Customer Reviews for

Travel Team

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Mike Lupica's Travel Team is a novel for any and all sports lovers. The book begins with Richie Walker in a car accident and that event affects the whole entire family. Danny Walker steps up to the plate and decides to take hold of his team and lead them through the rou...
Mike Lupica's Travel Team is a novel for any and all sports lovers. The book begins with Richie Walker in a car accident and that event affects the whole entire family. Danny Walker steps up to the plate and decides to take hold of his team and lead them through the rough times. Mike Lupica's book is a book that some readers might have troubles putting the book down. The novel teaches values more important that just leading your basketball team, it teaches how to gain responsibility even at a young age and that anyone can be a leader. Danny Walker is a great example of being called small and showing that being small isn't what is inside of him. Great Book!!

posted by 7182017 on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Smoke 101

What a very long overview

posted by hking03 on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No one knows how much heart this kid has. Danny is the shortest

    No one knows how much heart this kid has. Danny is the shortest kid at his age of 12. He tries out for Middletown’s travel boys’ team. Yet he didn’t make he didn’t make it because of his height. So his father Richie Walker decides he was going to make a second Middletown travel boys’ team. Anyone at the right age could try out. Now after a few weeks of practicing for both teams they decided to have a scrimmage instead of practice for one night. So after a couple quarters, something astonishing happens. Both Danny and the point guard for the other travel team both go up for a rebound. Except Danny accidently pushes him a little too hard and he takes a nasty fall. Read more to find out what happens.
    This book as to be one of the best books I ever read. It’s full of heart, tragedies, and just plain fun. I would recommend to anyone who has a dream of becoming something nobody thinks you can. Also for anyone who as an interest in basketball this book would be a great book for u to read. This book is also full of suspense. So anyone who likes suspense and a really good realistic fiction book this book is for you.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great

    Im in the middle of the book right now but the auther gave alot of detail so its really exciting. This book is GREAT!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book i totally recomend it if ur a bball fan!!! :D

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Oustanding book. You will laugh you will cry and i promise you will love this book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This was a really good book. Maybe some girls would look at it and not understand some stuff, but I'm a girl and I understood it. Anyways, it is a really good book. Buy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Travel team

    Very good book!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    wonderful for any1!!!

    if u r a boy or girl looking 4 a great sports book.... this is defs the book 2 choose!!!! i also think that if u r interested in baseball u shud read heat by mike lupica. it is defenitly a good read!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Bh

    Very good

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    #1(vote)

    Annabeth

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    SCARY!!!!!!

    OMG while i was reading thhiss book, on chapter 16 it was very scary. I pooped in my diaaper and all over the walls. Some got on my mom while she was changing my diaper and most of it got on my nook. I am 17 years old and i wss still very scared. Now my butt is greenish brown and i am angry at mike lupica for this!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Best sports book ever!!!!

    Travel ball is awesome an underdog story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Sydney Morales

    GREAT BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love reading this book its a really good. MUST READ IT!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Travel Team is about a group of twelve year olds that did not ma

    Travel Team is about a group of twelve year olds that did not make the Middletown travel team, so they create their own team. Danny Walker is the main character of this story and was cut from the team due to his height. Danny’s father, Richie Walker, the former point guard of the Golden State Warriors, decides to coach the team. Struggling in the beginning with a 0-6 record, Richie Walker recruited the girl’s basketball team top player, Colby Danes. They started to win games and made it to the playoffs. Danny’s friend, Ty Ross decided to come to play on their team instead of the travel team that cut Danny. In the playoffs, #7 seed, they have to play the team that destroyed them in their first scrimmage. Read the book to see what happens.
    This was a great book because it kept my attention and I love to play basketball. The moral of this story is it doesn’t matter how big you are, it is how big you play. I truly love this book and recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Great book

    Best book ive ever read waiting for third one cmon mike write another one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Greatest book in the world

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Cheese

    I fell in love with this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Your eyes with stick on the book like Glue.                    

    Your eyes with stick on the book like Glue.
                                    I give the book 5 stars
    I chose Travel Team By Mike Lupica because sport books are mostly what I read and I like Mike Lupica Books. I thought that the book would be about a basketball travel team. I expected it to be about a kid that would go all around the world playing with one of the best basketball  travel teams. I felt amazing when I was reading the story. No feelings have change for me on the book when i finished it.
    The main character in the story is Danny a boy that height was not his friend and he was challenged with how small he was. His mom who was very caring as a single mother. And his dad who really didn't make human contact with him. Danny was a small point guard he couldn't really shoot because of his height. But he could pass like there was no better person. He would practice outside every night on his shot and his dribbling skills. The story is about Danny he was trying to get on a travel team. The book is a realistic-fiction book. 
    I related to the book very well because I did the things that he did when I was that age and that makes me think of the old times and that makes me happy. And I have been to many tryouts for many different travel teams so I can relate with Danny.
    So in closing the book was amazing and even better if you like Mike Lupica. So I would recommend this book to you but the age would be in between 9-22 years of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Anonomyus

    Very good book a lot of unexpected things happened it keeps you on your toes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Danny Walker has always been one of the best basketball players

    Danny Walker has always been one of the best basketball players in Middletown. The one drawback to his game was his height, or lack thereof. This caused him to be cut from Middletown’s travel team. Danny and his dad Richie, former Golden State Warriors point guard, set out to make their own travel team which consisted of group of kids that also got cut. Their team struggled in the beginning and lost their first six games. Danny and Richie then recruited Colby Danes, the best girls’ basketball player in Middletown, and Ty Ross, who originally made the team that cut Danny. With their new additions, they were able to make the playoffs and make a run to the championship game.
    The moral of the story is clearly that height does not matter, but the size of your heart does. Richie Walker is a prime example of that since he was able to play in the NBA with such a diminutive stature, and you can unmistakably see the same quality through his son Danny. This was a fantastic book and I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of basketball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8