BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Treason at Lisson Grove (Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Series #26)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great Victorian espionage thriller

    In London, Special Branch officers Pitt and Gower chase after West who has information they need to thwart a treasonous plot with international involvement against the government. West dodges the two operatives until Wrexham slices his throat. Pitt and Gower chase after Wrexham while West bleeds to death.

    As Pitt pursues Wrexham from Britain to across the Channel to St. Malo, France, his supervisor Victor Narraway is accused of embezzling government funds. A desperate Narraway asks Pitt's wife, Charlotte, who has helped her husband on cases before (see Buckingham Palace Gardens), to assist him. Since his accuser relaxes in Dublin, Charlotte poses as Narraway's sister who travels with him to Ireland to investigate the individual who has a highly regarded reputation. Neither Narraway nor either Pitt realizes someone diabolical is the connection in England, Ireland and the continent.

    This is a great Victorian espionage thriller that once again effortlessly blends history inside an action-packed suspense. The story line is fast-paced yet contains a strong late nineteenth century feel to the plot. However, the tale belongs to the beleaguered trio who struggle to thwart a clever villain from insuring the sun sets on the British Empire.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly recommened, great reading!

    I have read all the Thomas Pitt series and I have enjoyed everyone of them, but this one was exceptional..A very easy read nad plot twists.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A good cup of tea and Charlotte and Thomas Pitt...bliss.

    Thank you Anne Perry for another page turning adventure. If you enjoy historical mysteries full of interesting characters and suspense, then you will enjoy Ms. Perry's Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series; the 20+ books in the series do not need to be read in order. Treason at Lisson Grove takes Thomas to France and Charlotte and Narraway to Ireland in an attempt by Terrorists to infiltrate Special Branch and upsurge Great Britain. It's amazing that so much about each charater's adventure and story can be covered in 300 pages. I esp. enjoyed learning more about the private Victor Narraway's past and his admiration of Charlotte. As always, the Pitt's home life was charming and lively, as is Great Aunt Vespasia. This book was a long time coming, but well worth the wait. I have read and enjoyed all of the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt books, as well as the Hestor and William Monk series, the WWI series about the Reavley Family and the annual Christmas books...Ms. Perry does not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Perry is at the top of her form!

    We're treated to a new Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novel in this historical thriller. Lisson Grove is the location of Pitt's organization, always called Special Branch. In the bang-up beginning, Pitt and Gower, another agent, pursue a man they witnessed standing over a newly dead body. The chase takes them across the channel to St. Malo in France. There, a plot seems to be gathering head, something boding of violence and a fundamental change that, once done, may not be able to be undone.
    Pitt is set adrift, cut off from his employer and his family, not knowing who he can trust.
    Back home, Victor Narraway, Pitt's superior is floundering, running into charges and accusations that he can't fight. When he informs Charlotte that Pitt has been suddenly called overseas, and when she realizes what an awful situation Narraway is in, she feels she must help him-partly for his sake, but also because Pitt's job depends on Narraway's continued employment. The roots of the present-day plot seem intertwined with an old episode that took place during a thwarted Irish uprising. So Narraway and Charlotte, posing as half-siblings, take off for Dublin where feelings still run deep against the English and Narraway in particular. Now it's Charlotte who doesn't know who she can trust.
    To complicate things even more, Charlotte's housekeeper, whom the family doesn't care for anyway, quits suddenly and Charlotte must provide for someone to watch the children, Jemima and Daniel. A charming new character, Minnie Maude, is introduced and saves the domestic day.
    Narraway's problems-it becomes evident-are becoming looming problems for Pitt as well. Disaster piles atop disaster and the targets shift and remain unclear as Charlotte and Pitt separately, try to save their country from a treacherous, treasonous plot. Perry is still at the top of her form.
    Reviewed by Kaye George, Author of "Choke", for Suspense Magazine

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Excellent!

    My favorite characters of Anne Perry's. Got this one on audio so I could listen while I crochet. I was nOt sure how I would feel about it since we all seem to put our own voices to characters when we read, but I must say that Michael Page does an excellent job and has a marvelous voice to listen too! Will be going audio again........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I had stopped reading Anne Perry, bored to distraction by all th

    I had stopped reading Anne Perry, bored to distraction by all the "what-ifs" as the characters analyzed a situation ad nauseum. Plots, which in earlier Monk and Pitt books had at least kept my interest, became less satisfying in later volumes. I stopped reading the World War I books after the first one. So, it was with some misgiving that I picked this one up, after reading some of the reviews; I am so glad I did! It honestly is the best one of hers I have read, and I have read many (early to mid years). The action is compelling; I turned off a favorite show to keep reading. The characters develop in perhaps surprising yet human ways, but always remain interesting. From a chase through London, across the English Channel to France, and (best of all) in Ireland, with Charlotte and Narraway, the action just takes over (oh, and the emotions do pretty well, too:) Best of all--there are many fewer "what-ifs"! I was far from annoyed, I was entranced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Recommended

    Always enjoy Anne's books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    A long awaited continuation of the Thomas and Charlotte Pit series. You have got to get it.

    This book is for anyone who enjoys mystery mixed with history. Excellent characters and wonderful descriptions of the era. I have read the entire series and this one was hard to put down. Some very interesting twists to the story which really keep you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3