Customer Reviews for

Treasure Island

Average Rating 3.5
( 502 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your ...
Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your imagination, I highly recommend this.

posted by 7589831 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore

The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is. I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Typos galore

    The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is.

    I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Classic reading

    Just reading a few classic's that I should have read at a younger age! Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Bacon

    Double negatives confuse me.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Aaron

    Yawmed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    C.L.T. Please answer this puestion?

    From the revews i read so far this book sounds more like a sad sob story than a adventure book. So witch is it? I will check whenever i can (most likely every day) so please anser this. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Ploop

    The bookz porbalie good but i cant get it up to read the sample!!!!!!!!!!!! Sooooooooooo bumbed
    Iceglare

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Ok

    It is good but a little boring it s phffcf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Decent Book

    The book wasnt as interesting as the hunger games, but it wasnt that bad. It is ok and is a pretty high reading level so it can be used for projects. Iliked it(not loved) and it was a good book. Makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Help! Some Some one please tell me if this book is worth the money.

    I read some comments, and i'm torn between buying it or not. Should i read the sample first? Or just buy the book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Treasure island

    Is this the one from scholastic classics with a boy holding a treasure map?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Read it for school

    Ok, usually i just love reading books! Almost any book could be put down in front of me and i would read it. But when my teacher put this in front of me, oh gosh i really could not pick it up again after the like first chapter! And ussually a book this big would take me like a day if i actually liked it, but this? Ugg... actually i didnt even read the whole thing yet. Its taking me forever and if i want a good grade then i better hurry up. It has a good plot but sometimes i cant even figure out what their talking about! Its just a bunch of blabbing. Sooo boring at some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Fair

    It was a little confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    A decent book for people who like slower and more desriptive books

    Interesting treasure hunting story with a little too much description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    mrocks

    it was pretty good a bit confusing though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Good Classic

    I recently became interested in pirates, so I went so some "source material." This read was a lot of fun and gave me background on many pirate terms and tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Treasure Island

    Jim Hawkins, a young boy that helps to run an inn finds himself stumbling into an adventure after another. After the death of an old pirate that lived in the inn, he finds a treasure map in the dead pirate's chest that more than he thought are after. He sails with his adult friends to find this treasure aboard the great Hispaniola. When a dreadful plot of treachery and mutiny is exposed, Jim begins to see how dangerous this sea adventure really is. Once upon the island, Jim and his friends find it harder than ever to keep grasp of life...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    The Treasure

    This story is about a bunch of pirates led by long Long John Silver who uses a family to an island. On the island is the treasure but a guy named Ben Gunn has already got to it. He has been there for three years. Jim, the boy on this trip over here's a converstion of mutiny so he runs and tells everybody. Will they ever survive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4