Customer Reviews for

The Traveler (Fourth Realm Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cool!

Imagine a future where everyone is tracked in the Vast Machine. Each human lives on the "gird" and follows the rules. This future scenario is not really that hard to imagine, one of the reasons I liked the story so much. For science fiction it wasn't much of a stretch. ...
Imagine a future where everyone is tracked in the Vast Machine. Each human lives on the "gird" and follows the rules. This future scenario is not really that hard to imagine, one of the reasons I liked the story so much. For science fiction it wasn't much of a stretch. The main characters of course are struggling to stay of the grid while being tracked by an evil power within world governments. The plot is action packed but also strangely slow. I also found it difficult to like the main female character. She was so disconnected. Overall a good read and I already own the sequel.

posted by LadyHester on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oliver Stone would love this book, and so would Fox Mulder

This is a book that deals with what I suppose John Twelve Hawks believes to be the "real world". Basically, the story says that there is a cabal of men (and women too, I suppose, though Twelve Hawks doesn't mention any) who really rule the world, and they are opposed by...
This is a book that deals with what I suppose John Twelve Hawks believes to be the "real world". Basically, the story says that there is a cabal of men (and women too, I suppose, though Twelve Hawks doesn't mention any) who really rule the world, and they are opposed by people who are born with the potential to travel between universes - travelers, they're called - who by their very nature have the ability to effect changes in world affairs.

Devotees of "The X-Files" will devour this book and its potential sequels lock, stock, and barrel. And just like that TV series, I'm sure they will find more questions than answers. But if you didn't like "The X-Files", or never really cared to watch it, you probably won't go for "The Traveler".

posted by nprfan1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cool!

    Imagine a future where everyone is tracked in the Vast Machine. Each human lives on the "gird" and follows the rules. This future scenario is not really that hard to imagine, one of the reasons I liked the story so much. For science fiction it wasn't much of a stretch. The main characters of course are struggling to stay of the grid while being tracked by an evil power within world governments. The plot is action packed but also strangely slow. I also found it difficult to like the main female character. She was so disconnected. Overall a good read and I already own the sequel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Fantasy that gives you something to think about

    I heard about the mysterious author of this book and thought I would give it a try. I have read a number of fantasy series and enjoyed the Traveler immensely. I have since read the other two books in the trilogy. The books tell of people called Travelers who can "travel" to other realities. The story goes that almost all great thinkers/world changers throughout history have been travelers. The travelers are protected by people known as Harlequins. A secret group known as the Brethren seek to control the power of the Travelers. The focus is on brothers Gabriel and Michael Corrigan who have discovered they are travelers. One chooses to work against while the other becomes manipulated by the Brethren. A harlequin named Maya must protect them. I found all the characters very interesting, and thought the idea that we are trapped in a Vast Machine not hard to believe. If you are willing to open your mind, I suggest taking a stab at these books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite possibly my favorite book of all time.

    After my roommate freshman year in college handed me this book randomly, it has become probably my favorite book of all time. It has everything that a great story needs, character you can connect with, great fights, and it makes you think.

    This story follows Gabriel his brother Michael, and a reluctant Harlequin warrior named Maya as they are thrown into a world hidden beneath the Vast Machine, where we all live our normal lives. Gabriel and Michael are found out to be potential Travelers, people who are able to leave the physical constraints of our world and travel to the other realms. Each significant change throughout history is the supposed work of one of these visionaries, who are able to see the world in an entirely new way after their travels. These Travelers are protected by a group of armed protectors who call themselves Harlequin. Harlequin are trained from birth to be lethal weapons with the sole purpose of protecting the Travelers as they go about their lives. Maya, who had chosen to leave the Harlequin world behind, is dragged back in by her father and asked to go find and protect the Corrigan brothers.

    In my mind, the greatest accomplishment of the book is the ability of Twelve Hawks to make you think. It makes you think about the world that we live, about the laws, wars, and fear-mongering of the public media. To me specifically, it makes you think about yourself and how you would fit into the world that he has created.

    I will say that this book touches upon a number of different topics from politics, religion, and social standings and structures. Be open and ready to be challenged. With this said though, it is also a fast paced action packed read. There wasn't a single point in this book that I wanted to set it down, and I've re-read it I don't even know how many times, and each time I am on the edge of my seat and find another aspect I didn't think about. You will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Great read!

