Customer Reviews for

Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Strongly Recommended

I'm a college freshman who was required to read this book for my freshman seminar class, and it absolutely blew me away. The writing style, humor, depth, and honesty hooked me early and held me until I finished. This book isn't pretty; but it makes you think, and it l...
I'm a college freshman who was required to read this book for my freshman seminar class, and it absolutely blew me away. The writing style, humor, depth, and honesty hooked me early and held me until I finished. This book isn't pretty; but it makes you think, and it leaves you feeling good, and more importantly, thinking. I strongly recommend this book to anyone looking for a new perspective on faith.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Likeable by far but...

Faith based. Pretty much all there is to say about it. This woman has absolutely no confidence in herself therefore, she dismisses every great accomplishment in her life that she achived on her own and claims that it was miricale from God. Her spinelessness is disgu...
Faith based. Pretty much all there is to say about it. This woman has absolutely no confidence in herself therefore, she dismisses every great accomplishment in her life that she achived on her own and claims that it was miricale from God. Her spinelessness is disgusting. It is very important in collections as such to have a point to writing and publicly sharing movement to faith stories. Lamott does not have a point to get across to the reader. Perhaps one argues that it is the movement to faith she wishes to get across to the reader. Unfortunately for Lamott this is over done...she's joined the ranks of dime-a-dozen writers. Why should one read this collection? Because it will kill sometime and put 'pretty' images in one's head. Stylistically, Lamott uses unnecessary imagary and metaphor. In other words, she uses poetic devices for the sake of poetic devices and not to make a point (and perhaps to cover up the fact that she never makes strong points...not even implicitly). Anne Lamott is just another bad American author that makes people smile, and promptly forget what they've read a month afterward (kind of like a Hollywood movie) If you want literature or even a good biography do not waste your time on this collection.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Inspiration

    In a world full of tragedy, pain, suffering and strife, Lamott presents us a multi-faceted work that makes us laugh, makes us cry, and makes us think. Most of all, it makes us rethink many of the everyday experiences we discard as unimportant, hinting to us to look a bit more closely and pay a little more attention. There's something for us - a little gem of knowledge that will increase our faith many times over - in the mundane, the silly, and the frustrating. Wonderful book, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    What happens when you pay attention

    Within one week, two people stuck 'Traveling Mercies' in my face and said, 'Read it'. I wasn't at the low bottom Lamott was when she encountered Jesus...in the big scheme of things, mine was more a middle bottom, but for me the bottom nonetheless. I guess I was spiritually starving to death, and in my mid-40s, had realized that I wanted what was left of my life to have a lot more meaning than the first part. This meant that I had to be willing to give up everything that separated me from God, and many of these things formed what I've known as my identity. This business of rebuilding the self from the inside out is scary, but 'Traveling Mercies' is a book about possibilities and hope, and has helped me start on a new foundation. The first person who stuck this book in my face was a member of my Al-Anon group; the other was my rector, both aware of the pain of my questioning. I paid attention to these loving people and read the book. I fell in love with Jesus all over again, but in a different and deeper and more abiding way. I believe this is Lamott's intention in writing this book...that we become deeper in our relationship with God, more convicted of our faith through the miraculous presence of Jesus - that we learn to pay attention to Jesus' presence, for it is indeed there. The book may be about her, but it's really about Jesus. I don't believe Lamott intends to increase her own lovability...that this happens anyway is only a testament to her God-given gift which is, in turn, a gift to the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    good to the last drop

    I had to read this book as my first college assingment I thought that it would probably be boring but I got in to get in the very beginng. Its like she isn't afraid to 'keep it real'; realer than real! At least realer than any of us are willing to admit to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    A Portrait of a "real" American Family

    A friend recommended this book to me and there are no words to describe Ms. Lamott's ability to paint the PERFECT picture of dysFUNctional "family" in America. This is not the June Cleaver version, but the family that many choose to only talk about with their therapists, pets, and/or God (as they know Her to be). As a 34 year old woman seeking to find myself and understand the chaos of my family/past, "Traveling Mercies" has helped to build a "framework" from which I can begin to "heal the scars and enjoy each moment that is being birthed." I have learned the journey is not mine alone, but includes God and those God gifts to be in my life. It is a journey I no longer fear because I can much more clearly see where I have been and appreciate how God (if allowed) can shape a future filled with HOPE. "Traveling Mercies" to all who dare to begin the journey....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    A treasure!

    My wife said to me, "If you want to understand me, then read Traveling Mercies." She left on a business trip and I read the book. Lamott is truly a gifted writer and extremely funny! And yes, I now understand my wife better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    I love this author!

    I want to read everything she has written. I find myself identifying with her and wishing that we were friends. I am a single mom too and have benefitted so much from her experiences as well as her relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Contageous : you will become addicted to this author!

    This is a wonderful woman who is surviving by writing with honesty about her journey through this life. Too often we are slapped in the face with unrealistic images of the wife, mother, friend that society dictates to be the ideal woman. How much more tolerable even joyous life might be if each one of us were surrounded by friends, mothers, neighbors, like Anne. Begin with Anne and then begin to search these women out. They are here. Run to them, learn from them, cherish them. She lets you see into her soul, her most intimate self and speaks in a language that we can relate to, empathize with, celebrate. Her writings then become a celebration of what is real, sacred, saturated with her unique wit and humor. Anne Lamott continues to be humble, sincere, unpretentious, and respectful. I guess it is because she has met the dragons in her life, faced them, and has them eating out of her hand. This is the kind of spirituality I want to be part of my life and my family. Her inspirational words, deserve more than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    I've found my sister soul mate!

    Anne LaMott in one book has helped me to deal with my past and the death of my father twenty five years ago. She wrote what I lived and felt. She draws you into her book, her life and her walk with God. Her honesty and sense of humor helps the reader through difficult times, and binds us all together as humans in the common walk of life. Thank You!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    What heart and wit!

    This is a book I will keep and read more than once,as well as loan to my very best friends. It will be a great guide and inspiration to a sometimes difficult spiritual path....thank you A.Lamott for your honesty, humour and wisdom,hard earned and beautifully expressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    You want to be her friend

    Her book made me realize that it is okay to be human....to be real. God doesn't expect us to be perfect in order for us to have a relationship with him, he loves us right where we are. You will laugh, you will cry, and you won't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    She never stops...

    Anne Lamott has a way of making you laugh at yourself and at the world unlike anyone I've ever read before. All of her work has moved me to re-evaluate my life and my relationship to God, but none as much as Traveling Mercies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3