Customer Reviews for

Travels with Charley in Search of America

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Funny and captivating

I absolutely love this book. I enjoyed very much everything that John Steinbeck wrote, but it was all fiction. This is a more or less a factual account of one trip across America. Apart from the fact that I am planning such a trip myself, I could not put the book dow...
I absolutely love this book. I enjoyed very much everything that John Steinbeck wrote, but it was all fiction. This is a more or less a factual account of one trip across America. Apart from the fact that I am planning such a trip myself, I could not put the book down, he is so entertaining, you laugh, you muse and you enjoy the beautiful stops with him along the journey. I recommend this book to everyone that enjoys traveling.

posted by claraone on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Read, but Best for Target Demographic

In Travels with Charley, John Steinbeck with his poodle, Charley, sets out to rediscover the country he is known for writing about. In their pickup truck and camper, the duo embarks on a journey that spans from New England to California, from Midwest to Southwest, and f...
In Travels with Charley, John Steinbeck with his poodle, Charley, sets out to rediscover the country he is known for writing about. In their pickup truck and camper, the duo embarks on a journey that spans from New England to California, from Midwest to Southwest, and from Yellowstone to New Orleans. On his journey, Steinbeck reflects on what makes America "America" and how our country had changed in the 1960's. As you may have guessed from the other reviews, this was overall a good read, it's John Steinbeck writing it after all. He gives plenty of details about all of the sights he sees and uses his great word choice to describe them, plus it's pretty entertaining, especially if you have a dog like Charley (I do). However, as a high school student, I found it hard to relate to. It deals with pretty universal themes, travel and what makes America "America". But, it also deals quite a bit with less universal themes, like aging and changing times. These themes are evident by Steinbeck's crotchetiness towards things like highways and vending machines. So as you could imagine, I couldn't always pay attention whenever he was complaining about plastic wrap or just being old. I suppose then the target demographic I would be referring to is anyone who can relate to a world that has changed dramatically in their adult lifetime, so you'd probably have to be a bit older than I am. Some major events have happened since I was born, but I was just a little kid who didn't really understand it and what it meant as far as change goes. You'd have to be someone who is old enough to compare one decade to another because you've lived as an adult through them. But don't lose hope if you're not old and crotchety! You will enjoy it if you're the kind of person who likes to travel or just are interested in the history of America in the 1960's (like I am), but maybe not as much as the former. If you do like Travels with Charley, it'd be worthwhile to read Steinbeck's other works or anything by similar authors, specifically Earnest Hemingway and The Old Man and the Sea.

posted by 9665877 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Poko

    This is what is known as a dead Clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great!!

    Another of Steinbeck's amazing writings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    In the early sixties, Steinbeck, in his fifties, felt out of tou

    In the early sixties, Steinbeck, in his fifties, felt out of touch with America, so with poodle Charlie, he set out in camper Rocinante to renew contact. This is his telling of that journey, roughly circular from his east coast home to Maine, across the northern states, down the western states, and east through Texas and Louisiana. Within these travels, Steinbeck is very self-revealing, discussing his social interactions, his traveling experiences, his responses to social changes when visiting places he had been before, and providing his one-man’s-look at things, not to be confused with attempts to make broader general conclusions. He does, none the less, manage more than a few general observations about a number of places, events and opinions that cross his path. For this reader, some of his talk about his own past and family brought “AHA” connections to some of his other works, particularly how family members had been in East of Eden, and a visit with an old crony who has a central role in Tortilla Flat. Notably cogent were Steinbeck’s experiences and observations in Maine, Montana, Seattle, Monterey, California, and in Louisiana. As a novel-reader, this turned out to be an interesting journey and provided valuable insight into Steinbeck’s life, thought processes, and other works, but left me feeling like there was not a lot of sense of Steinbeck’s meeting his goal of re-connecting, or any general conclusion beyond some fascinating glimpses of how life was in America fifty years ago. The writing is terrific, as expected, and others would probably enjoy it. I’m glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I admire Steinbeck a great deal.

