Customer Reviews for

Treason: Liberal Treachery From the Cold War to the War on Terrorism

Average Rating 3.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book to read!

I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal...
I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal elite.
I came away with learning how much we really don't know because it was hidden.
You have to read it!

posted by Papaboo on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Treason Is As Treason Does

If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of ...
If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of 9/11's'...all horrible, inaccurate and highly insulting, even to those on the right. This shrill harridan is making millions off the ignorance of the American public and I'm stunned that anyone could enjoy this hateful screed.

posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Excellent book to read!

    I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
    I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal elite.
    I came away with learning how much we really don't know because it was hidden.
    You have to read it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    An important book for all Americans

    Finally, somebody has the nerve to show those liberals that they can't just lie their way into power! I'm glad that somebody finally went outside the liberal-biased history books to do some real research on the topic of McCarthy. What's important in this book is that not only did Ann Coulter challenge the liberals to prove their points; she also made some easy-to-see comparisons to the way they operate today. They stick to a single script, one with simply a few good lines. Back then it was based on McCarthyism. With president-elect Obama, it's "that's racist", "you can't drill your way out of the problem", or, my personal favorite, "uh... uh... uh..." Without being able to back up their lies, the liberals are nothing. And by the way, to whoever said that 15 minutes of research disproved her book, the only way you could've done 15 minutes of research is on Google or Wikipedia. You seriously expect that to indisputably prove your point? Get out your library card or grumble angrily to yourself about how much you hate Ann Coulter, but don't proclaim that nobody on the Internet is capable of lying. That's asinine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    The Wrong Genre

    Ann Coulter's book is amazing. She spends a lot of time 'pointing out' things that were already known and acknowledged(there actually WERE some communist party members is state dept and entertainment, the Hiss story, etc.)Then she starts attacking liberals. She 'supports' this with footnotes. As an old professor, I just had to look into a few of Coulter's notes, and, if she were a student, she would really be in trouble.Many of the 'facts' are supported by 'notes' that might as well be on the last page of insurance policies. They DO NOT support what Coulter implies. I only spent an hour on this, but I found what freshman call 'a plethora' of 'mistakes'. If Ms.Coulter has a fact-checker I think he/she has problems with concepts like 'true'. In short, this book has more errors than a Detroit double header. If you enjoy child-like fantasy, this is the book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Treason Is As Treason Does

    If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of 9/11's'...all horrible, inaccurate and highly insulting, even to those on the right. This shrill harridan is making millions off the ignorance of the American public and I'm stunned that anyone could enjoy this hateful screed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Thanks Again, Anne

    A tremendously important text. You will not find a single ¿reputable¿ history that covers this ground with real dispassion and balance. Coulter¿s ¿Treason¿ certainly doesn¿t do it or pretend to. It slices like a scalpel through carefully nurtured and cherished myths about McCarthy, the Red Scare and the HUAC hearings. It isn¿t neutral because there is absolutely no room for neutrality when the facts are laid bare. ¿Treason¿ is admittedly shrill and repetitive on occasion but it¿s a small price to pay to get at the truth of the matter. The rancor that occasionally shines through is insignificant compared to the vitriol and viciousness of liberal pundits like Frankin and Moore. Coulter is dead-on and her references are indisputable. For the record, just saying you dispute something does not render it brilliantly superfluous (a common liberal conceit). It is vital that this frightening period of our history and its implications be examined with brutal honesty. The left and the right should come to grips with the mistakes and complicit behavior that permitted a network of foreign spies to flourish at the top levels of our government for decades. It¿s crucial that the historical fallout of Hiss¿s influence and the revelations of Venona be studied and the resulting lessons applied, reputations and social status be damned. There won¿t be any social status if it ever happens again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Read it before you rate it!!

    Who are these idiots who keep giving books one-star ratings without having even read them?! 'Treason' is an excellent read. Ann Coulter shows us taht the liberals in this country have an uncanny knack for being on the wrong side of history, whether it be by siding with Communists during the Cold War, or by siding against America during the War on Terror (Those who say we deserved to be attacked on 9-11-01). It's okay for the Libs to savagely attack and criticize America, but if anyone tries to call them on it, these drama queens scream 'McCarthyism!' (That myth is also debunked here.) Nearly a decade after the declassification of the Venona cables, American liberals continue to insist that Alger Hiss and the Rosenbergs were innocent! Yes, this book and its author have become targets of lot of rage from the al-Quaida cheering section (a.k.a. the Democratic Party, the mainstream media and the Hollywood Left.), but Coulter should be thanked, not despised, for shedding the light of truth on these people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Guess LIberals Don't Like This Book

    Highly recommend if you are open minded and ready to hear the truth. Funny comments from the liberal left who gave this book a poorly written critique.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Outstanding lesson in American History

    The name of the book is 'TREASON liberal treachery from The Cold War to The War on Terrorism'. It should be called TREASON, A history of The American Democratic Party. Ann Coulter is a lawyer by trade and as such she makes her case. The Defense rests and The Verdict is in. P.S.: 'Remember what the 'H' stands for' (A quote from the book).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Smart, quick-witted, funny, important

