Customer Reviews for

Treason: Liberal Treachery From the Cold War to the War on Terrorism

Average Rating 3.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book to read!

I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal...
I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal elite.
I came away with learning how much we really don't know because it was hidden.
You have to read it!

posted by Papaboo on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Treason Is As Treason Does

If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of ...
If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of 9/11's'...all horrible, inaccurate and highly insulting, even to those on the right. This shrill harridan is making millions off the ignorance of the American public and I'm stunned that anyone could enjoy this hateful screed.

posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    The Wrong Genre

    Ann Coulter's book is amazing. She spends a lot of time 'pointing out' things that were already known and acknowledged(there actually WERE some communist party members is state dept and entertainment, the Hiss story, etc.)Then she starts attacking liberals. She 'supports' this with footnotes. As an old professor, I just had to look into a few of Coulter's notes, and, if she were a student, she would really be in trouble.Many of the 'facts' are supported by 'notes' that might as well be on the last page of insurance policies. They DO NOT support what Coulter implies. I only spent an hour on this, but I found what freshman call 'a plethora' of 'mistakes'. If Ms.Coulter has a fact-checker I think he/she has problems with concepts like 'true'. In short, this book has more errors than a Detroit double header. If you enjoy child-like fantasy, this is the book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Treason Is As Treason Does

    If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of 9/11's'...all horrible, inaccurate and highly insulting, even to those on the right. This shrill harridan is making millions off the ignorance of the American public and I'm stunned that anyone could enjoy this hateful screed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Inaccuracy at its worst

    This is the literally the worst attempt at 'history' possible. Coulter wrote an unsubstantiated rant. If you read through her references and see how many gaps she filled in with pure conjecture, then it would be obvious to anyone who has ever studied history beyond first grade that this woman is blinded by her right-wing agenda. As a Ph.D. student in history with an undergraduate degree in history from Princeton and many years experience teaching U.S. history in a public high school, I am appalled that such tendentious and specious pretenders to scholarship as Coulter can earn millions writing pabulum such as this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Not good

    This book is for the lost who have itching ears. Joel is a false prophet and a scoundrel of the first order. Noone who has actually read the bible is fooled. He claims that everything is up to us. God will do what we want if we believe it hard enough! That is preposterous! Read the book of job, jonah, moses, the life of paul, john 6, ephesians 1:3-10, romans 9&10. We should have joy and peace but there is no garantee of riches or comfort on this side of glory. Paul said to count it all joy when you face various trials that is true. If you read that whole chapter for context then you would know that suffering is good. The point of that chapter written by paul is that when horrible things happen because of your faith perticularly persecution that is good. We should be happy to die an agonizing death like christ did for us. Joel is badly misrepresenting the bible. He doesn't even tell us the gospel f jesus crusifixion, death, burial, and resurection. That is the reason to be happy inspite of your life. I am redeemed by the blood of the lamb. The lesson from the bible is not that you will get what you want. The lesson is that god will get what he wants!!! The almighty sovereign god of the universe deserves our worship and awe. He owes us nothing. The gift of his son is such a beautiful mystery that we should be dumbstruck and in awe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Ann

    I can't stand her............but I'd do her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Barf

    If anyonebelievrs the lies in this piece of trash they should see a psychiatrist as they are obviously as mentally ill as the author. Treason actually was committed. By Bush and Cheney as they lied us into war, slaughtered millions, anddestroyed the economy. There's a reason most republicans are so dumb: the are mentally deficient, frightened two year olds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Holy crap

    One thing I have noticed about this "woman" iis her need to wear really short skirts and in general, appear to be a two bit cross dressing saturday night special who seems to always be wondering if her adams apple is showing. I really cannot even pretend to agree with the vile trash she spews upon the written page. Please, Ann, don't write any more books. EVER.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    I want my money back.

    I thought this would be a good read, but things are either distorted or taken out of context to prove her point. I'm not sure how other reviewers clame these to be facts or factual when I found out otherwise in 15 minutes worth of research. Seems like this woman is filled with hate and enjoys poisoning others mind with propaganda. What a shame people actually believe it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Propaganda

    I am not in any sense of the word a Republican but I read this book out of curiosity. It is filled with some of the most mean-spirited propaganda this side of Mein Kampf. With hatred brewing on each page, Coulter materializes the Republican disdain for everything and everyone that does not directly relate to their agenda. As a black American, I felt as if Coulter would like to see my people back in slavery or dead while reading.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    still lousy

    On second look: no improvement. Poorly written, shrill, dishonest. Only a mother could love it, and the Coulter family doesn't. Thought it was published for the money, but surely it was an act of purest charity. Minus two stars

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    Treason: Liberal Treachery From the Cold War to the War on Terrorism

    This book is filled with lies. Some people have said that because no liberals are shouting this out, that it is obviously all true. I, however, checked her facts. A good deal of her 'facts' are half-truths, where she only tells part of the story to make it sound very different than it is. She also makes it sound as if liberals are some sort of secret cult, out to destroy America and the civilized world. These comments are low attacks that destroy all of her credibility. I recommend that all who read this book check her facts, and not be taken for a fool.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Lies

    Check the references. She takes things out of context in order to prove her point. Even though I lean toward the liberal side of politics, I can respect others' views as long as they are backed up by truth. She obviously thinks her readers are stupid enough not to look into her references.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Don't bother

    She is just writing to get rich. I doubt even she believes her own lies.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    scholarly?