    If you're looking for a quick and entertaining book to read, pick this up! It's a modern day fantasy thriller that doesn't get too technical.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved This Book

    I loved this book and plan to read the whole series. It is a good story and I like the characters. I am suggesting that people sho like this book will also like Thomas Perry, especially the Jane Whitfield series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Oliver Stone would love this book, and so would Fox Mulder

    This is a book that deals with what I suppose John Twelve Hawks believes to be the "real world". Basically, the story says that there is a cabal of men (and women too, I suppose, though Twelve Hawks doesn't mention any) who really rule the world, and they are opposed by people who are born with the potential to travel between universes - travelers, they're called - who by their very nature have the ability to effect changes in world affairs. <BR/><BR/>Devotees of "The X-Files" will devour this book and its potential sequels lock, stock, and barrel. And just like that TV series, I'm sure they will find more questions than answers. But if you didn't like "The X-Files", or never really cared to watch it, you probably won't go for "The Traveler".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Ready for more

    I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next one. There is a good bunch of villains, courageous heroes, and universal themes of good and evil and the meaning of brotherhood. And I love the strong female characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    It was a little bit hard to get in to, but once the author had you in his grips, it was hard to get away. I ended up reading all three books in the trilogy.
    There were times where I was dazed and confused, as there was much jumping around. There were other times where I was wondering if what the author was suggesting was actually happening in today's society... if it is, then it's very scarey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great book.Great series.

    This book reaches all of your emotions.Love,compassion,anger, and even sadness are all included in this powerful book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Love this series!!

    I had a hard time getting into the first few pages....then I was hooked! Loved everything about this book! Definitely makes you think about our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    great book

    i thought that this book had some class for a teen reading book. this book also gave some great morals that we see in every day life. so in all this book gets an A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Last night I finished reading this book. I thoroughly enjoyed re

    Last night I finished reading this book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. The story line consisted of a good combination of character development and suspense to keep my interest. I cannot not wait until I leave work today so that I can go home and start the second book of this three book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    An okay audio book. Not memorable.

    Two stars. Not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Definitely a MUST READ!

    This series reminds me a lot of the Matrix movies and the concepts from the movie Eagle Eye. It a great mix of real world and 'maybe not so real' world. It definitely makes you think about the world we live in and wonder if the ideas that John Twelve Hawks covers in these books are based on more fact than fiction. It then makes you ask yourself if you would want to be one that remained ignorant or would you want to know and try to make a difference.

    The characters are intriguing and you want care about what happens to them. It is written in a way that doesn't confuse the ut it also doesn't simplify the concepts the athor is trying to convey to the audience.

    This is definitely a book I would recommend. I don't usually write reviews, so that is saying something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is matrix meets 1984

    This is the first book of a trilogy where the author stays off the grid. It is about people who traveler that are able to go to different realms of reality, the harlequins that protect the travelers, and the "brethren" that hunt them down. The brethren goal is to create a wall-less prison where society knows everything they do is being watched by big brother, therefore people obey the rules of the brethren. The travelers, harlequins and a small group of people live off the grid while the brethren hunt them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    The idea of the book really isn't original and a few parts were slow, but I still had a hard time putting the book down. The characters and polt are interesting, especially Gabriel. The Dark River (book 2) was even better than this book. It's a good trilogy and if you enjoy reading scifi, you'll enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    They are watching...

    Set in the present day The Traveler at first takes place between England and Prague then later moves to the United States effortlessly.The three central characters are Maya, Michael, and Gabriel.

    Maya tries to have a normal life but unfortunately her family lineage comes back to haunt her and she is forced to make a decision that will place her life in danger and place the lives of others in her hands.

    Michael and Gabriel are brothers who grew up on the run, from what they were never completely sure. Michael resents the life and possessions he was never able to have. Gabriel still carries with him the feelings of paranoia that were instilled in him growing up but needs nothing more than his motorcycle for the feeling of freedom.

    John Tweleve Hawks presents all relevant information in a way that is simple yet complete. You never once question whether you have missed information or feel as though things were over explained. I was very impressed with his writing style.

    This book also makes for great conversation. There are many points within this book that are points of contention within our society. It is an excellent book for groups who like to read and have weekly book discussions.

    I've already picked up The Dark River and am excited to get started on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    George Orwell's 1984 meets the Matrix and X-Files

    I loved this book so much that I could not put it down. I ended up finishing it in a day and a half. I plan to read the whole series and think this might make a decent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Thoughly enjoying this book

    I would recommend this book to sci fyi readers as well as those who get a sense the government today is getting too much into our business. It is an updated 1984. One of the few books that I was motivated to see if there were more ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Average story poorly read by Carradine

    This reminds me of some of Harlan Ellison's works though not as well written. The story does not ebb and flow rather it is a bit choppy. David Carradine's reading of this story was perhaps the thing that put me off as it is very flat without any seeming attempt to communicate the voices of the characters. Perhaps the Scott Brick reading of the second book will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6