    I was most impressed by his insight into civil rights. The grapes of wrath happens during the depression and this is set during the civil rights movement. I loved how natural his relationship with Charley feels and it reminded me of my grandpa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Travels - 7th Pd.

    John Steinbeck does a great job of writing his adventures of his times exploring our beautiful nation. He leaves his home with his french-poodle, Charley and sets out to see the nation and world that he has been living in for fifty-eight years. He wants to see all the realism that he has been writing about and bragging about for such a long time. As Steinbeck sets out, he drives the seemingly endless interstates in search for anything that may catch his attention or interest him. On his explorations, he finds time to dine with truckers in the middle of his trek across the nation. Steinbeck encounters bears at the known Yellowstone National Park and then old friends once he reaches the open arms of the San Francisco city. <BR/><BR/>On his travels, he reflects on the character of America and Americans themselves. He sees the racial hostility that still exists and he also sees an American loneliness that he finds almost every place he goes. One of the most notable and coolest things that he finds, is the unexpected kindness out of everyone he encounters. This he realizes is the face of Americans. The best part for Steinbeck, is knowing that kindness is the real face and true identity our nation upholds. Steinbeck delivers a great message, exploits the meaning of being an American, and the greatness of being an American and part of this country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Great Steinbeck grasping the travelers' spirit

    Having traveled across the US via backroads on a motorcycle a couple years ago as a college student, this book relates beautifully. If you take the backroads and skip the freeway systems, you can find many people just like Steinbeck encountered with his dog. A wonderful read by a great author that displays an array of people that suprisingly are not that hard to still find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Forlorn America

    No the road no longer resembles what it once did, the cops shove you off everywhere you lay down to rest, coast to coast are the same endless recycled highways of fast food joints, McDonald's, Starbucks, ah yes. Steinbeck prefigures this in this touching little compendium- read it and see the deterioration of the land Kerouac and others so hallowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    A sharp look at America from one of its most talented citizens

    I enjoyed every moment of this book. It is a travelogue and not a gripping novel, so one should not expect to be thrilled by this book. Instead, the reader should look forward to a collection of opinions about America from a gifted wordsmith. Steinbeck shows his satirical and critical side here, but also pleases with beautiful descriptions of America's untouched wild places. For a traveler this book is pure delight. And I loved hearing the point of view of a wise man who has lived the majority of his life. Travels with Charley is like On the Road without the drugs and sex. It is tame and heartfelt. Steinbeck shows what true human communication is, and he opens our eyes to some of our country's shortcomings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    beautiful peace

    Travels with Charley was my first encounter with a Steinbeck book so I didn¿t know what to expect. At first I couldn¿t get into it, it seemed too boring. But I thought since I did start it I would finish it. And it ended up being a great book, it is about stienbeck and his poodle charley and how they venture out from New York in rocinante(his truck), because he thought he might have lost his touch with his own country. He comes upon some fascinating people and things, he sees beauty landscapes and falls in love with nature, and really sees how America and the people really are. I think it is an excellent book if you have been wondering how stienbeck portrays things he is seeing that are almost inarticulate into deep profound words. A beautiful story about a man trying to come in touch with his country and sees how things really are, all over the county and things people would not ordinary see just living their own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    A book about America, inside and out

    This book captured America in both a literal and metaphoric stance. In his travel throughout the states, he journeys on the inside in hopes to discover what America is really about. He finds many different people with many different opinions as he shares his own throughout the book. Though he does go into tedious detail, when he makes his point, its a rather profound statement. This book is wonderful for those who have the yearn to travel, or who just want to learn more about America from the stand point of one who lives there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    a Great american book!!!

    a great book to read if you want to explore the U.S without leaving your home. a great adventure book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    The book was much better than I expected!!

    This book was okay. By that I mean thatit had some boring parts and some good parts. I admit getting 210 pages worth of observations can be boring, but it was overall a good adventure of America in the 1960's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2