BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions That Determine Personal Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Bestseller Self Help Book and Why

Andy Andrews absolutely practices what he preaches. His little 'novel' cum self-help book has become widely popular since its introduction to the mass market in 2002. And there is a reason why. Aside from the personal biographical data that the author lived as a street ...
Andy Andrews absolutely practices what he preaches. His little 'novel' cum self-help book has become widely popular since its introduction to the mass market in 2002. And there is a reason why. Aside from the personal biographical data that the author lived as a street person for a period in his life before he took charge and made changes in his philosophy that led to his rather startling success as a comedian, an advisor, an inspirational speaker and an author, Andrews knows how to capture the attention of his audience, lead them through his concepts of the Seven Decisions the Determine Personal Success in the guise of a novel, and follows up his service to mankind with variations of his original platform. Not only is Andy Andrews an inspirational writer, but he is also a successful marketer! The original book THE TRAVELER'S BOOK is so well known that repeating a summary is unnecessary. Very succinctly, David Ponder is at the end of his rope financially, emotionally, and physically when he happens to have an auto accident, an event which triggers a time travel where he meets and gathers advice from King Solomon, Harry Truman, Anne Frank, Abraham Lincoln, Colonel Joshua Chamberlain, Christopher Columbus, and the angel Gabriel, each of whom delivers him a message of how to enhance life. Those seven decisions are 1)The buck stops here: Adversity is preparation for greatness, 2) I will seek wisdom: I will choose my friends with care, 3) I am a person of action: I can make a decision and I can make it now, 4) I have a decided heart: My destiny is assured, 5) Today I will choose to be happy I am the possessor of a grateful heart, 6) I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit: I will forgive myself, and 7) I will persist without exception: I will find way where there is no way. After his 'time travel' learning experience David Ponder wakes up and sees his world change because of the decisions he has made. Andrews wisely does not make his issues a hard sell. He simply tells a story, one that may be a little on the fantasy side, and allows the reader to absorb and relate to the transformation that takes place. It is very much to his credit that he does not preach in this book: Andrews shares in a warm and familiar friend manner and that makes a big difference! Andy Andrews believes in these decisions and after reading his book, it is difficult not to buy into his smilingly warm philosophy. Grady Harp

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't understand the buzz

I recieved this book as a gift meant for "inspiration". Unfortunately, to be honest I wasn't inspired. I thought this book was cliche, overdone, and poorly written. It falls back on the formula for self help books "7 things you need to know/do in order to make your life...
I recieved this book as a gift meant for "inspiration". Unfortunately, to be honest I wasn't inspired. I thought this book was cliche, overdone, and poorly written. It falls back on the formula for self help books "7 things you need to know/do in order to make your life magically better!!!" Just a little too lame for me. Perhaps had the writing style been of a higher quality, and if the plot had been more developed, I could have come to like this book. But as it is, I have to say that I didn't like it at all. I think that there are plenty of inspirational books that are more thought provoking and truly spiritually inspiring than this one. I would reccomend you find one of those.

posted by plembeniwich6 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A Bestseller Self Help Book and Why

    Andy Andrews absolutely practices what he preaches. His little 'novel' cum self-help book has become widely popular since its introduction to the mass market in 2002. And there is a reason why. Aside from the personal biographical data that the author lived as a street person for a period in his life before he took charge and made changes in his philosophy that led to his rather startling success as a comedian, an advisor, an inspirational speaker and an author, Andrews knows how to capture the attention of his audience, lead them through his concepts of the Seven Decisions the Determine Personal Success in the guise of a novel, and follows up his service to mankind with variations of his original platform. Not only is Andy Andrews an inspirational writer, but he is also a successful marketer! The original book THE TRAVELER'S BOOK is so well known that repeating a summary is unnecessary. Very succinctly, David Ponder is at the end of his rope financially, emotionally, and physically when he happens to have an auto accident, an event which triggers a time travel where he meets and gathers advice from King Solomon, Harry Truman, Anne Frank, Abraham Lincoln, Colonel Joshua Chamberlain, Christopher Columbus, and the angel Gabriel, each of whom delivers him a message of how to enhance life. Those seven decisions are 1)The buck stops here: Adversity is preparation for greatness, 2) I will seek wisdom: I will choose my friends with care, 3) I am a person of action: I can make a decision and I can make it now, 4) I have a decided heart: My destiny is assured, 5) Today I will choose to be happy I am the possessor of a grateful heart, 6) I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit: I will forgive myself, and 7) I will persist without exception: I will find way where there is no way. After his 'time travel' learning experience David Ponder wakes up and sees his world change because of the decisions he has made. Andrews wisely does not make his issues a hard sell. He simply tells a story, one that may be a little on the fantasy side, and allows the reader to absorb and relate to the transformation that takes place. It is very much to his credit that he does not preach in this book: Andrews shares in a warm and familiar friend manner and that makes a big difference! Andy Andrews believes in these decisions and after reading his book, it is difficult not to buy into his smilingly warm philosophy. Grady Harp

