Customer Reviews for

Treasure Island (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 594 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

For adventure lovers

This is one of my favorite adventure stories, for anybody who enjoys action, adventure, and thrill, they should definitely buy this book. This book was so excellent I had to pass it on to somebody else so they could enjoy it just as well. I highly recommend it!

posted by Cassandraa22 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy!!!!!!!!!!

It is the most boring book i have ever read!

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For adventure lovers

    This is one of my favorite adventure stories, for anybody who enjoys action, adventure, and thrill, they should definitely buy this book. This book was so excellent I had to pass it on to somebody else so they could enjoy it just as well.
    I highly recommend it!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AN, ALL TIME, CLASSIC

    Jim, the protagonist, is just a boy, that works at the Admiral Benbox Inn, but he can see that Billy Bones is a nervous man, always alert and watching for stangers arriving at the inn. And he has the right to be nervous, because he possesses a map drawn by Capitan Flint, the most feared pirate to ever roam the high seas. <BR/>Well, Flint died, but there's plenty of men who served with Capitan Flint still alive who feel they deserve a fair share of the treasure. The map, though, ends up with Jim Hawkins. (it's a near thing, read the book to find out how that happens). Jim confides in the local doctor and squire, who work together to acquire a ship, a crew, and provisions to sail for Treasure Island. There is a weak link though, because although Squire Trelawney is well-intentioned, he has a big mouth. By the time the Hispaniola is ready for sea, she is boarded by the old murderous mob who sailed with Flint! <BR/>There's a scene in the book where Jim, hiding in a barrel on deck, discovers that mutiny is planned. The numbers suggest that the pirates are going to take over the ship and make this journey their own, taking all the treasure for themselves. There are nineteen mutineers and seven honest men, including Jim, aboard the ship. <BR/>And now....this book will have you pining to see what happens next. This is a fantastic story of double-crossing and deceit, bravery and cowardice. I don't know how things would have turned out if Jim hadn't been involved. For it is he who finds Ben Gunn, marooned on the island, half-mad with isolation. And it is Jim who single-handedly steals the Hispaniola from under the very noses of the pirates and sails her round the island to a secret beaching place. <BR/>And do you know what happens to Long John Silver, the greatest double-crosser of them all? A true classic my dad read to me when I was young.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Dj

    Very awesome I love Robert Lious Stevenston

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    This Classic Literature novel by Robert Louis Stevenson is reall

    This Classic Literature novel by Robert Louis Stevenson is really good book has shown the 
    adventure and the action. Stevenson created delightful story of an amazing treasure hunt. As
    this novel takes place way back into the eighteenth century, the adventure started from a young 
    boy named Jim Hawkins having a mysterious treasure map from the most feared pirate to ever
    roam the seas. On this voyage, the author draws attention with rumors of betrayal among
    the crew. Jim discovers that mutiny is planned and is the hero of the pirate tale.
    I will recommend to read this book especially  the people who like action, the pirate adventure,
    and sensation. This has enough action for the reader to keep the interest of what happens to
    Long John Silver, the greatest double-crosser of the pirates in the ship &quot;Hispaniola&quot;. I read this
    book back in middle school and got really fascinated. Now that I read it again, I love this classic
    even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    A good story

    Never fails to get a child interested in reading. My grandson is really enjoy this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Good

    Pretty good so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    By anonymous June 21 2014

    I have not read anything like this ever in my life #PureAwesomeness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Join Dragonkit's army

    The book is called history without the boring bits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Allana

    Hey leonidas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Allana

    Sets up for the party

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Ivie

    Str.ips down to my b.ra and pant.ies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Leo

    Hi my love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Treasure Island

    I think this book is a wonderful and adventrous book that involves piracy and mutiny. It portrays an antagonist and also depicts a protagonist. If you want to read a classic, this is for you. But if you only like modern books, this may seem quite boring and comprises of some difficult language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    KANSAS JAYHAWKS

    Larry Brown"There is no better place to coach, there is no better place to go to school, there is no better place to play, then Kansas.ROCK CHALK JAYHAWK" #jayhawkforlife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    To below

    I know right T.T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Rattlehead

    *investigates*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Songwood

    Watched

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Scalestar

    Pads out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Tiger

    Picks up song and finny by their scruffs and carry them to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Finny

    I wtched broken and striking talking in the elite public camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14