Customer Reviews for

Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Psalm 23 explored

    Psalm 23 is probably one of the most familiar Bible passages, right up there with John 3:16. 'The Lord is my shepherd...' Perhaps it is too familiar. Have we become so accustomed to hearing it that we have forgotten the wonderful promise it contains? Traveling Light is a verse-by-verse exploration of Psalm 23, brought to life by comparing us to travelers weighed down with excess spiritual baggage. Each chapter identifies a different burden that we may be carrying in our life: flawed views of God, self-reliance, discontent, weariness, worry, hopelessness, guilt, arrogance, facing death, grief, fear, loneliness, shame, disappointment, envy, doubt and the longing for heaven. This walk through the 23rd Psalm reminds and encourages us to take God at His word and release those burdens to Him. As usual, Lucado supports his material with plenty of scripture, sharp analogies and just the right amount of humor. For added impact, be sure to work through the study guide at the end of the book. Then get ready to lose some luggage. Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    ANSTERDAN S VIANA - MAX LUCADO TRAVELING LIGHT

    This book has changed my life and it has changed the ways i look at things. Not just spiritual things but worldly things as well. This book helped me very much with many hardships that i was going through, the biggest one i can say was my relationship with this amazing girl called Larissa. If you want to get much closer to GOD, and understand much better what GOD really wants of your life, read this book. Every page that i read i cried, this book is very powerful. It shows us what GOD wants from us, but it also shows US HOW to make the things that GOD want for us true. Traveling light is about replacing pain with GOD's will. It is based on the Psalms 23. I want to thank my Savior Jesus who i love very much, to have helped me find this book, and i want to thank Jesus for using my Brother Junior Viana to help me with many hardships in my life, I love you brother. I would give this book to everyone if i could, Thank God for Max Lucado's life, a man of GOD. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    traveling light

    I HAVE ENJOY ALL OF MAX LICADO BOOKS , IF I CAN NOT BE WHERE HE IS TO TEACH ME ABOUT OUR GREAT SAVIOR I CAN BRING MAX TO MY HOME IN HIS BOOKS I HAVE ATLESS 22 OF HIS GREAT BOOKS GOD BLESS YOU FOR BRING CHRIST CLOSER TO ME IN YOUR WORDS THANK YOU I LOVE YOUR GIFT. KATHY

    MAX YOU TRULY ARE AMAZING TO ME. BLESS YOUR FAMILY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    A warm hug for the heart & spirit......

    This is my first book by Max Lucado. Outstanding from start to finish. I will read this book over and over again. Each chapter embraces your heart & spirit and soothes all the hurt and pain we carry. He gives clarity and meaning to this journey called life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    A great read!

    This is the 6th Max Lucado book i've read. this one was not just different, it was life changing. in the chapter the burden of arrogance, i felt like he was directing the whole chapter to me. And in turn it changed my life. READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    A great book, can be read over and over...

    This was the second Max Lucado book I read. It came at a pivotal time in my life -- just before getting married and during a crisis in my work life. It was truly the book I needed to read. God didn't intend us to carry all the burdens of this world on our backs and shoulders. Christ is the one to carry them for us. Using the beautiful 23rd Psalm, Lucado does a great job of showing us how to relieve ourselves of this unneeded weight we carry. I love the way Lucado writes -- his conversational tone, his fun sense of humor and his ability to poke a little fun at himself (the opening of the book is one of the funniest). He also has a unique way of communicating God and Jesus and making it easy for us to understand, without watering it down and making it meaningless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Insight Into An Old Favorite

    This book sneaks up on you, reading along with Max story telling and wham he brings the point of focus line by line of the 23rd Psalm. My copy has been read by three friends and is on loan now; two readers were terminal cancer patients, the book was a comfort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    PSALM 23, VERSE BY VERSE This book is full of powerful biblical

    PSALM 23, VERSE BY VERSE
    This book is full of powerful biblical information to help the reader to get rid of excessive spiritual luggage.
    Every chapter refers to a specific verse and a specific luggage, provides biblical support and also practical use to get rid of those horrible bags that we carry. Sometimes, it seems like the author is talking to you specifically!
    Inspiring, real, powerful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    God bless you Max

    I read this book when I was at my lowest. I had walked away from a 4 year verably abusive marriage! Where was God, who was I ?
    I had so much bagage, this book helped me sort through the
    mess, leaving it all at Jesus's feet. Realizing my self worth and how much Jesus loved me. I am 73yrs young and starting
    all over. Thanks Max! Travel light my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the simple style and humor Max weaves throughout the boo

    I loved the simple style and humor Max weaves throughout the book.  Great read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Travelling Light - An easy read for heavy material

    This book was good for a cursory evaluation of the 23rd Psalm. I would have liked Lucado to go more in depth on some of his ideas. He also repeated his points frequently. I think this would be good for someone who may be new to biblical commentary or as a gift for someone going through a tough time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Wow!

    This book is absolutely amazing. Lucado uses vivid language to apply the 23 Psalm to things we face each and every day.If you have ever struggled with lonliness, worry, or anger (along with a number of other problems), this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Effective followship

    This book could be titled "Effective Followship." It follows the 23rd Psalm in the trademark Lucado style and you WILL enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    A New Look at the 23 Psalm

    This is an EXCELLENT book. It's great, inspirational light reading. Each chapter takes a different look at how the 23 Psalm applies to various stages of our lifetime. I not only recommend it, I have purchased several to give as Christmas gifts to people I care about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Max hits the heart right on target!

    I really enjoyed this book! I saw myself in so many of the pages! It made me rethink and 're-pray' my life! Max made me see that we can get so caught up in our everyday lives that we think we are in charge and really it is God who is always in total control!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    Wonderful word picture!

    I will always remember the answer that was given by the guide as he hacked his way through dense jungle underbrush with his machete. A member of the group he was leading asked, 'Where is the path?!?' The guide answers: 'I am the path!' Implication: if you want to get through this situation, follow me. That is the message of our Lord every day. This is a very well-written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2