Customer Reviews for

Trash

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dumpster boys

Raphael, Gardo, and Rat are dumpsite boys in an unnamed country, earning money by sifting through the enormous mountains of trash for something worth selling. When a bag containing a large quantity of cash and a key is found by Raphael, the three boys become involved in...
Raphael, Gardo, and Rat are dumpsite boys in an unnamed country, earning money by sifting through the enormous mountains of trash for something worth selling. When a bag containing a large quantity of cash and a key is found by Raphael, the three boys become involved in a mystery which threatens their families, the neighbors in their poor community next to the dump, and their own lives. I listened to an audio version and found the change in voices between the three protagonists and a few minor characters made the story really come alive. It probably helped keep the story straight as the chapters moved between the viewpoints of those characters.

This is a story which needs to be told, as it undoubtedly is the story of children in some parts of the world. Middle school students will relate to the idea of finding something and not telling the police about it. If they don't follow politics (which middle school students do?), they will learn that those in power/government do not always have the people's best interests at heart. If they are compassionate, their hearts will break for the choices these three boys have to make.

I have recommended this book to students in my library and will continue to do so.

posted by Heidi_G on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did

_

posted by 11901584 on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dumpster boys

    Raphael, Gardo, and Rat are dumpsite boys in an unnamed country, earning money by sifting through the enormous mountains of trash for something worth selling. When a bag containing a large quantity of cash and a key is found by Raphael, the three boys become involved in a mystery which threatens their families, the neighbors in their poor community next to the dump, and their own lives. I listened to an audio version and found the change in voices between the three protagonists and a few minor characters made the story really come alive. It probably helped keep the story straight as the chapters moved between the viewpoints of those characters.

    This is a story which needs to be told, as it undoubtedly is the story of children in some parts of the world. Middle school students will relate to the idea of finding something and not telling the police about it. If they don't follow politics (which middle school students do?), they will learn that those in power/government do not always have the people's best interests at heart. If they are compassionate, their hearts will break for the choices these three boys have to make.

    I have recommended this book to students in my library and will continue to do so.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    X

    This book is awesome. I am a twelve year old girl and i have read this book three times. The more you read it the morebyou think avout all the corruption in the world. However it is a good story line and heart warming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Did

    _

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I did not like this book, but then again im a sixteen year old girl.

    I had to read this book for school and it really is a book for pre teen boys. The plot is lacking, its barely challanging, it lacks suspense and character development. Theres no underlying meaning, its simply about three dirt poor boys who stumble upon a discarded purse in the trash and cause a whole lot of trouble. If the plot wasnt so predictable and really just not entertaining i might not have hated this assignment as much as i did. Not worth the money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Shoud i read this?

    Im not sure if this is my thing should i try it?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    HI

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Awesome

    This is such a graet book my school librarian told me to read it quick because she hadnt read it yet lol. Its a really interesting topic that makes you think. One million times better than the Hunger Games!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Dil

    Yes i am! Goodbye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Reading trash for school

    Cant wait it sounds good! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great Story!

    I read this for my All-School Read, and I'm glad I did! The author uses suspense and mystery to form an intriguing plot! With the various points of view of Rapael, Gardo, Rat, Olivia, and others, you can see the whole scope of the book! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Cant wait

    I cant wait to start reading this book ive been reading reviews and some have been good and some hae been bad i am taking my chances and try to read this book ad hope that i llike it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Want it

    I want this book. It seems good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    This book sucks bur i limed Ht Sucks bur T Sucks but i liked it

    Jacob is awesome

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    You think boys are morons?

    Dear sixteen year old prat you are under the influence of a steryotype. I get all A's so eat that you idiotic sexist

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Grate book

    This book is sad but intertaining and makes you think about how lucky we ti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Very good read

    This was a wonderful read.Entertaining,funny and drscriptivr,you begin to understand and fear for the boys.I could barely put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Trash

    Good i guess, but a little sad.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Try it out

    Hard to undersand but it makes you think. But give it a try

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    The girl who said she was sixteen

    I u say thT the book is really bad then say preteen boys should read it, it is an insult

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Trash

    The book was book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3