on as a nickname. Anyway, I'm an athlete, so I made peace with my last name a long while ago. Since I was a little kid in T-ball, I heard it shouted every time I did something right and every time I screwed up, too. These days it's on the back of my basketball jersey. I like to think that someday people will be chanting from the bleachers: "Weems! Weems! Weems!" Chanting fans make any name sound good. Anyway, that's me. I'll be sort of like your guide through all this. Some of the others might've seen things differently, and some of them might've told it better, but you don't get to pick. You don't because, for one thing, not all of us made it.”
    This is an excerpt from the beginning of the book. Even from here, you can see that the author tried to include “Teen speak”. Just glancing through it, you can see the word “anyway” twice, and this is just in the first paragraph. If you go deeper into the story, there isn’t a chapter that doesn’t have words such as “Like, kinda, seriously, you know.” These words would be perfectly fine if they were used in moderation. Now, I’ll get to the plot. If this would’ve been a short story, something like you would see in a textbook, it would have worked out. However, this happened to be stretched into a 240 page book. Most chapters were very hard to read, as nothing was happening. Maybe every five to six chapters, a new complication would arise, but it was never enough to keep you interested until the next point. Then, in the last few chapters, every piece of remaining plot was crammed in.

    This is not a book I would reread. The incomplete character development leaves me unconcerned of what’s happening. By the time I reached the middle of the book, I didn’t care what was going to happen anymore. Next, there was no surprise. The book was very predictable. Lastly, I have so many unanswered questions. The author seemingly cut off randomly. There was a lack of information in the very end, leaving readers confused.

    This book lacked things needed for a good story. It had a good original idea, just not enough development, and too much filler information. With no ample character personalities, and a failing chain of events.

    This is not a book I would recommend to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12