    Facts, (VERY well researched), laid out in order are eye-opening! It is scary to have liberals take the world relations in their arena, because they obviously look though idealistic glasses that have shown to be ones that are not 'in touch' w/the realities of global relations. This topic is serious, and to take the liberal leaders to the task of our world issues will prove to be a big mistake, again. It's hard to grasp that the liberal leaders who are supposed to be FOR America aren't. They are more concerned with winning elections at any cost, knowlingly wrong, at the expense of Americans. A true sign of a party leadership who is anti-american. They choose winning over American welfare.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    The Sultan(ess) of Spin

    ¿Treason¿ is arguably the most important book of our time. Revisionist historian and satirist Ann Coulter updates ¿Mein Kampf¿ with hilarious effect, substituting the terms ¿liberal¿ or ¿Democrat¿ for ¿Jew¿ and ¿conservative¿ or ¿Republican¿ for ¿Aryan.¿ The end result is simply astonishing. ...................................................................... . ............................................................. Anyone who has ever wondered how Adolf Hitler succeeded in bewitching the German people with rhetoric will find this work fascinating. With this level of spin-doctoring, the reader gradually comes to understand that ¿it could happen here.¿ Along with the companion volume ¿Slander,¿ Miss Coulter uses ¿Treason¿ to demonstrate that: ....... -- The Religious Right doesn¿t exist. ............. -- All liberals are traitors; all conservatives are patriots. ......... -- The only victim of McCarthyism was McCarthy himself. ........... -- If the Army had been competent in rooting out spies, the Soviet Union would NEVER have developed nuclear weapons. ............. -- Much, much more. ......... Miss Coulter cherry-picks the historical record to illustrate the art of spin-doctoring at its best. All of the usual logical fallacies are included, along with emotional but fact-less arguments, conveniently omitted facts, sweeping generalizations, baseless attributions, quotes with reversed context, opinions disguised as facts, and others that haven¿t even been named yet. ...................................................................... .................................................................... As with its intellectual ancestor, Jonathon Swift¿s ¿Gulliver¿s Travels,¿ many readers of ¿Treason¿ aren¿t aware that the book is satirical. My understanding is that this problem will be rectified in an upcoming annotated edition, where the argument fallacies will be explicitly indicated. The new edition will probably be used as a text in schools for decades, both for civics and logic classes. ...................................................................... ...................................................................... My only regret is that the new edition is not expected before the elections in November.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Lies????

    I believe that if her sources were all lies, a liberal magazine would be bashing her skull in right now. Don't you think they checked everyone of her sources before they said it was good? She does a great job of exposing the liberal party for what it is--a traitorious bunch of snakes who are unpatriotic. I used to be liberal, but after reading this book, I have seen the light. Thank you Miss Coulter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    To the point

    Ann is straight up right in this book. She tells us allhow it was/is. Our history books dont always tell us how history actually happened. Ann did a good job in this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    Excellent and Factual!

    Being a History major, Ms. Coulter has just exemplified how our History books don't always show the true picture. Many facts she states I have already known, but only from doing my own research. Bravo to truth and Ms. Coulter. Looking forward to your next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Excellent!

    Ann Coulter uses her razor wit to slice through years, decades, possibly even a century of media bias. Unlike many political pundits, she also provides plenty of verifiable references to support her conclusions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    AMAZING BOOK AND AUTHOR

    Once again Ms. Coulter points out the obviouse truth and even fully backs it with references. I'd like to see Mr. Moore do that. HIGHLY RECOMENDED

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    A factual history lesson

    Isn't it amazing what you are never taught in school and thanks God that someone will tell you the truth then back it up with facts, not quote other liberals from left wing newspapers as sources. These are the things that people that write out text books won't tell you and yet her is factual evidence to subvert the lies and half truths liberal miseducators try to pass off as gosphel. Ann Coulter did everyone a service by writing this book, A+ Job.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Great!

    Excellent! A masterpiece! Judging by the reviews here, the book is worth every penny and then some. Despite the lies, the deceptions, and the character assasination, Ann delivers home the facts which the haters and other leftists abhor. A true gem, this book belongs in the home of every American!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    its good

    I don¿t agree with MS. Coulter on all issues; however her case on McCarthy is very strong. This is a very good book. Being a reader of political books, Coulter at least backs up what she says with references in her book. I recommend it to anyone who doesn¿t read Michael Moore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Treason: Liberal Treachery From the Cold War to the War on Terrorism

    Take a close look at the negative reviews for this book. Most of the people obviously haven't even read it. All of their reviews are filled with the usual emotional language and name calling of the left, Ann Coulter gets all these reviews because her punches land accurately on the heart of liberalism. These negative reviews are the sputtering of a rudderless, fact-less ideology. If you want the similar conservative views, with fun flying stories, thumbs-in-the-eyes to arabs, and Saudis in particular, read COCKPIT CONFESSIONS OF AN AIRLINE PILOT, by Keshner. The book is an editing mess, but it is a rose from a dung-heap, brilliant.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    One of the Most Important Books Written in the Last Decade

    Most of us were taught in High School and College that McCarthy was an evil man and destroyed lives. We were also taught that FDR was a great American who loved his country and despised Totalitarian Regimes. Ann Coulter brilliantly examines the under reported fact of the Venona Project and how many Communists were employed high ranking positions. You will never view Senator Joseph McCarthy and FDR the same way after reading Treason!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6