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Don't understand the buzz

    I recieved this book as a gift meant for "inspiration". Unfortunately, to be honest I wasn't inspired. I thought this book was cliche, overdone, and poorly written. It falls back on the formula for self help books "7 things you need to know/do in order to make your life magically better!!!" Just a little too lame for me. Perhaps had the writing style been of a higher quality, and if the plot had been more developed, I could have come to like this book. But as it is, I have to say that I didn't like it at all. I think that there are plenty of inspirational books that are more thought provoking and truly spiritually inspiring than this one. I would reccomend you find one of those.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    Magnificent book

    'The Travelers Gift' by Andy Andrews is a wonderful book about a man who travels through time durring an out of body experience that takes place when he gets in a car crash. A few weeks before he was successful and everything was going his way. Then he loses his job and his daughter gets sick and he begins to hate his life. Durring the out of body experience he encounters seven people who give him advice on how to lead a happy successful life. He learns that he is responsible fore his past and his future. He needs to seek wisdom and be a servant of others. He needs to be a person of action and sieze the moment. He needs to have a decided heart and choose to be happy. He needs to seize the day with a forgiving spirit and be a person of faith. The thing I like about the book the most is the lessons he learns as he travels and talks with the wise people. I recomend others read this book because everyone should apply these lessons to there life in order to make there life better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    DeAngelo

    I'm a fan of this book very spiritually oriented and it speaks on the everyday struggles of life instead of focusing on fantasies it's about the basic concept on having problems and finding solutions not excuses

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    WONDERFUL

    I am not as good at taking time to read like I should. This book was wonderful.. It reminds you of history and how you apply pratical teaching to your everyday NOW situatios. It is MUST read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    My "go to" book

    Whenever I'm faced with overwhelming circumstances, I dive into this book. Gives me a new outlook on my circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great book on how to be successful.

    This book was loaned to me and I liked it so much I ordered two more to give as graduation gifts. It is a perfect life manual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Not what I had expected

    I had heard of this book so was excited to read it, but it wasn't what I had expected. An interesting premise though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Amazing story!

    I was unsure of reading any book by a" christian" author but was intrigued. by the premise of the story. Little did I know that so much of what was written was just what I needed to read. Very profound & uplifting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a wonderful book. It's inspiring, historical fiction. I really like well-researched historical fiction because I feel like I'm learning history while I'm reading "fun" stuff. Really recommend this book as well as the follow-up book "The Final Summit...."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great read

    Good reminder of what it takes to acheive personal success. Easier to digest and accept when it's witten like a story ans not a self-help book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Inspires!

    Cleverly writen inspiational story that travels across time and provides great counsel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Best Book I have Read this year!

    This book was a great read, very inspiring and offered hope! I have been reccomending it to everyone I know. For the person who is going through a struggle, it is very motivating to keep moving forward. I loved the nonfiction/fiction format of the book. They should create a genre for books just like this. It is a must read for sure! I cannot wait to read more books by Andy Andrews!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    This is by far the most inspirational book I have ever read!

    This book has made such a difference in my life. The characters are beautifully depicted and the messages are so clear and simple. Now, when there is an obstacle in my path, I am reminded that it's just a part of life and a chance to overcome it. Andy Andrews truly gave us all a gift with this book. Anyone and everyone could gain something wonderful from reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Truly inspiring book! It makes you want to be a better person!

    This book is wonderful! I just came across it randomly one day & the story just sounded interesting. As a teacher, I personally would like to see this book taught in the classroom. It is one that makes you want to be a better person & actually gives you the tools to achieve this goal. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in becoming a more positive person who takes responsibility for their own decisions, wants to be a person of action, & believes that happiness is a choice!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book came to me as a gift from my father at the exact right time. I am not normally a reader of 'fiction' but I couldn't put it down and finished it in 2 days. The eye opening lessons and the history intertwined together kept me going from page to page as every chapter spoke to me. Andy Andrews is a terrific writer and I would recommend reading anything of his along with watching his DVD/PBS special about the seven decisions in the book. He's right, everything we do matters. A very inspitational read and re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I am so happy that I came across this book!! I almost past

    I am so happy that I came across this book!! I almost past it up . I found a copy at a good will I was visiting and it was and is the best 75 cents I have spent on myself in a long time! So much so I am looking into the rest of Andy Andrews, books! I am grateful for what I am gaining from his writing !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Midlife medicine.

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Thoughts!

    Great read that gives you things to think about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Good Read

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13