Customer Reviews for

Treason: Liberal Treachery From the Cold War to the War on Terrorism

Average Rating 3.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book to read!

I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal...
I enjoy history since I was a child so I was aware of a lot of facts that had taken place in history. Reading this book was a eye opener.
I was amazed by how much was true facts were hidden by the press, Democratic Party, and those who considered themsleves the liberal elite.
I came away with learning how much we really don't know because it was hidden.
You have to read it!

posted by Papaboo on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Treason Is As Treason Does

If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of ...
If anyone should be accused of treason, it is Ann Coulter. She attacks her own countrymen (liberals, after all, DO make up half of this nation- just look at the last election), and makes blanket accusations like 'Liberals hate America' and 'All they want is a bunch of 9/11's'...all horrible, inaccurate and highly insulting, even to those on the right. This shrill harridan is making millions off the ignorance of the American public and I'm stunned that anyone could enjoy this hateful screed.

posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    how many of you know what fascism means?

    It means: a dictatorial government, especially combined with extreme nationalism. This is what Coulter is really pushing. Conservatives have not discovered this because of how she has written this book. She doesn't really care if you believe what she has written, she wants to get everyone on the fight and take up sides. If she wanted people to believe what she says, she wouldn't have written it in such a controversial manner. What she is promoting is fascism. This is what the Nazis did and I don't really think most conservatives or liberals or moderates want that for our country. What is scary is that our country through our administration is starting to look more and more fascist. How many of you realize that the Bush family had business connections with the Nazis and had some of their holdings confiscated because of 'trading with the enemy' and how many of you knew that senior Bush had Nazis working under his administration until the public found out and raised such an uproar that he had to let them go, and how many of you knew that Arnold Schwartzeneggar's (whose movies I like) father was an active Nazi and that he is being supported by the present administration. Now, I don't know Arnold's true views, but it makes me wonder. Also, in Germany the press and media was taken over and the people got one sided views, which is happening here in the U.S. and the world. Now, I don't know about all of you, but I don't want another Nazi run government and I find that there is too many indications pointing us in that exact direction. I would suggest everyone cooling down and looking at this book more objectively and think about it with a new perspective, because our country is going down the tubes if everyone doesn't open their eyes and look at the facts. The Patriot Act has already put our civil rights in jeopardy, we are in a war because the administration lied to us and implied that there weapons of mass destruction and so far there have been none found (there may be some later, but can we believe they wouldn't be fabricated?). This isn't a party fight it is a national fight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Is This a Valuable Read?

    I don't know - just finished it. She's written some interesting Clinton bashing books in the past (but really, isn't that like shooting fish in a barrel). But this one is a real mess. And coming through this hoge-poge of mind twisting attempts at witticisms (but I might just be getting old and have a mind beginning to slip) and references to obscure sources of universal wisdom is this very dangerous theme that what this country needs to return to its glory days is the establishment of a good Christian theocracy. That what made this country great is not the classical liberal studies of the Founding Fathers, but the infrequent and stylistic references to God that they made in their writings. The fundamental rights of man are only understandable if we accept the illogical and contradictory existence of a God. And a God in the Christian sense. Isn't this kind of thinking what has led to the mess that human history often is? 'My religion is better than your religion.' 'My God is the true God.' 'I am the chosen - you are the damned - because my God said so.' Coulter implies that because Christianity is pragmatically benevolent (at least right now) that it is 'the good.' The irrational illogical basis of it is not a vulnerability. The true God will keep us virtuous. This is why Ayn Rand thought these conservatives were far more dangerous to this country than the raving liberals. From an intellectually disciplined perspective, many of the liberal positions are truer to the principals of the Founding Fathers than are the conservative's. This is kind of the position this book seems to be laying out - if you don't believe in the government making moral decisions for you, then you're nothing more than a weak kneed supporter of barbarism and terrorists bent on the destruction of thousands of years of human civilization. You're either with us or against us. Isn't this type of thinking the real enemy?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Is this helpful to the conservative cause?

    Does the style of this book help the conservative cause that Coulter advocates? Or is she a closet liberal setting out to discredit conservatism in the eyes of ordinary people? I could see some of what she was saying, but I did rather think she went over the top!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    About what you'd expect...

    Mrs Coulter's book is interesting and informative, however her opinion and choice of specific facts is exactly what you would expect from someone who is obviously so heavily biased. It would indeed be such a pleasure to read a more balanced accounting of our recent history. As a Moderate, even I can easily point out a great number of political blunders, illegal schemes and actions, to the outright slaughter of innocents that the Right wing is responsible for. The important thing to remember when reading such a book is your own personal objectivity which should not be compromised by the narrowminded beliefs of one side or the other. Such dogmatic beliefs are normally more suited to the realms of religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1