Customer Reviews for

Travels with Gannon and Wyatt: Botswana

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    My 9 year old and I loved reading the book together! The main ch

    My 9 year old and I loved reading the book together! The main characters, Gannon and Wyatt, are twin boys but have a very different way of looking at adventure. The book is written in a unique journal style with passages from the boys and their individual perspectives of each situation. We were initially drawn to the book because my child's class was studying African wildlife. Because of the journal style writing we felt as if we were walking through the bush with the boys. I would definitely recommend the book as a fun and educational way to introduce a child to reading as an adventure. Looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A recipient of the Mom's Choice Awards! The Mom's Choice Awards®

    A recipient of the Mom's Choice Awards!
    The Mom's Choice Awards® (MCA) evaluates products and services created for parents and educators and is globally recognized for establishing the benchmark of excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. Using a rigorous evaluation process, entries are scored on a number of elements including production quality, design, educational value, entertainment value, originality, appeal and cost. Around the world, parents, educators, retailers and members of the media trust the MCA Honoring Excellence seal when selecting quality products and services for families and children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Adventures While Learning!

    Based on the real life adventures of two brothers, Gannon and Wyatt, whose parents have had the ability and foresight to share the world with their sons, Travels with Gannon and Wyatt: Botswana will take its reader into the heart of the African bush in all of its mystery, danger and glory. Imagine having been near wild animals in their natural habitat, then to experience the ugliness of what poachers are doing to these great beasts. Filled with facts, as well as fancy, the details are fascinating and encourages awareness of the world around us, while giving younger readers a brief trip into the world of books! Win! Win!
    Written from the points of view of each boy, with their unique way of looking at things, the feel for the area, for their experiences makes this book come alive. (I’ve traveled to Africa, and can say, I re-experienced what I saw.)

    I highly recommend this entire series for younger readers, who will walk alongside these boys as they learn of the wonders and dangers of Botswana and the world, as well as our impact on it. I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A well written adventure and education that takes you into the


    A well written adventure and education that takes you into the wilds of Africa as the third explorer with
    Gannon and Wyatt. You feel as though you're experiencing the excitement first hand, and learning
    the daily lessons of survival taught only in the back country of the "Dark Continent". I enjoyed it as much
    as my grandchildren.    
    Tin Man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Want to take your young ones on an African Safari? Well Travels

    Want to take your young ones on an African Safari? Well Travels with Gannon & Wyatt, Botswana is just the book to do it! Within the pages you find great adventures taking place for these two daring young men. Along with all that is going on, this book is filled with factual information about Africa. It's a history lesson hidden in the pages of adventure where you don't mind learning the lesson. So pick up a copy and begin the adventure with your kids! I guarantee that you will not regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I loved reading this book to my son!  It's full of adventure and

    I loved reading this book to my son!  It's full of adventure and so full of interesting facts about Botswana.  We love any book that has an action-packed storyline and is educational as well! Interested in learning more about the Youth Exploration Society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    4 STARS This is my second book I have read in the Travels with

    4 STARS

    This is my second book I have read in the Travels with Gannon and Wyatt. I enjoyed both of them. Gannon and Wyatt are homeschooled.
    They get to travel a lot and explore places that I can only dream about. They are real twins who have traveled to the places but their adventures are made up along the way. They tale about real settings, and animals and real problems they have surviving in the wild.

    Their family decide to fly to Botswana to go on a African Safari. They can fly for free because their mom works for a airline.
    While they are in Botswana they learn that poachers have shot a lioness and she is wounded with four lion cubs. If she does not get medical attention all of them will not survive.

    Gannon and Wyatt ask to go along with the bushman guide to track her and give her a chance to survive. It should not be too dangerous if they follow their guide's rules. Of course things go wrong and keep going from bad to worse a long the way.
    African safari is a dangerous place with lots of things that can go wrong. The worst predator is man.

    They cross a river in their jeep and it gets stuck in the middle of the river with a large crocodile on the banks sleeping. They have to get out and swim to shore and be quite so they don't wake him up.

    From that point on their is plenty of adventure, action, wild animals up close really up close. heroes and bad guy as they continue to try and find the wounded lioness on foot. I like Gannon and Wyatt but I would not let my children do the things they get into. I hope they have more stories to tell in the future.

    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    05/28/2013 PUB Greenleaf Book Group Press ISBN:9781608325856

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Travel Adventure at its Best!

    Come face-to-face with a family of white rhinos, survive a crocodile attack, watch amazed as a herd of Cape buffaloes 500 strong strolls by your tent, all while you attempt to save an injured lioness and her cubs. This is all in a day's adventure for the Wheeler boys in Travels with Gannon and Wyatt: Botswana by Patti Wheeler and Keith Hemstreet.

    Told through the journal entries of fifteen-year-old Gannon and Wyatt Wheeler, this story is geared to 8 to 12-year-old readers and could also be read to and enjoyed by a younger audience. I was impressed by these two young explorers who have a deep respect for the people and culture of Africa, and who make an effort to learn and use the local language. The authors have interspersed factual information about the Kalahari Bushmen and the Okavango Delta, etc.

    The Wheelers travel to Maun, Botswana and then on to the Kalahari Desert. At camp they meet their guide, Chocs, and are soon set off on safari. The Wheelers have a frightening meeting with a rhino family as this exciting story begins. At the Bushmen or San People's village, the boys interact with the villagers and learn how this ancient culture survives without running water or the simplest technology.

    Gannon hears from a bushman that a lioness mother of four cubs has been shot by a poacher. Gannon becomes instantly wound up. His commitment to help the lioness is contagious and soon preparations are made to travel to the Delta to find her. The Wheeler parents allow Gannon and Wyatt to travel to the Delta with Chocs and the bushman hunter.

    The Okavango Delta is a wondrous and hazardous place with many predators and disease-carrying insects. There is no shortage of peril in close encounters with lions, snakes, crocodiles, and more. The Wheeler boys quickly learn that a careless mistake could cost them their lives. After several close calls, they discover the most dangerous predator of all is an armed man who will stop at nothing to continue his illegal animal parts enterprise.

    Authors Wheeler and Hemstreet have done an outstanding job of combining education with page-turning adventure. Gannon and Wyatt are intriguing young men - well spoken and intelligent with a passion for the environment, conservation and wildlife. There is enough suspense and danger to keep even the most fickle reader enthralled. The scenery is so well described that I was immediately drawn in and expecting a herd of wildebeest to charge through my living room. Children today have so many distractions from TV and the Internet. I highly recommend you give your child Travels with Gannon and Wyatt: Botswana and let the world be your son or daughter's classroom.

    My hard copy included a high quality DVD with breathtaking video of the desert and delta, and informative interviews with the boys.


    By William Potter for Reader's Choice Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1