BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Treasure Map of Boys: Noel, Jackson, Finn, Hutch--and me, Ruby Oliver

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    fun read

    so this is definitely a fun book to read. i was always looking forward to reading it and never felt like i had to force myself to read it. i love all the drama that goes on with her boyfriend(s) and her so-called friends. and her parents are pretty hilarious. i like the setting, which is washington and she lives in a boat house, which is pretty cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Ruby "Roo" Oliver is trying to be good. Since the beginning of the school year she has had a thing for Noel, but her promise not to go after any guy one of her friends is interested in is complicating matters. Nora told Roo she likes Noel and that makes him off-limits.

    Although her focus is on Noel, the other guys in her life are sending strange message as well. Jackson is back to his old self, flirting with Roo. Nora's college-age brother, Gideon, somehow seems interested in Roo, and Finn is volunteering to help with the bake sale she is running.

    Since Roo's adventures in THE BOY BOOK, she has lost her job at the zoo and is now selling Birkenstocks at a local shoe store. She is still in therapy with Dr. Z, hoping to learn the cause of her panic attacks. As far as family issues, Roo makes a joke about Dr. Z recommending that she should have a dog, more specifically a Great Dane, and her parents take the news seriously when they bring home the giant but lovable Polka-dot.

    With all this going on, it's easy to understand Roo's worry that her life will never make sense.

    Colorful characters and crazy capers combined with believable high school stress and pressure make E. Lockhart's series a popular read. Roo's adventures offer plenty of laughs as well as a sympathetic voice for the ups and downs of the teen experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ruby needs some lovin'! But from who?

    Getting smothered with kind words and confusing signals, Ruby Oliver doesn't know what to think of these boys. One's her ex-boyfriend, one's her secret crush, another is her best friend's brother, and the other is a sweet and gentle soccer player. It should be entertaining to watch as different guys try to catch her attention and own her heart, but for Ruby, it just gives her panic attacks and ex-best friends. I guess that's what you get for being yourself! Caught in the middle of love triangles and exploding science projects, Ruby has had enough. So her therapist tells her to make a treasure map of the relationships that you would like to have. There starts the other half of Ruby's journey through Junior year in high school.

    The Treasure Map of Boys is a book that won't get out. of. my. head. It's . unforgettable! Ruby's story is one that has happened many times in real life, I'm sure, but is the first to be put down on paper. That's one of the reasons it's so unique. Author E. Lockhart's writing isn't the most original but it still has it's charm.

    Most of the characters were enjoyable to the highest level and I liked reading how Ruby tried to choose between them: which ones she wants as friends and which ones she wants to be more than friends with. It's all realistic but at the same time, a little predictable.

    I felt bad that Ruby had so many so-called friends that stood by her, but were never actually true friends. I found them selfish and . just plain mean! I didn't like them at all. But there were a few things that bothered me about Ruby herself. She jumps to unproven conclusions and she never exactly finds out the truth to her thoughts. Other than Ruby being a little feministic, I enjoyed the book enough to recommend it.

    Release date: July 2009

    Contains:

    *inappropriate touching and talk of nudity
    *sexual references
    *Christians portrayed as 'annoying'
    *brief strong language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Never A Dull Moment (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    The Treasure Map of Boys
    By E. Lockhart
    Pub. Date: July 2009
    4 out of 5 stars
    PG-13 - Profanity and Inappropriate Sexual Behavior
    Recommended

    Boys complicate things. but Ruby is so sick of being alone.

    Ruby Oliver's reputation has been run into the ground, straggled, and buried several times in the past year. All because of boys. Well. not boys exactly. More like Ruby's relationship with boys. She has been in the state of no boyfriend for a successful 37 weeks hoping it will help cool down the disputes. But now with school starting again, everything she has been working for begins to backfire. Noel is writing her poetry, Jackson is giving frogs, Gideon is helping her cook, and Finn is making her brownies. As her mental health deteriorates and panic attacks occur far more frequently, she is faced with tough choices. Either learn from her mistakes and move on, or fall back into her old mishaps. This time she might not make it out of her slump.

    The Treasure Map of Boys never had a dull moment. The crazy situations accurately captured the instability of teens and the awkwardness that ensues because of them. Add the adults portrayed as dim, far-off, and not understanding and real chaos proceeds.

    Ruby really needed a hug. It was mind blowing how much guilt and unsureness she could bottle up inside. She made mistakes and it torments her with no remorse. Sadly, her "friends" don't help her plight either. The added notes found in Ruby's cubby hole helped shed some light on the minor character's feelings and thoughts without switching the story's narrator. I found this was majorly beneficial in the book for understanding the characters and their reasoning.

    The footnotes were interesting and funny, but cluttered the chapters. The narration, inner thoughts, cubby hole notes, emails, and the like were already present and making the story choppy. It got confusing going between them and the footnotes. If would have been easier to follow along if the footnotes were added in parenthesis or just nixed all together.

    I will not be recommending this book to my younger sisters though. If this book is going to be read I suggest it be read by older teens, 14 and up. Why? Because the craziness of the school's students was overdone. By that I mean, not all teens are cussing or making out in school. Not all teens are inappropriately touching each other. Not all teens are careless followers. Not all teens are narcissistic and unforgiving. There are such teens, but it is a much smaller amount then represented in this book. Besides. it's wrong to do such things.

    If another book in the Ruby Oliver series is released, I will be checking it out.

    Date Reviewed: May 31st, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1