BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Travels

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading for Crichton fans

This book fascinated me. I've read most of Crichton's fiction, and I've been particularly interested in the way his characterizations of men and women have changed over time. Now I understand the background for those changes in his work, after reading this chronicle of ...
This book fascinated me. I've read most of Crichton's fiction, and I've been particularly interested in the way his characterizations of men and women have changed over time. Now I understand the background for those changes in his work, after reading this chronicle of decades of this author's personal development. 'New Age' experiences do nothing for me, but I nevertheless found it interesting to read about Crichton's perception of such experiences - and, especially, about his need to have them. The medical school chapters and the straight travel chapters engaged me best, though, because I could relate to them in a way I couldn't hope to relate to his accounts of channeling, exorcism, and so on. Worth reading for Crichton fans, although I'm not sure how much interest this book might hold for someone unfamiliar with his fiction.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a Travelogue

I enjoyed the first part of the book - his experiences in med school and his initial travels - not only for the places he visited, but for the insights into himself and people he met along the way. The end of the book moved far from being a travel book - it became a ho...
I enjoyed the first part of the book - his experiences in med school and his initial travels - not only for the places he visited, but for the insights into himself and people he met along the way. The end of the book moved far from being a travel book - it became a how-to for meditation and "new age" experiences. I found the change in focus unexpected and disappointing.

posted by jkphoenix1 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Worth reading for Crichton fans

    This book fascinated me. I've read most of Crichton's fiction, and I've been particularly interested in the way his characterizations of men and women have changed over time. Now I understand the background for those changes in his work, after reading this chronicle of decades of this author's personal development. 'New Age' experiences do nothing for me, but I nevertheless found it interesting to read about Crichton's perception of such experiences - and, especially, about his need to have them. The medical school chapters and the straight travel chapters engaged me best, though, because I could relate to them in a way I couldn't hope to relate to his accounts of channeling, exorcism, and so on. Worth reading for Crichton fans, although I'm not sure how much interest this book might hold for someone unfamiliar with his fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Definitely a different trip

    This is a fascinating collection of vignettes, and give entertaining and surprising insights into what turned Michael Crichton into the Michael Crichton we thought we knew. Very fast read, and with mostly short and self-contained essays is perfect to keep on hand for whenever you find yourself with a few free minutes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Weekend Read

    Enjoyed this book quite a bit. Makes me wish I had more opportunities to hit the road more often. Planning a month-long trip in the Fall and this book came recommended from a friend. I gladly pass along that recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Not a Travelogue

    I enjoyed the first part of the book - his experiences in med school and his initial travels - not only for the places he visited, but for the insights into himself and people he met along the way. The end of the book moved far from being a travel book - it became a how-to for meditation and "new age" experiences. I found the change in focus unexpected and disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Crichton's Autobiography is His Best Book Ever

    In this book, Crichton recounts his experiences and examines the insights he gained into life as a result. He tells about attending Harvard Medical School, climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, and directing Sean Connery in a movie, among many other things. Even people who don't care for his fiction can get something from this book. Michael Crichton lead a fascinating life that was over much too soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Crichton book yet least known

    Maybe because I love to travel, mabye because I love scuba diving, maybe because I love trying wacky new things - who knows - I do know that I love this book. Each chapter is an amusing tale of some kind of an experience in Crichton's life, and I was totally engaged by it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Storm

    Name: Stormandarro. Nickname: Storm. Age: 19 moons old. Crush: Freeze. Mate: Freeze. Postion: Beta. Physical decription: tall and lean tom. Dusky grey with wisps of silver. His eyes are dark brown. Personality: solem, laid back friendly, fierce, compassionate, and caring. Siblings: Birchwood and Sharp. Parents: Saber and Morning. History: ask. Anything else: ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Sky

    Pads in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Titanium

    K, he trots off to hunt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Kax's bio

    Name:kaxiv but call me kax age:it dont matter gender:male looks:a black wolf with grey splotches tht end at his belly and his bally is all grey eyes are dark purple mate:not for awhile crush:mabye pups:not for awhile history/kin:unknown personality:mostly quiet,shy,enjoys some company mostly by himself anything else ask~kaxiv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    A Great Book

    A must read for any Crighton fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Wonderful experience!

    I loved this book! Since reading this, my boyfriend and I are already planning trips around the world just based on his descriptions and testimony. I am buying this book for a few relatives for Christmas. I thought it was wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Entirely too Perfect

    I have been reading Chrichton for quite some time now, but none of his books were considered mandatory reading at UCLA, until now. Travels was and still is mandatory reading under most of the psychology and metaphysics classes at UCLA, perhaps there is a lot more to the book and the Author than Jack (Terrible Review Above) so believes. I'd highly recomend this book to anyone who wants to discover either themselves, or a higher level of intellect. During my studies at UCLA, I was somewhat motivated by this book. I now work for the Warm Springs Psychology Ward, and I've witnessed some extrodinary events relating to 'parapsychology', much like the ones that Chrichton experiences in his book 'Travels'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Stop reading reviews and think for yourself

    This is the best book I've ever read. I feel lucky to have come across it. After reading books upon books yet never feeling satisfied once it was over, I have found a book I enjoyed to the very last word, and beyond that. Michael Crichton, if nothing else, highlights the importance of knowledge gained through personal experience. You may think you know yourself, but there's always more to learn. More than you ever dreamed of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Crichton reveals that he is a fool

    I was supremely dismayed by this book where crichton, whom I assumed to be an intelligent and logical person due to his scientifically based stories turns out to be a moron who is totally taken by sham gurus and psuedoscience and tricketsters. Crichton claims to talk to cactuses, and see auras and thinks people can bend spoons with their minds. These are all things that con artists claim to do, but that all have failed to demonstrate when carefully observed. None for example have managed to claim the $1million prize that the randi foundation offers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Good to a point

    Being an exchange student in Japan, I can relate to a lot of the experiences in this book. Crichton always talks about discovering himself on all the trips he takes, but in the end it gets a little to odd for me. The actual travels part, and the med school part are cool, but near the end he gets into some crazy stuff, that in my opinion wasn`t totally worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    mystical and extraordinary

    I was a little skeptical about this book before I read it, but it turned out to be very entertaining, thought provoking, and satisfying. Every Crichton fan should probably read it just to get the inside scoop on the man himself, perhaps to see what has driven him to write so many fascinating books, and also to see what fuels some of his philosophy that comes through in his writing. 'Travels' certainly isn't all about philosophy, as much of it consists of some very entertaining anecdotes, though there's a philosophical vein that runs through it. It's not preachy, though Crichton seems to be trying to stimulate thinking in the reader. I found myself wishing at times that there wasn't a metaphysical bent to this book, though in the end I suppose it's for the better. Overall, a very engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2003

    Was Pretty Good Til the Spoonbending and Such

    I was thoroughly enjoying the read, until the last chapters got bogged down by spoonbenders and things that were too far 'out there' for me, so I just lightly glanced through the last four or five chapters and seeing that the book only dealt with that stuff, tossed it into the trash can. A suitable expression of my opinion, I thought. I do enjoy his other books; however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    An Interesting Story

    Travels was an interesting autobiography. Crichton is an excellent writer and the stories within the book are entertaining and thought provoking. Not as good as some of his fiction novels, but a very good story never the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Great Insight

    This shows some great insight into the interworkings of Michael's mind. It starts with his days as a medical student to his life experiences around the world. It is interesting to see how these experiences reflect on his works (ER, jurassic park, etc.) I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2