Customer Reviews for

Treachery in Death (In Death Series #32)

Average Rating 4
( 836 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(502)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great Book- Loved It!!!

I could not wait to get this book home and start reading it! The book begins with a trio of stoners robbing a small store and killing the owner. As the investigation starts, Lt. Eve Dallas throws the reins to Det. Peabody and Peabody gets her first case as primary. One...
I could not wait to get this book home and start reading it! The book begins with a trio of stoners robbing a small store and killing the owner. As the investigation starts, Lt. Eve Dallas throws the reins to Det. Peabody and Peabody gets her first case as primary. One of the best part of this series is how the history of the characters plays throughout the books. Seeing Peabody step up to the plate almost makes you feel proud because we have seen her grow through the previous books. When she finds herself in a deadly situation after going to an old police gym to workout, we are holding our breath along with her. She overhears a conversation that implicates two cops in a murder and corruption scheme and is lucky to escape undetected.




Peabody goes to Eve and tells her what she heard and the investigation begins. Eve is a cop to the bone and takes this situation as a betrayal of all she stands for. The fact that one of the cops involved is also a female lieutenant, whose father was a revered Commander in the department, makes it all the worse. Eve draws her troops around her and goes to work making her case. All of the characters we have come to know- Commander Whitney, profiler Mira, Eve's husband Roarke, McNab, Truehart, Baxter, Mavis, and even IAB Det. Webster have a part in the operation. There is plenty of action as well as a strenghthening of some of the core relationships that have been in place since the first book.




As always, when I got to the end of the book, I was antsy for the next one. This is a great series and if you haven't read it you need to start at the beginning and work your way through. The series takes place about 30 years in the future but has very little of a scence fiction feel to it. It is primarily a police procedural mystery and is very popular among my library readers. The audio version is excellent with the same reader(Susan Erickson)for all of the books.

posted by SharonRedfern on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Her Best

This book does not have the feel of other Dallas books. It makes me wonder if J. D. Robb actually wrote this book herself. I suspect not - the book brought in all of the characters, but none of them seemed right - they were all off

For example: The language - tota...
This book does not have the feel of other Dallas books. It makes me wonder if J. D. Robb actually wrote this book herself. I suspect not - the book brought in all of the characters, but none of them seemed right - they were all off

For example: The language - totally out of character for Eve and Peabody. Her reaction to Roarke - all other books mention his beauty and how his looks take her breath away - no mention in this book. The sex was lukewarm and the romance contrived. When Roarke loaned Peabody a car, she should have done her "happy dance" -this was out of character. Mira did not sound like Mira. Too much about what a "great cop" Dallas is - we didn't need it beaten into us. She should have been embarrassed as she has been in all other books. There was no sublety in her handling of Oberman - too much "in your face" - also not like her. I could go on and on, but no Pepsi's, not much coffee, and she would never turn down a candy bar. No battling with the vending machine and hardly a mention of her cat - all staples in the other Dallas books. I just really don't believe that Robb wrote this book and, if she did, she's lost her interest in the characters.

What do you think?

posted by Patbeau on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 841 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book- Loved It!!!

    I could not wait to get this book home and start reading it! The book begins with a trio of stoners robbing a small store and killing the owner. As the investigation starts, Lt. Eve Dallas throws the reins to Det. Peabody and Peabody gets her first case as primary. One of the best part of this series is how the history of the characters plays throughout the books. Seeing Peabody step up to the plate almost makes you feel proud because we have seen her grow through the previous books. When she finds herself in a deadly situation after going to an old police gym to workout, we are holding our breath along with her. She overhears a conversation that implicates two cops in a murder and corruption scheme and is lucky to escape undetected.




    Peabody goes to Eve and tells her what she heard and the investigation begins. Eve is a cop to the bone and takes this situation as a betrayal of all she stands for. The fact that one of the cops involved is also a female lieutenant, whose father was a revered Commander in the department, makes it all the worse. Eve draws her troops around her and goes to work making her case. All of the characters we have come to know- Commander Whitney, profiler Mira, Eve's husband Roarke, McNab, Truehart, Baxter, Mavis, and even IAB Det. Webster have a part in the operation. There is plenty of action as well as a strenghthening of some of the core relationships that have been in place since the first book.




    As always, when I got to the end of the book, I was antsy for the next one. This is a great series and if you haven't read it you need to start at the beginning and work your way through. The series takes place about 30 years in the future but has very little of a scence fiction feel to it. It is primarily a police procedural mystery and is very popular among my library readers. The audio version is excellent with the same reader(Susan Erickson)for all of the books.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Not Her Best

    This book does not have the feel of other Dallas books. It makes me wonder if J. D. Robb actually wrote this book herself. I suspect not - the book brought in all of the characters, but none of them seemed right - they were all off

    For example: The language - totally out of character for Eve and Peabody. Her reaction to Roarke - all other books mention his beauty and how his looks take her breath away - no mention in this book. The sex was lukewarm and the romance contrived. When Roarke loaned Peabody a car, she should have done her "happy dance" -this was out of character. Mira did not sound like Mira. Too much about what a "great cop" Dallas is - we didn't need it beaten into us. She should have been embarrassed as she has been in all other books. There was no sublety in her handling of Oberman - too much "in your face" - also not like her. I could go on and on, but no Pepsi's, not much coffee, and she would never turn down a candy bar. No battling with the vending machine and hardly a mention of her cat - all staples in the other Dallas books. I just really don't believe that Robb wrote this book and, if she did, she's lost her interest in the characters.

