BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Treasuring Emma (Middlefield Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    If you like Amish fiction this is a good read!

    Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller was a quick read. This book is about the King family. Two Amish sisters who have been dealt a lot of tough things in their life, all at once. They lost their parents and are both struggling financially. Clara is married with children and she has a bad attitude about their situation. Emma is tenderhearted and gives of herself to others. She lives with their grandmother. Emma had a friend that she fell in love with, Adam. He left the Amish for the English world, and broke her heart. The story focuses on love, faith, and family.

    It was a sweet story and Kathleen Fuller is good at making you feel like you can actually see the story taking place. I could easily picture Middlefield Ohio, the setting for the story.

    I have read lots of books about the Amish and this was not my favorite. I would have liked to have had more detail about the Amish. The antagonist was dark and frightening. Fuller definitely paints a picture of what sin can do to a person, but also shows how God is always knocking on the door and all we have to do is answer. He will never leave us and we must trust in Him, have faith in Him.

    I did enjoy the book, but I felt like it ended abruptly. I would have liked to have known what happened next. I kept thinking the author would go into more detail and explain things, but she never fully did that. All in all I give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good, not typical ending

    4/5


    As I have mentioned in previous reviews, I am quite familiar with the Amish fiction genre, but I have never had the privilege of reading a novel by Kathleen Fuller. I have been missing out, as I thoroughly enjoyed Kathleen's unique take on the Amish community in Treasuring Emma. Unlike offerings from Beverly Lewis (who I do love to read for different reasons), Kathleen's novel was not bogged down by constant descriptions of Amish jargon and lifestyle. In fact, at times I forgot I was reading a story about an Amish woman as I was drawn into the actual plot instead of being force-fed Pennsylvania-Dutch vocabulary.


    Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller is book #1 in the Middlefield Family Series. It revolves around the lives of the King family, specifically Emma and her sister Clara. Emma is an unmarried Amish woman, still heartbroken over her childhood love who left their community for the English world. Clara, is married and disillusioned with her loving but unemployed husband, stewing in the bitterness of depending on their community for money. Both sisters have to face what it means to depend on God and to trust in his provision as they deal with the death of their parents, the return of old flames, and past family tensions. When an evil relative brings trouble to the community, Emma and Clara realize that God is truly the only one who can bring them happiness and hold their world together.


    It is clear that Kathleen Fuller writes about a less conservative Amish community in this novel. In response, the novel has a more "real world" feel to it. The story touches on jealousy, greed, sex, lust, anger, evil, depression, financial worries and more. The characters struggle with emotions and feelings that are typical of all humans, and I appreciate that the author does not gloss over these difficulties with pat answers and platitudes. Even more encouraging was the fact that Emma is overweight and not particularly beautiful. It is very rare to see this description for a main character of a novel, and I commend the author for writing Emma with honesty and spiritual beauty, allowing her to find happiness in the end.

    I would highly recommend picking up Treasuring Emma for your own library, especially if you appreciate Amish fiction. I look forward to completing the Middlefield Family Series and learning more about characters who were left hanging at the end of this novel.

    Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher via Book Sneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Treasured

    Another amazing story by Kathleen Fuller, Treasuring Emma. Treasuring Emma will catch your attention from the first page, and you won't want to put the book down until you find out what happens. I was gripped and read, devoured this novel in one glorious sitting. This is the story of Emma & Clara. They lose their mother to cancer. While Clara's husband, Peter, wants Emma and her grandmother to move in with them, this is when you see that the relationship between Emma and Clara is not what it should be. Unfortunately Adam, Emma's love, has left the Amish community and turned his back on his faith and Emma. Leaving Emma was the one thing she could not have expected but forgiving him and loving him again she was able to do. This is the story of finding, forgiving and reawakening. Kathleen Fuller never disappoints and she hit it on the mark with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    good book but disappointing ending

    Emma has put everyone else first in her life. Now at nearly 25, has she missed her chance at marriage?

    Emma was Adam's first love but circumstances made them both choose different paths in life. Emma's heart breaks all over again when Adam returns to the Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio, years later.

    For the past ten years, Emma has been a care-giver. First for her mother who unsuccessfully battled breast cancer, and now for her grandmother who gets more frail with each passing year. Emma has always put the needs of others above her own. With more time on her hands, she determines to focus on herself and her dream of opening a rescue shelter for stray animals in the community.

    With Adam's return come feelings Emma's long buried. They're older and life hasn't turned out the way they thought it would. Adam's feelings for Emma are stronger than ever, but will he be able to convince her to put the past aside and give their love a chance?





    I started out really enjoying this book. It is not just a typical Amish Romance type story, there is also a mystery involved. I got involved in the story and the character development and enjoyed the "bad guy" element and the mystery of what he was going to accomplish. But, I have to say that I was greatly disappointed in the ending of this book. The author put so much time and effort in building such a great story and wonderful characters and then at the end simply cut off the story. We are told at the beginning of the book how much Emma loves animals and would like to open an animal shelter, but that part of the story is never developed. We assume Emma and Adam have a happy ending along with her sister and her husband. We are told but not shown Adam's coming back to the Lord. We never find out what was truly troubling Carol and whether or not she found peace. We are introduced to a brand new character whose fate is left hanging. The "bad guy" does not come to justice but instead seems to go on his merry way. One of the things I love about reading is getting to the end of the book and having all of the loose ends tied up and the characters getting to live ,"Happily Ever After." I found this to be very disappointing in this book which is too bad because it had wonderful elements of being a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Book from Kathleen Fuller!

