Customer Reviews for

Treading Water, The Treading Water Series, Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Epic must read

It is no secret, I am a huge fan of Marie Force, but Treading Water is my most favorite book that she has written and in the top 5 of my all time favorite book ever. Marie takes you for a ride in Treading Water, a ride with lots of bumps and several epic turns of event...
It is no secret, I am a huge fan of Marie Force, but Treading Water is my most favorite book that she has written and in the top 5 of my all time favorite book ever. Marie takes you for a ride in Treading Water, a ride with lots of bumps and several epic turns of events that impact a family to its core. I cried in several places during this book and thought several times, how is Jack going to actually get his HEA, I laughed, especially at some of the banter with the kids. And I was angry, very angry at how this family was so horribly affected by tragedy. This isn't a traditional who-done-it, there is no major villain to run down, and no one will be left asking, HUH? In my eyes, a good book takes you on a journey, leads you through some tough times and comes out even better in the end. That is what Treading Water was for me.

posted by frosty1 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rphj

Hi

posted by 3556520 on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    An Epic must read

    It is no secret, I am a huge fan of Marie Force, but Treading Water is my most favorite book that she has written and in the top 5 of my all time favorite book ever. Marie takes you for a ride in Treading Water, a ride with lots of bumps and several epic turns of events that impact a family to its core. I cried in several places during this book and thought several times, how is Jack going to actually get his HEA, I laughed, especially at some of the banter with the kids. And I was angry, very angry at how this family was so horribly affected by tragedy. This isn't a traditional who-done-it, there is no major villain to run down, and no one will be left asking, HUH? In my eyes, a good book takes you on a journey, leads you through some tough times and comes out even better in the end. That is what Treading Water was for me.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Best trilogy by an Amazing writer!

    The Treading water trilogy are wonderful stories. I cried and laughed; Marie Force brings her readers into her stories. I felt like I was part of these famlies. She is an amazing writer

    I highly recommend all Marie Force books...thank you Marie for sharing your amazing talent.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Very emotional!! But a great read!!!

    This series kepts you hooked the entire time. Loved all the characters. I felt like I knew them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Nice and easy read

    Loved all of her other books and enjoyed this one too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Treading water

    Great love story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Super read

    I've just srarting reading Maries books and I have to say I haven't been disappointed yet shes a wondetful writer every book makes you want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Loved it

    I have read all the books in the other series and this one is just as good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    great reading

    I have read the entire series and wish there were more to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    A Beautiful Beginning!!!

    This is book one of the Treading Water Series (four books in all).... You will meet fabulous people caught in a wrenching situation... As it evolves you will be drawn into so much happiness and sadness that you will believe you are part of it... This is a wonderful first book in the series and PLEASE start with this book and read them in order so the story builds as it should... Book 4 is like a stand alone since there is some review of the first three but all are outstanding... Read and enjoy...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Highly recommened

    She did it again a awesome book can't wait to read the rest of them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    WOW!!!

    I have never cried this much while reading a book, Marie Force is a incredible writer. She knows how to convey emotions through her writing. I also read the other books in this series Starting Over, Making Time, and Coming Home. Each book was a pleasure to read and I will be re-reading them again. All of Marie's books are amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Love this series

    I am going to start my 3rd book in this series tonight. I loved the first two books, they are the greatest. They made me stay up and continue reading til all hours of the night. It's a hard book to put down. I would recommend these books to everyone who loves to read romance/drama novels. I've already lent them to my Sister. I hope someday to see if a movie comes out based on this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    fantastic read

    A poignant beautifully written romance. Can't wait to begin the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is the first book that I have read by Marie Force and I LOVED It. I could not put it down. I love a book that makes me feel the emotions of the characters and this book did do that. I can't wait to start on the next book in the series. Marie Force you have a new fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Touching Story

    Powerful first book in the series will leave you asking for more. You will fall in love with this family and ride the emotional rollercoaster with them, Well done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Great

    Anothor great book by Marie. I have read everyone of her books and not one has disappointed me. Cannot wait for #2 in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Another great book by marie force

    Loved this book, can not seem to find the second book in the series to continue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Code Four

    Ditto on past three except with "code four" or "code quatre."<p>Jay-Hawk, Jade-Mouse, Missing-Fox, Rohan-Hyena, Shadow-Wolf, Everfal-Spider, Disturbia-Raven, Silent-Gopher, Tigress-Dove, Quest-Deer, Avalanche-Leopard, Kindle-Eagle, Midnight-Lion, Xhalth-Vole, Silver-Rabbit, Mourir-Fawn, Tomb-Gorse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Outstanding - Be sure and read!

    This is a wonderful love story and first in a series. I loved it and am so glad there is another to read in the series. Is full of romance and tragedy too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Wonderful

    I have now read the entire Treading Water series, I fell head over heals with everyone of the characters. I highly recomend reading all four books, you will not be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4