Customer Reviews for

Treachery in Death (In Death Series #32)

Average Rating 4
( 835 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(501)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great Book- Loved It!!!

I could not wait to get this book home and start reading it! The book begins with a trio of stoners robbing a small store and killing the owner. As the investigation starts, Lt. Eve Dallas throws the reins to Det. Peabody and Peabody gets her first case as primary. One...
I could not wait to get this book home and start reading it! The book begins with a trio of stoners robbing a small store and killing the owner. As the investigation starts, Lt. Eve Dallas throws the reins to Det. Peabody and Peabody gets her first case as primary. One of the best part of this series is how the history of the characters plays throughout the books. Seeing Peabody step up to the plate almost makes you feel proud because we have seen her grow through the previous books. When she finds herself in a deadly situation after going to an old police gym to workout, we are holding our breath along with her. She overhears a conversation that implicates two cops in a murder and corruption scheme and is lucky to escape undetected.




Peabody goes to Eve and tells her what she heard and the investigation begins. Eve is a cop to the bone and takes this situation as a betrayal of all she stands for. The fact that one of the cops involved is also a female lieutenant, whose father was a revered Commander in the department, makes it all the worse. Eve draws her troops around her and goes to work making her case. All of the characters we have come to know- Commander Whitney, profiler Mira, Eve's husband Roarke, McNab, Truehart, Baxter, Mavis, and even IAB Det. Webster have a part in the operation. There is plenty of action as well as a strenghthening of some of the core relationships that have been in place since the first book.




As always, when I got to the end of the book, I was antsy for the next one. This is a great series and if you haven't read it you need to start at the beginning and work your way through. The series takes place about 30 years in the future but has very little of a scence fiction feel to it. It is primarily a police procedural mystery and is very popular among my library readers. The audio version is excellent with the same reader(Susan Erickson)for all of the books.

posted by SharonRedfern on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Her Best

This book does not have the feel of other Dallas books. It makes me wonder if J. D. Robb actually wrote this book herself. I suspect not - the book brought in all of the characters, but none of them seemed right - they were all off

For example: The language - tota...
This book does not have the feel of other Dallas books. It makes me wonder if J. D. Robb actually wrote this book herself. I suspect not - the book brought in all of the characters, but none of them seemed right - they were all off

For example: The language - totally out of character for Eve and Peabody. Her reaction to Roarke - all other books mention his beauty and how his looks take her breath away - no mention in this book. The sex was lukewarm and the romance contrived. When Roarke loaned Peabody a car, she should have done her "happy dance" -this was out of character. Mira did not sound like Mira. Too much about what a "great cop" Dallas is - we didn't need it beaten into us. She should have been embarrassed as she has been in all other books. There was no sublety in her handling of Oberman - too much "in your face" - also not like her. I could go on and on, but no Pepsi's, not much coffee, and she would never turn down a candy bar. No battling with the vending machine and hardly a mention of her cat - all staples in the other Dallas books. I just really don't believe that Robb wrote this book and, if she did, she's lost her interest in the characters.

What do you think?

posted by Patbeau on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 840 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    As always, a fun romp!

    what can I say? after so many books you kind of know what to expect, but Eve always manages to surprise and delight. I totally enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    JD Robb in Death series

    Another winner for JD Robb as she brings to life once again
    Lt Eve Dallas and all of the colorful characters i have grown to love over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great read...as all JD Robb books!

    I have read the entire "In Death" series. I love JD Robb! I am always in a hurry for the next one to go on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Xqyalag Qyrqtqpqg q qmalawaqqtZq

    nqywtag
    Al
    AgqpqeasqwagqeqyQVNasqyVaq
    ABagqpXqyqVassqtagqpqpafq q fq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Another great J.D. Robb book

    It's nice to see Lt. Dallas opening her heart more and more. It's like visiting with friends each time. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Eve and the gang are back investigating an unwarranted attack on

    Eve and the gang are back investigating an unwarranted attack on an elderly man and his wife who own a grocery store. The man is killed and Eve gives Peabody her first shot as primary detective. Being cops and seeing the worst side of humanity can make anyone cynical, but when the worst side of humanity is festering within the NYPSD, dirty cops who have been entrusted to serve the community and protect the innocent, Eve doesn’t get cynical, she gets angry. She gets irate. She takes it personal.

    After Peabody overhears two cops in the locker room and quickly realizes they are planning a murder to cover-up a bigger trail of corruption, Peabody realizes she’s in way over her head and has McNab take her to Eve. Eve, once again, doesn’t disappoint and quickly orchestrates her own plan to sideline the dirty cops, even though she knows they will stop at nothing to cover themselves. The more Eve digs into the dirty squad, the bigger a target she becomes. I loved how Eve is like a pit bull in this story, latching onto every shred of evidence with an iron-fist grip, refusing to let go. Eve is a very tenacious character anyway when she’s investigating a homicide. It doesn’t matter to her who the victim is. They are hers and she, too, will stop at nothing to get to the bottom of it.

