Customer Reviews for

Trapped

Average Rating 3.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and suspenseful

Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside t...
Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside the school. It's interesting to think about both what they do right and what they do wrong. The narrator is a basketball player named Scotty Weems. His little asides and observations are sometimes funny, but the snow keeps falling so the pressure keeps rising right up till the end.

posted by PDobyns on February 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Misleading and a disappointment.

OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not wh...
OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not what I expected what-so-ever. Northrop conveys the story of Scotty who is trapped in Tattawa High school along with his best friends Pete and Jason. Krista and Julie the "hotties" are also a part of this maverick bunch. Les; the school bully and Elijah; the weird kid that is placed in the goth category are also a part of this calamitous seven. There is a history teacher trapped along with them, but he is too deficient and ends up leaving out into the noxious snow- to supposedly get help. He is never mentioned nor triumphantly comes back for the kids. So I assume he dies, which doesn't tear jerk me since he is way to conceited to think about the kids before himself. The kids main priority should be getting help right? Somewhat wrong. All Jason cares about is making his way down the the shop room and working on a snow mobile which comes up in the story dilatorily. So everything starts shutting down, the lights, heat, water, and the roof ironically decides to start falling. It even gets up to twenty feet of snow, IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I was mislead and disappointed in this book. Micheal even states early on "Not everyone made it in the end." Which yes, is true. But it only is like this because of a arrogant decision. This book is 2/5 stars for me. I wish I spent my- what?- 11 dollars on this book on a more memorable novel. Without so much cheese, and more what the story is told to be. Action, page turning, and the teeny bit of a romance is what I expected this to be. It's none of the above, it's way to short to tell a story like this in, but the pages are continuously filled with stuff that is totally nugatory. Don't spend the money on this please- do not do what I did. While this idea was splendid and prolific, it was poorly written. May I ask, Why is this book under MUST READS? ( A book review written by a thirteen year old girl who extensively read magnificent books, but must review the bad one's too.)

posted by AberrantBooks-13yr-girl on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Really not worth the money

    Well, This book had a lot of potential, but in the end it failed completely. We never really get to know the characters- even the main character! This is particularly bad considering that this book is written in third person. This book is only 170 pages and could stand to be a lot longer.

    I was looking forward to a good book of survival horror but found myself dissapointed. What's worse, in the very beginning there is an insnuation that people will die. This is followed through with- about twenty pages before the end of the book. It feels like the author got bored half way through writing the book an dsloppily takce don an ending.

    They are only in the school for three days!

    And the ending was terrible too. It was another hastily tacked on bit to an already woefully dissapointing story. I wish that I paid attention to one of the bad reviews this book got. It was a waste of money. I wish I'd bought 'The Vampire Lestat' instead.

    If you must rea dthis, go to the library.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awful

    I read thus book because so many people told me it was a great suspensible book...it was the complete opposite. Unless you want to completely bore yourself with 200 pages ofthe worst book evrr DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!! This book has absolutely no suspense and is completely boring and just goes on and on forever. And t top that off the book has an extremely depressing ending. So basically there is nothing good about this book...not even a happy ending.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    :|

    This book was terrible for a number a reasons! The book had a borring storyline that was not a joy to read.It was very predictable and short. I would not recomend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Not good

    I posted a comment about this i would say 1 or 2 month(s) ago im the honors 13 year old i reread the book and had second thoughts about it but i still think you should rewright the book but i dont really recommend it it is kinda good but you need more spice to it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    :(

    Horrible ending i had get to get a new book to do my book report on because this just didnt cut it. Very disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible.

    I was so excited to read this beak- the storyline seemed really interesting.

    I got to about page 160 and I was thinking to myself "how is there going to be a conclusion in about ten more pages?? maybe there's a sequel"

    I got to the last page, and the ending was EXTREMELY TERRIBLE. so anticlimatic.
    Even throughout the story, there was so much useless narration- things that weren't even pertinent to the story line or to add to a character's personality.

    The characters had no depth to them at all. There was no "drama" or conflicts. If there were, they were resolved within a matter of a paragraph. I have never written a review before, but that book was SO bad that I had to. I have read so many books in my 17 years of life, and this one is by far the worst i have read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I am baffled at how this has five and four star reviews at all.

    I am baffled at how this has five and four star reviews at all. Frankly I've read much, much better fanfiction. I'm unsure how this was even published, let alone published hardback. Let's go over the many, many problems, shall we?