    I really enjoy Kathleen Fuller's books.


    She writes amazing amish stories and develops her characters in ways that make you want to keep reading.


    I was excited to read and review this book.


    "Emma has put everyone else first in her life. Now at nearly 25, has she missed her chance at marriage?



    Emma was Adam's first love but circumstances made them both choose different paths in life. Emma's heart breaks all over again when Adam returns to the Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio, years later.



    For the past ten years, Emma has been a care-giver. First for her mother who unsuccessfully battled breast cancer, and now for her grandmother who gets more frail with each passing year. Emma has always put the needs of others above her own. With more time on her hands, she determines to focus on herself and her dream of opening a rescue shelter for stray animals in the community.



    With Adam's return come feelings Emma's long buried. They're older and life hasn't turned out the way they thought it would. Adam's feelings for Emma are stronger than ever, but will he be able to convince her to put the past aside and give their love a chance?"


    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a story of love, forgiveness, faithfulness and grace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Treasuring Emma

    Treasuring Emma is the latest installment in the Middlefield Family Novels by author Kathleen Fuller, set in the Amish community of Middleford.  This close-knit community has recently suffered a series of losses and changes.  Specifically, Emma Shetler is facing some life-changing decisions.  Having been rejected by Adam Otto, the only man she has ever loved, Emma has now buried  her mother after a battle with cancer. With no income, no marital prospects, medical bills coming in, and her grandmother to care for, young Emma is unsure what her future holds.   To add to Emma's troubles, her sister Clara, herself disillusioned with her own marriage and family, begins to push Emma to consider building a family business that will require Emma to make changes she is not ready to make. When Adam returns to Middlefield for a visit, Emma is more confused than ever.  Now Emma, Clara, and Adam, must each find their own peace with God in order to discover and follow His will for their lives. Treasuring Emma is not only the first book I have read by author Kathleen Fuller, but also the first Amish setting novel I have read.  I have to say I enjoyed the book. It is a quick-reading but intriguing love story that kept my interest all the way to the end.  Since the book begins with a "glossary" of Amish terms, I should have expected their frequent usage, which is exactly the case.  Though these terms helped to saturate  the reader in the Amish life, I also found their usage a bit distracting to the storyline itself.  All-in-all, it is a delightful read. Recommend? Absolutely! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Sweet book, not great....

    Emma has put everyone else first in her life. Now at nearly 25, has she missed her chance at marriage? Emma was Adam's first love but circumstances made them both choose different paths in life. Emma's heart breaks all over again when Adam returns to the Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio, years later.

    This is the story of a family, centered around the story of Emma and Adam. Emma is a caretaker, first her mother and now her grandmother. She has one married sister. The book tells the story of this family´s struggles after the death of their parents. As with all romance novels, you meet boy&girl in the first chapters, they have problems in the middle chapters, and live happily ever after in the end. The greatness of a novel is not in a new formula, but in the plot and writing of it.

    This is a sweet book. I liked that the author went beyond the couple and created secondary stories. While I enjoyed it, the book doesn´t quite deliver in the end. The plot is very detailed throughout the book and the end is sudden, with a succession of information on how all the characters end up. The book details Adam´s struggle, but his decisions and peace are only informed. A new character is introduced at the end of the book, and her future is left open. Carol´s (Adam´s mother) struggles are never liberated, and we are left with the feeling that she didn´t find peace. While we know from the tone of the book that most main characters are happy, well and blessed in the end, we are left without closure. I missed having an epilogue wrapping up Carol´s struggle, the couple´s lives and the "bad guy´s" future.

    It was sweet, not great. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I loved this book!!! I cannot stress how much I enjoyed this book! I had been anticipating reading this book for the last week and did not want to wait for the actual physical book to arrive, so I decided to download it as an e-book last night. Just let me say, between my reading last night and then this morning, I finished the book in record time. The relationship between Emma and her sister, Clara, is a touchy one from the start. With everything that is going on in the Shetler family, one would think that Emma's family would be a safe haven, a place of peace. But that is not the case...Emma and Clara rarely see eye to eye, especially where the family farm is concerned. Emma wants to take things slow, make gradual changes, but Clara wants to jump in feet first, and isn't afraid to voice her opinions. Adam has been gone for a few years, and upon his return, is hoping his father's heart has softened towards him. After being baptized, and making some unwise decisions, he was banned from the family home. Having turned his back on his childhood friend, Emma, can she ever forgive him for leaving like he did? Can they repair their relationship and start fresh, or will the mysterious newcomer win her heart? Getting near the end of the book, I was rooting for Emma and Adam to work things out. Little did I realize how close to the end of the book I really was! Not having everything wrapped up nicely in the end, I am eagerly awaiting Kathleen Fuller's next book in this Middlefield book! I give this book 5 stars and highly recommend it! **I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2