    The fact that people cite coulter and the like (liberals that demonize conservatives included) as scholarly in some way, shape or form need to really do some thinking of their own. These inflammatory rants from either right or left contribute nothing to academic debate on real political issues, regardless of the political ideology you subscribe to. The very idea that a respected pundit, such as Coulter, could use the word treason to refer to her political opponents is just appaling in any context. Rooting out political opposition subdues the American political system, not being a liberal since WWII. How ridiculous it is to think that people cant oppose the right, our nation was founded on the principle of loyal opposition. However, i'm sure Coulter could point to one of her citations to in some way shape or form prove that liberals have made up that concept as well. Political discourse is naturally geared in favor of conservatives. Democrats have to deal with the now pejorative term 'liberal' which could refer to as many Republicans as it could refer to Democrats. There are many different kinds of liberals: liberal politicians, liberal economists, people that are liberal socially....you see what im getting at here. It's a term like globalization that has multiple meanings to multiple people, and can refer to anything from abortion to free trade.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    poorly research polemic

    Ms. Coulter has written a very engaging polemic here. Unfortunately it is rarely actaully based on fact. This is an excellent example of 'if you scream it loud enough people will listen' It is a shame that the conservatives in our nation have taken such an attack stance. I am a liberal and a proud American, the two are not mutually exclusive. This is a slanted, partisan, poorly written work based on hatred and a cheap attempt to grab at a market. Do not believe a word of it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    This lady is insane.

    I read this book and LAUGHED! Her main points are: Liberals are ALWAYS wrong, they hate America, we should stop them. HA! I found about 4 true statements in this book, none having anything to do with politics. This woman needs to think twice next time she decides to write a book so ridiculous, that even my most conservative friend thinks is stupid. I wish there was a way to give zero stars, because this piece of trash was a waste of my time. Michael Moore isn't even as biased and insane as Ms. Coulter. Someone needs to give her some sort of morphine shot to calm her down, because she is embarassing herself out the wazoo with this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Conservative reviewers humiliate Ann Coulter

    . Ann Coulter has gone off the cliff, folks. Here are what some conservatives journalists and scholars have to say about this book. Ron Radosh, a major source for Ann¿s book, who is considered one of most reputable scholars who has studied the McCarthy era in great detail, is apparently appalled at the damage Coulter has done: 'I am furious and upset about her book. I am reading it - she uses my stuff, Harvey Klehr and John Haynes, Allen Weinstein etc. to distort what we actually say and to make ludicrous and historically incorrect arguments.¿ Cathy Young notes ¿As someone who shares many political views identified as conservative, I have always cringed in embarrassment whenever I saw Coulter on television purporting to speak (or rather, rant ) for 'my' side¿ if conservatives know what's good for them, they will distance themselves from this poisonous message . This isn't just about nastiness and lack of civility. Demonizing the opponent makes reasonable debate impossible, and is thus detrimental to democracy itself. Our fellow citizens whose views on political issues differ from ours are not the enemy.' David Horowitz, a well known conservative writer, knows Coulter and considers her a friend. Horowitz makes this observation: '...this charge -- that no Democrat, apparently including Jack Kennedy, can root for America -- is obviously absurd, and if conservatives do not recognize that it is absurd, nobody is going to listen to us.' Andrew Sullivan, a conservative journalist, writes this: '¿in Coulter's world, there are two types of people: conservatives and liberals. These aren¿t groups of people with competing ideas. They are the repositories of good and evil. There are no distinctions among conservatives or among liberals. To admit the complexity of political discourse would immediately require Coulter to think, explain, argue. But why bother when you can earn millions insulting?' Actually, though, it's too bad to see that even conservatives are attacking Coulter since it means she'll probably have to tone down her next book. I was looking forward to the third volume in her series in which we learn that Democrats from FDR forward have all been secret child molesters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Art thou serious?

    Al Franken aside, Coulter's work thoroughly embodies FOX news-style shock media at its most ridiculous level. Joseph McCarthy was a demagogue in the strictest sense, thus what types of conclusions can be drawn from Coulter defending his agenda of curtailing civil liberties. What type of individuals buy this book? Perhaps, largery confused, blindly patriotic, middle-class folk. The same people who forget that the original justification for war in Iraq was the breach of the UN resolution on WMD (which gained credibility from the completely fabricated story about Niger supplying uranium to Mr. Hussein).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Dangerous Rubbish with a NAZI Element

    It is not so frightening that someone would write a book so riddled with xenophobic malice as it is frightening how well it sells. Anne Coulters writing brings out and celebrates the most dangerous elements in a society: ultra nationalism, strict ideological conformity, demonization of foreiners and a general coldness and uncaringness and now condemnation of dissent as treasonous. These anti-democratic, anti-human trends are celebrated by Coulter as patriotic are the foundation of NAZISM which Coulter gives an American flare. Those who are strikingly ignorant and whose thinking is dominated by xenophobia and fear will lap coulter up like warm milk. Ignorant people are dangerous. Ignorant people being fed vitriolic propaganda are lethal. This book might be a joke, but it certainly isnt a safe one. 'Of course the people don't want war. But after all, it's the leaders of the country who determine the policy, and it's always a simple matter to drag the people along whether it's a democracy, a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism, and exposing the country to greater danger.' ¿ Herman Goering at the Nuremberg trials

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Illogical Drivel, Not Worth the Paper It's Printed On

    Sorry Ann. When you accuse over half the population, more than 100 million adults, of being criminals, then there's something wrong with your thinking. What? Were you planning to jail them all?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2