    What do you think?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great One

    I felt like was there with Eve and the gang. Feeling the emotions and strength of Eve Dallas. This book showed how strong a character she is. Great book as always. Nora Roberts did a great job. Can't wait for the next one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    The Best of the Series to date....A MUST Read!

    I purchased this book as an e-book on the day it came out. I have since read it....TWICE in less than a week! I loved the last chapter. I was so sad to see it end. I love how all the characters have evolved over the years, especially Eve and Roarke. Can't wait til the next one comes out in the fall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Robbs on top with this one.

    One of the best In Death novels I have read and I have read them all. All my favorite characters were given page time and Eve has finally stopped her immature remarks to Summerset. I love the bantering between the two, but in an adult kind of way. Eve, Roarke and Summerset have settled into a offbeat type of family. I'm also happy that Eve and Peabody have such a great partnership. I'm ready for the next in this terrific series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend!

    Treachery in Death is very entertaining and full of action. Detective Peabody and Eve Dallas are on the case of robbery and the murder of the owner of the convenience store. A clever sting operation takes place to smoke out the bad guys. The pages are filled with wit and humor that makes the book so interesting and fun to read. Wonderful cat and mouse scenes and great relationships also make this one a pleasure to read. I recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Eve Dallas rides again!

    I have every book there is on Eve Dallas. I have the anthologies too. I am never disappointed. I can't get enough. J D Robb is the name I look for whenever I visit any book store. I just hope 'J D Robb' will continue to write stories about Dallas and Roarke. I love them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    May I please have more?

    Fantastic read. I couldn't put it down. Sorry to reach the end. I have fun trying to choose who would play which part if the DEATH books ever became a movie or series on TV. The charachters continue to evolve with each book and I still want more. Thank you JD Robb. Another winner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    A Must Read!!

    I have been a fan of J.D. Robb for years and always enjoy each book but this book is by far the best! I liked that Peabody had a more of a personality in this book and I liked to see the progression Eve is making when trying to balance her work and her home life. I thought the plot was interesting and I was holding my breath at the end. If you like romance and crime and science fiction, this is a book and author you must read. This read will keep you on the edge of your seat. But watch out, these books are addicting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Treachery in death

    Treachery in death by j.d. robb was excellent! I love the in death series and really enjoy seeing eve's growth with each new book. She is a fascinating character and i hope nora roberts continues writing these stories and allows eve to continue to evolve without losing her edge, insight, and humor. I always look forward to reading the next in death book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Best Ever!

    Read all the series and enjoyed this one the most. Pulls out their personalities and strengths. Really,really liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Treachery in Death

    I'm a sucker for all of her books, especially the In Death series. They have good homicide storylines (even if a bit formulaic), have great characters, humor, and dialogue, and add just a touch of futuristic sci-fi to differentiate from the pack. This one was a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    It's good but not her best!

    I have read all in this series to date, story line is good & I'm no prude, but did we have to use the the "F" word so much in this one, even from the main character, Eve Dallas. After living with Roake for a few years she should be getting a little refined. She is her own person I know but felt there was a lack of romance with Roarke in this one also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Storyline of Characters continues to develop with each book!

    First thing I did when I got my Nook was download the entire "In Death" series. I am a self admitted bookaholic and this series is by far my favorite. I love the teacher/mentor/friend dimension of Dallas and Eve. It was nice to see Mavis again. Anyone notice how slowly, but surely Eve is becoming a bit more "comfortable" around Bella? I can't wait for Eve and Roarke to have their own child.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    best one

    I really liked this one the best in last few. its good shows how wrong bad leaders make more bad cops. and shows how good cops good leaders bring out the best.has all the familar characters working together to solve murders how they go extra mile for justice and stand up for good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Another winner for J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) and a fantastic read. Although we know who the bad guys are, its how Eve is able to bring these guys down that holds the reader. A definite must read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Typical wonderful read.

    I was a little disappointed in the last book but this one was excellent. I couldn't put it down. She holds my attention to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Treachery In Death

    Great Book. Read it in 1 day. Have read at least 4X. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Suspensful

    Really enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Another winner!

    I was introduced to this series by my Dad and he couldn t have given me a belter gift. I absolutely love each and every book. But, this one is by far my favorite.To see how Eve reacts When one of the top cops in her city turns out to be dirty is amazing !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 841 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43