    Characters. What characters? In all 170 pages the kids in this story don't make me care about them at all. They are flat, uninteresting stereotypes, and the main character seems more interested in getting into the pants of one of the 'hotties' than, you know, surviving this deadly winter storm. Speaking of, is it even possible to get twenty feet of snow in America? Ten feet I have heard of, albeit in Canada, and if the plot was at all strong I would have been able to suspend my disbelief on the weather conditions.

    Oh, and lets continue. At the very beginning the main character talks about how people die. One person dies. Twenty pages from the end. For no conceivable reason, plot or other wise. It was pure stupidity. And you know what? I didn't even care. The ending its self was a poorly executed Deus Ex Machina. I was led to believe this would be a survival horror, but honestly if the kids involved weren't idiots and perhaps actual characters there wouldn't have been much issue. Ditto, the single teacher mentioned at the beginning who left to get hope and then vanished from the plot and essentially the characters minds.

    Please, do not waste your time or money on this. If you're looking for other much better books with a similar premise (surviving a natural disaster) go for the books linked in the recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Good idea, but not enough plot. After reading this story by No

    Good idea, but not enough plot.

    After reading this story by Northrop, you may never think of a snow day the same way again. While your parents are home by the fireplace, imagine being trapped in your high school, with six others as the snow piles higher day by day.

    I have always loved survival stories. However, this book seemed to be the worst one I’ve read yet. Most of the characters had little to no character. Out of the seven people in the school, two were girls. These girls had absolutely no character traits, only a description of how attractive they were. In the entire book, I failed to read a part that gave her any real qualities. The narrator, Scotty Weems is described as:
    “My name is Scotty Weems. I prefer Scotty, but most people, even my friends, call me Weems. I guess it's easy to say, and maybe some people think it's funny. It doesn't bother me that much. I'm just glad that Snotty Streams never really caught on as a nickname. Anyway, I'm an athlete, so I made peace with my last name a long while ago. Since I was a little kid in T-ball, I heard it shouted every time I did something right and every time I screwed up, too. These days it's on the back of my basketball jersey. I like to think that someday people will be chanting from the bleachers: "Weems! Weems! Weems!" Chanting fans make any name sound good. Anyway, that's me. I'll be sort of like your guide through all this. Some of the others might've seen things differently, and some of them might've told it better, but you don't get to pick. You don't because, for one thing, not all of us made it.”
    This is an excerpt from the beginning of the book. Even from here, you can see that the author tried to include “Teen speak”. Just glancing through it, you can see the word “anyway” twice, and this is just in the first paragraph. If you go deeper into the story, there isn’t a chapter that doesn’t have words such as “Like, kinda, seriously, you know.” These words would be perfectly fine if they were used in moderation. Now, I’ll get to the plot. If this would’ve been a short story, something like you would see in a textbook, it would have worked out. However, this happened to be stretched into a 240 page book. Most chapters were very hard to read, as nothing was happening. Maybe every five to six chapters, a new complication would arise, but it was never enough to keep you interested until the next point. Then, in the last few chapters, every piece of remaining plot was crammed in.

    This is not a book I would reread. The incomplete character development leaves me unconcerned of what’s happening. By the time I reached the middle of the book, I didn’t care what was going to happen anymore. Next, there was no surprise. The book was very predictable. Lastly, I have so many unanswered questions. The author seemingly cut off randomly. There was a lack of information in the very end, leaving readers confused.

    This book lacked things needed for a good story. It had a good original idea, just not enough development, and too much filler information. With no ample character personalities, and a failing chain of events.

    This is not a book I would recommend to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Awful Book

    I absolutely hated this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    What this books sucks t

    This book a dud from beging to the rotten end and now i dont belive the reviews they all said it wad so good it must hsve been posted by theauthor and his family i cant belive i psid eight bucks for this the book sucks sucks sucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Tornadoclaw

    Ill tell you later go to shadow sky hurry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I expected more

    I thought it was going to be more interesting, the end was totally boring and unfinish, I think the characters were so na¿ve or somethin'... I really expected more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Can someone please kend this book to me?

    Please?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    This book was ok

    The storyline was.kinda expected and lame.but it did have some heartfelt moments. But for most of the book i wanted to scream "you f***** little losers! Isnt the answer ovious!" The end sucked and all in all dont buy it but check it oit at the kibrary cuz it isnt worth ur $$$$$"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Horrible.

    Just awful. Boring story and character...just dont buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Yo typo wolf

    Dude whats up woth u these days?
    Silver wolf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Not good

    This book was not good. I started reading it and it was horrible, i stopped within the first 50 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Hello

    Is this book good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2