Customer Reviews for

The Travels of a T-Shirt in the Global Economy: An Economist Examines the Markets, Power, and Politics of World Trade

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Could be better

    I had high hopes for this book before reading it. It starts off as a good chronicle of the life and death of her T-shirt, but then morphs into a textbook. She could use a fact checker. I was surprised to read that Dr. Chu was named to be head of EPA in Obama administration. He, in fact, is secretary of the energy department.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    A book about world trade that non-economists can enjoy.

    I really enjoyed this book because it reads like a travel journal of an American t-shirt. The main character is the t-shirt and the reader follows the t-shirt's journey beginning in the U.S. and travelling across continents. The author introduces us to real characters involved in the making of the t-shirt who are both personal and engaging. At the same time, the author provides economic and political analysis to support her story. Some readers who may be less interested in the economic data can skim through these details, however, the end result is a comprehensive understanding of the economic and political forces behind the making of the classic American t-shirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Immensely Intriguing Book

    Free trade, policies, regulations, globalisation, and relative wealth. The author did a great job in making these topics eye openers. A very thought provoking book on these subjects as well for people like me who were anti-globalist.<BR/><BR/>The book is about as exciting as it gets for an economics related book. This book would be great for Philosophy and Political Science readers/majors/students and I would highly recommend this book for all to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Author Rivoli IS Accountable

    I am very impressed with this book-I am reviewing it for my book group soon. The fact that she would update information on the net, following her book, is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Makes Economics Fascinating and Personal

    I have never taken an economics course, and I am not at all sure why I decided to read this book, but I loved it. By focusing each section on a few people whose lives exemplified the principles emphasized, the principles became understandable and interesting. Fascinating historical tidbits are scattered throughout. It was clearly written, and had a helpful summary at the end. I have told many of my friends how informative this book was for me and have recommended it to my book club, and we will discuss it in March. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Outstanding!

    If you are taking Economics, it's an EXTREMELY helpful book. It really takes you deep into hard times and money problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    My shirt has seen more of the world than I have!

    Overall a good book. I encourage people to read the book, just to look at the impact U.S Policy and U.S. Trade regulations can have on an industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    T-shirt's Travels Tell of World Trade

    In 1999, author Pietra Rivoli attended a Washington, D.C. demonstration against globalization. A young woman asked the crowd, 'Who made your T-shirt?' before she described worldwide labor abuses and mistreatment of garment workers. That shouted question and the assumptions implicit in it stimulated the author¿s imagination. She decided to find the answer. Her compelling book tracks T-shirts from the Texas cotton fields, through manufacturing in China, to consumers in the U.S. and to Africa¿s used clothing market. In this interesting, original approach to the issues of globalization and industrialization, Rivoli shows the economic, political and social forces that come to bear on a T-shirt. Through she can¿t literally track a single shirt step-by-step, she sustains that metaphor. Buying a shirt, she works her way backward in time and space to find its origins, or the origins (and eventual lifespan and demise) of such T-shirts, by relying on inference, deduction and reasonable assumption. Her most stunning, most negative conclusion is that - despite debates over free trade and allegedly exploitative markets - everyone involved seems devoted to avoiding market forces altogether. We say this book deserves its own T-shirt with 'Must Read' on the front and 'Highly Recommended' on the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    MUST-READ FOR ALL AMERICANS

    Mark Twain once said everyone talks about the weather but no one does anything about it. Similarly, everyone wears t-shirts but hardly anyone understands where they come from or how they got here. Thankfully, Pietra Rivoli has demystified the subject in a way that is informative and interesting. One part social history, one part human interest, one part trade policy primer, this book tells a story in a way that is engaging, instructive, and revelatory. Whether you are a teenager shopping at A & F, someone interested in history, or a seasoned business executive (like me), I guarantee this book will make you alter your perception and inform your daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1