Customer Reviews for

Treasure Island

Average Rating 3.5
( 525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your ...
Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your imagination, I highly recommend this.

posted by 7589831 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore

The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is. I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Typos galore

    The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is.

    I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Classic reading

    Just reading a few classic's that I should have read at a younger age! Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Bacon

    Double negatives confuse me.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Aaron

    Yawmed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    C.L.T. Please answer this puestion?

    From the revews i read so far this book sounds more like a sad sob story than a adventure book. So witch is it? I will check whenever i can (most likely every day) so please anser this. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Ploop

    The bookz porbalie good but i cant get it up to read the sample!!!!!!!!!!!! Sooooooooooo bumbed
    Iceglare

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Ok

    It is good but a little boring it s phffcf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Decent Book

    The book wasnt as interesting as the hunger games, but it wasnt that bad. It is ok and is a pretty high reading level so it can be used for projects. Iliked it(not loved) and it was a good book. Makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Help! Some Some one please tell me if this book is worth the money.

    I read some comments, and i'm torn between buying it or not. Should i read the sample first? Or just buy the book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Treasure island

    Is this the one from scholastic classics with a boy holding a treasure map?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Read it for school

    Ok, usually i just love reading books! Almost any book could be put down in front of me and i would read it. But when my teacher put this in front of me, oh gosh i really could not pick it up again after the like first chapter! And ussually a book this big would take me like a day if i actually liked it, but this? Ugg... actually i didnt even read the whole thing yet. Its taking me forever and if i want a good grade then i better hurry up. It has a good plot but sometimes i cant even figure out what their talking about! Its just a bunch of blabbing. Sooo boring at some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Fair

    It was a little confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    A decent book for people who like slower and more desriptive books

    Interesting treasure hunting story with a little too much description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    mrocks

    it was pretty good a bit confusing though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    O.K Book

    Treasure Island Maddie Nielsen Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson is set in the 1700's. It starts in "Black Hill Cove", England at the Admiral Benbow Inn with a "old seadog" ("retired" pirate). The man stays a while. Then he gives Jim (narrator) a "job" to look out for a seafaring man with one leg. Then Black Dog, one of his old ship mates, comes along and they dual. Then a blind man comes and kills the first man (Mr. Billy Bones). Jim and his mother then find a map of treasure in the man's trunk. Jim brings it to the magistrate/doctor of the town (at the time the doctor is dining with the squire). They get ready to sail for the treasure. Also coming is a seafaring man with one leg because he knew the way. This man's name was Long John Silver. He had been a member of the crew Billy Bones was on . Once reaching the island where the treasure was located, Mr. Silver and other men who were part of the old crew decided to mutiny. They took over the ship. Jim comes aboard the ship and becomes part of it's new crew, with the doctor. They find the treasure and sail back to England. Treasure Island has a lot of positives and negatives. In my opinion the book had to much fighting, and killing. A positive about the plot of the book is that they find the gold. Another negative about Treasure Island is that the book jumped around a lot. In other words, I didn't understand half the things happening until half way through the book. A second positive is that there was a very appropriate setting, for a hunt for treasure. One last negative is I didn't know many of of the words used by the author. Also, I liked many characters, such as Jim. I suspect this book is just one example of Robert Louis Stevenson work. Robert Stevenson's writing style is a very good example of the writing of his time. He has his characters speak in proper English. His point of view for this story happens to first person, when a character tells the story. However, not being from the nineteenth century, I found the vocabulary he used a little complicated. This is Robert Louis Stevenson's writing style. I highly recommend Treasure Island. However, I wouldn't recommend it to ages 12 and under. I found this book complicated and may be inappropriate to children under 12. Similar books include The Mysterious Island, and Robinson Crusoe. I enjoyed reading this novel and I hope you will, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Good Classic

    I recently became interested in pirates, so I went so some "source material." This read was a lot of fun and gave me background on many pirate terms and tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Treasure Island

    Treasure Island was a book with a lot of potential of which somewhat disappointed me. The book did not build a vivid enough of a story to make it action packed, lots happened but it was all to blurry and un dignified. I feel that the story could have been a lot better than it was, but under the circumstance I will say that it was an relatively decent book. Treasure Island is set in two separate locations in the mid 18th century. The book opens at the 'Admiral Benbow,' a small seaside inn situated in Black Cove. It is at the inn where Jim, at the request of Dr. Livesey and Squire Trelawney, records their journey to Treasure Island. Most of the novel, however, takes place on Treasure Island and the great sea that surrounds it. The island is a huge stretch of land, inhabited mostly by wild animals and birds. Most of the island is covered with gray colored woods, filled with tall pine trees, hills, and stones spires. The tallest hill, about 300 to 400 feet tall, has a strange blunt top and is called the spyglass. The Protagonist of the story is young Jim Hawkins. He comes across as a sincere, adventurous sort. He is brave and can get out of tough situations due to his mental agility. His first person account of the happenings endears him to the readers. Jim Hawkins¿ antagonists are his childhood anxieties and his unpredictable behavior. He has many other antagonists in his life like Black Dog, Old Man Pew, Long John Silver, Israel Hands etc. The climax of the story occurs when Jim Hawkins accidentallywalks into the enemy camp and gets captured. It is for the first time, after the war was waged between Captain Smollet and Long John Silver, that a man from the opposite camp is captured. Jim¿s capture also results in the downfall of Silver when his men lose their trust in him. It is with Long John Silver that Jim travels for the rest of the adventure. The outcome of the story is the victory of good over evil. Saving the Treasure from the hands of the pirates by the men of law and their safe return also records Jim¿s journey from an immature young lad to a responsible youth. Treasure Island is an exciting adventure story, filled with morals that need to be incubated in a growing child. The author narrates these through the protagonist, Jim Hawkins, who is an immature, naturally curious and adventurous young lad. The continuing theme of adventure throughout the story is interspersed with fear, sorrow, surprise, hope and nostalgia all the essential elements of life. Jim is an observer of human nature, he perceives and learns from the mature convictions and plans of the people whom he is traveling with. The story in a way is one of dream fulfillment that reflects the enthusiastic and adventurous nature possessed by young lads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Low Seas Adventure

    Pirates,ships,gold,maps,island. good,right? WRONG! It's normal. normal pirates,normal ships,normal gold,normal maps, normal island! No inventive twists! Good characters; ok plot. You might want to read it just b/c it's a classic, but other seafaring books are better.try it;prove me wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    If you like pirate books you'll like this one

    Most of the time the charcters were on boats but sometimes they would land on islands for food.One of the main charcters was Long John Silver. I thought he was the best.If you want a book you should get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    confusing

    i thought it was very good, had me guessing the whole time. Although it was some what hard for an 8th grader....good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4