Customer Reviews for

Treasure Island

Average Rating 3.5
( 526 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your ...
Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your imagination, I highly recommend this.

posted by 7589831 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore

The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is. I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Amazing!!

    Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your imagination, I highly recommend this.

    48 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Yeah, it's hard to read.

    I wish people would stop giving books bad reviews for the sole reason that they are hard to read. I mean, yeah it'll be hard to understand. This was back when average intelligence, or at least vocabulary, was way higher than it is now. The fact is this is a great book, that is why they call it a classic. I guess we've been so dumbed down that we resent anything that forces us to think a little harder than normal.

    38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    great book, very worth it

    i just got my nook and was browsing when i found this. i have read it before, and i loved it. if you want to read something good, here you go. its a wonderful classic.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    must read

    My brother got this book on his kindle and I am soooo glad to get it for free on my nook color. I have to say,it is a must read. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    So far.....this book is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't stop reading it.

    I am on chapter 22 right now and so far, i love it! A lot of peeps die in this book in case you didn't read it yet. It's all about pirates and treasure and killing people(peeps are people!). ANYWAYS............I love this book. And I think you should read a book called The Call Of The Wild by Jack London. That is also one of my favorite books.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    AWESOMEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    This book was amazing. It is a must read for book fanatics. There are a few errors/spelling mistakes but it doesn't make the book less enjoyable. This is the best book i have read so far. Got to love the classics. If you are looking for a book filled with pirates and exciting adventures than this is the book to read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I love this book

    I am 9yrs. Old I loved the Movie and the Book Get this book.
    I hope I was helpfull

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Kaya Kayla Cool

    Such a good book,fun and adventerest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love

    I mean the book is okay but the movie is better. But who cares about the plot the adventur is better. It is more awe to it but anyway love the book ,but the movie is better it is how I rool.

    [Look if u single caal back]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wow.

    I was looking for a book one summer, so my Dad took me to the library. I did not know what to read so he said let's look at the 'classics'. We asked the woman at the desk what some classics were and she said Treasure Island. We ll we found the book and a few others. Ipicked it up in the car on theway home and i was hooked. It starts with a young Jim Hawkins at his father's motel. One day a one-legged pirate came in and he was in awe. You have to read young Jim's story, you will be in awe. 5 stars at LEAST? Great book. I would recomend to anybody with craving for thrill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Amanda's Application

    History: I grew up a young Poler ((a Poler is a person from the planet Plater)). As I grew up I became a shifter, but as years went by I mainly became a werewolf and honored my pack as alpha. RP history: 2 years Thanks! And I really hope I'm eligible! ~Amanda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Selina's application

    NAME: Selina Mercades Kirov•••• BACKGROUND: Selina was abandoned when she was little because she was too different compared to her other sister and brother. She lived on her own for a year, and was taken in by an older lady. (XD) •••• SPECIES: Time Lady•••• PARENTS: Unknown•••• YEARS OF ROLEPLAYING: 1 and a half years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    &Rho

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Hfjnxjdjcjdjfk

    Jfjdhfhfhdhfhdhhdhwsskfhdhdhdhhhhdjfdddhxhdhdbdbdhdhdhhdhdhdddfhd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Loved it

    I'm part Potruges which are desendence of pirates, so I gotta love a good classic book about treasure, rum, pirates, and sailing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book is truly a classic!! The format is easy to read, you can't adjust the text size but it's okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great Read.

    Missed the pleasure as a child. Im so glad to have read it now. What a delightful adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Ten Q's for the Roleplayers...

    If you manage to answer at leadt five of these questions correctly, you are an Original, and are epic. If you answer with less than half correct, then l am afraid you are a cursed noob. :D Goooood luck. <p> Quiz #2. <br> 1. What does the first Roleplay's inistals spell out as? <p> 2. What two individuals are solely resposible for the creation of the roleplay 'Scarlet Letter'? <p> 3. Who is the recent creator of the Roleplay 'Vale of Tears'? <p> 4. Regarded as 'The Great Lag,' this time period passed in which many a roleplayer passed from this nook chatting world. How many, give or take ten, had disappeared during that time? <p> 5. How many roleplayers -- approximately-- have gone through this vast Roleplay world, including those still here? <p> 6. At what book are the biographies of the most influential roleplayers held at? <p> 7. What type of clan was the first that was implimented in the roleplay world? <p> 8. At what time of the year are roleplayers most active? <p> 9. To whome does the tallest tree in Scarlet Letter belong to? <p> 10. What roleplayer, in your personal opinion, is the best roleplayer in the nook chatting world?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Whatever

    If this isnt a chatroom then why are you chatting its not a chat rooom its a review page. This book is a great book for kids of all ages and they will be going on an adventure to........TREASURE ISLAND. ;D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    A beauty

    This book was the exact adventure book i was looking for. A true and utter classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11