    I especially enjoyed watching Eve go head-to-head with the corrupt Lieutenant, who has a high standing in the Department and whose father was a decorated Commander. I loved watching her get into the faces of the corrupt members of the squad, stirring the pot, making their perfect world uncomfortable. Eve knows the risks she is taking by antagonizing them, but it seemed to me that she was enjoying herself too much to stop and I was enjoying watching it unfold. It was a little disturbing to see how far these cops would go to keep their secrets. They aren’t above killing cops and have done so and try to kill yet more cops, including Eve.

    Although I love this series, Treachery in Death is definitely one of my favorites. Peabody is really evolving as a character that could easily have her own series, though I would very much miss the interactions between her and Eve. So much has happened in this series that it’s so hard to remember that the entire series, so far, only spans a couple of years when it feels like ten or more years have passed. Time really does fly when you are having fun and hopefully for the readers the fun is just beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great book

    Loiove this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Probably one of my favorites

    I really liked the pacing in this book. It was fun to see Eve in full hunt mode. The bad guys may have been a little too stereo-typical, but it was still a good book. Go Peabody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Possibly the best Eve Dallas to date

    In brief: taut, intense, and dynamic, with just the right touches of humor. I've read this book maybe 10 times now without losing my taste for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't know how she does it, but this is the best Eve Dallas ye

    I don't know how she does it, but this is the best Eve Dallas yet. The story hooks you from the beginning and it gets better with every page. Some of the "In Death" books were so so, same old, etc., but this one is fresh and new with different perspectives, focused more on the mystery and crime and the solving and resolution thereof. I am relieved since I thought that they were getting routine. Not any more. I can see how the characters are growing, maturing and we see that comfort and trust has become the norm rather than the opposite. To have people stay the same through every book would be totally boring and Robb has let them mature and change. It took me a few seconds to recognize her favorite grifter, but when I did, it made me smile and laugh out loud. And to have the crime and investigation be the focus, rather than ubiquitous sex every other chapter was a welcome change also. This really is the best and I've read them all, several times. Now on to the next with great anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    this book wasn't dowload

    I want to know wath happend ,the dowland was brokend before finish, you write mein my screen that there was a trouble , please I need to know sincerely in hope that this problem will be solve
    genoveva feria

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Treachery in Death

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book!

    I have been a fan of JD Robb (and NR) ever since I was a teenager (and that was about two decades ago). I have followed her in death serie on and off. I admit that sometimes I got bored but every now and then I will pick one up. Treachery was one I picked up in one of those moments. After I got through the first couple of chapters I could not put it down. I really could not wait to read what would happen with the other LT (avoiding spoil here). I am an avid "flipper" (flipping to the end) but do not seem to do it ever since I got the Nook some years ago. So this one really kept me reading so I could get to the end.

    I think it was a grat read, very typical JD with NR mixed in. Since I liked it so much I will probably "pick up" the next one...or read the one I picked up some time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    excellent as always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good story but missing usual JD Robbs humor

    Was very disappointed. Missing the humor, rhythm and style that I love in all of the JD Robbs books. I had a hard time getting into the novel because the language and words did not fit with the normal reactions for Eve, Roarke or any of the usual characters. Over use of the f-word and just a lot of words that are not common with her books, like Roadke calling Eve Baby Missing from story - working out in gym, swimming in the pool to work off rage; No sizzle between Roake and Eve and face it that is part of what make the books so good; more byplay between all of the characters.

    Would rather wait longer for the book than to have to read something that she didn't even write! I have read all 33 books in the death series and I haveu enjoyed them all except this one. The book has no soul. Usually I'm sitting somewhere in public reading one of her books and laughing to myself as I read because the characters are so very real, but not his time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great Book!

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Always the best

    The series never fails to be un-put-downable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    Excellent read Keeps you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite Series!!!

    Awesome addition to the series! This is unquestionably my favorite series. This addition really focuses on Eve and her division, her men, how they work together and how Eve has had her effect on them. The ending was emotional couldn't help but get teared up. Love every character in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you are a J. D. Robb fan, you will love this book. Each book of the series has such excellent characters and it's thrilling to see how each of them has grown from book to book. Over time you get to know each of the characters and appreciate their flaws and virtues. If you are a lover of Detective novels with the warmth of romance, you will love J. D. Robb's "In Death" series. Treachery In Death was fast, action packed, humorous and tense. All that a reader could ask for in a book. Nora does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 840 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 42