Customer Reviews for

Treasuring Emma (Middlefield Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Loved

    Each of the characters were at different places in their lives. None were perfect but then none of.us are. Each struggling to find what God's plan is for their life. Seemingly at odds with each other. Longing for what we all do in our own lives. Love, loss, trust, forgiveness and faith. Having lost my.parents within 15 months of each other and being at pdds with my younger brothers, Emily and Clara's struggles and frustration with each other as they try to find common ground was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amish with a twist

    I love books about the Amish. For some reason, their lifestyle & faith are very interesting to me. I imagine what it would be like to live that life but then realize it would be impossible after growing up Englisch.

    Treasuring Emma adds a twist to the usual Amish book. It's not the straight-forward young Amish girl looking to find a husband and how they make their romantic journey together. The "bann" has always intrigued me and how the Amish people can disown their own family. And if they have "banned" that person, how they can take them back into the fold and not cause disharmony among them. I believe in forgiveness and that people can change but treating them as if nothing happened is hard for me to comprehend.

    As with non-Amish, Emma grows through turmoil and seeks God's help in her life's plan. We think that Amish families are perfect and don't know heartache and family issues, but we see in Treasuring Emma that it's just not true. Emma's faith will help her through these issues and she realizes it's HIS plan and he will reveal it to her eventually.

    While the story line was good, there were a couple disconnects with a couple characters. I think the author could have done more with with a couple story lines about Emma's sister's relationship as well as Adam's mother. Maybe they are left open for a second book in the series? But like many Amish novels, the ending seems to get all wrapped up in a bow and is over in an instant. Life doesn't always happen that way but then again it may be that another book may be coming to clear it up.


    I'd like to thank BookSneeze for making a review copy available via NetGalley. All opinions are my own and unbiased. A positive review was not required. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller

    Hi guys! I've gotten a new book from booksneeze called "Treasuring Emma" by Kathleen Fuller. Before I get started though, I need to tell you all that I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson publishing company through the booksneeze program, and I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review. So whatever I say about this book is legitimately how I feel. Okay, so now, "Treasuring Emma" by Kathleen Fuller was a pretty good book. A well written Amish fiction book, "Treasuring Emma" hit home with me, mainly because the main character nearly always put others ahead of herself- even when it quite honestly wasn't the brightest idea (at least in my own opinion). I deal with being a people pleaser, and honestly, seeing this inward struggle isn't something I come across in my regular reading. It was kind of refreshing, seeing that someone else deals with this (even if they are fictional). But really that's not what this story is about. This is about, in my own opinion, a girl who realizes she has worth. That touched me because that's something I have struggled with in the past. As an Amish fiction book, I didn't really get the message, but as an encouragement, I loved this book (if that even made sense) I would recommend this book to anyone who likes those sappy stories where the good guy wins?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Treasuring Emma

    Treasuring Emma: A Middlefield Family Novel, looks at the life of Emma, and the difficulties she has been facing. Emma's mother recently died, and she is now responsible for her home she resides at along with her grandfather. Although she was once in love with a man named Adam, he left the Amish faith and Emma found herself without her best friend. When Adam returns to town, the difficulties in Emma's life escalate as a stranger attempts to manipulate her and those in her family.

    I really enjoyed this book since it wasn't a typical Amish book. It had suspense, mystery, romance, and, most of all, faith. I liked learning about the relationship between Emma and her sister, Clara. I understand what it is like to not always get along the best with your siblings, but I appreciate how these two sisters work through their problems.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Pleasing...

    Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller is a very pleasing book. This is my first Kathleen Fuller book. Emma is grieving for her mom who recently died from cancer. Although her sister was not able to help in taking care of their mother while she was sick. Clara, the sister have ideas to help with their financial situation. But Emma is not ready to tackle with it just yet. Emma loved Adam who left the Amish lifestyle and broke her heart. Then Adam came back, sparkling all of Emma's old emotions. Mark King showed up in their community and is showing interest on her. How is Emma going to cope with all these while also taking care of their grandmother and the farm? Is Adam back for good or is he going to break her heart again? This book provides a glimpse of the Amish world, some mystery and even suspence and love. A good book to relax with for all ages.


    Thank you to booksneeze for providing my copy free in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable!

    Sorrow and grief follows Emma everywhere. First her father dies, then the man she loves leaves with no plan on returning, and finally her mother just recently dies after battling cancer. Now all the family Emma has left is her sister, Clara (who she doesn't get along with), and her ailing grandmother. Adam Otto couldn't leave Middleton and all his father's rules behind fast enough. But now, two years and many compromises later, he's not so sure that was the right decision. Adam didn't think he would ever return to Middleton, but a letter from Emma's grandmother, telling him that his mother is acting very strange, brings him back. 'Treasuring Emma' has many emotions: grief, romance, sorrow, love, guilt, forgiveness, and deception. When I first started reading this and saw the glossary page, I was like 'oh no!' I find that when books have glossary pages, you end up having to go back to that page to see what words mean - which is somewhat annoying. The characters in 'Treasuring Emma' were gripping and real. I found Mark King evil and mean. How he could purposely try to hurt Emma and Clara (Emma's sister) was just heartless and cruel. Adam Otto, however, was sweet and very likable. Yes he'd made bad choices, but he learned and had tried to not repeat them. Emma's story was sad, but it had a few highlights. Throughout the book I was hoping that Emma would forgive Adam and that somehow they would end up together. So many characters and they were so enjoyable to read about. I don't want to part with them. I will definitely read other books by Kathleen Fuller. The only complaint I have is the Amish language. It was annoying and difficult to read sometimes, but the story, plot, and characters were great! I recommend this if you enjoy romance with a hint of mystery. *I received a complimentary ebook copy from Thomas Nelson for my honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an amish novel that sparks the interest...

    I'm not a big fan of Amish novels, but the few books that I've read from this genre were actually pretty good, and Treasuring Emma is not an exception. Emma's struggles through the years losing her loved ones in painful succession, with a pressing financial crisis on the side gave ample avenue for an inspiring tale of a young woman and how she rises through the conflicts in her life.

    Mark, the bad boy character out for revenge adds a little more spark to the story. He, along with all the other characters in this book are written in such as way as to make them all seem real enough to inspire sympathy as well as empathy. Most of the conflicts and questions are resolved in the end, but some are left hanging to keep a modicum of interest for the next book. This is one of the better Amish novels I've read, and I hope to read the next one soon.

    I got an ARC of this book through Booksneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good, not typical ending

    4/5


    As I have mentioned in previous reviews, I am quite familiar with the Amish fiction genre, but I have never had the privilege of reading a novel by Kathleen Fuller. I have been missing out, as I thoroughly enjoyed Kathleen's unique take on the Amish community in Treasuring Emma. Unlike offerings from Beverly Lewis (who I do love to read for different reasons), Kathleen's novel was not bogged down by constant descriptions of Amish jargon and lifestyle. In fact, at times I forgot I was reading a story about an Amish woman as I was drawn into the actual plot instead of being force-fed Pennsylvania-Dutch vocabulary.


    Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller is book #1 in the Middlefield Family Series. It revolves around the lives of the King family, specifically Emma and her sister Clara. Emma is an unmarried Amish woman, still heartbroken over her childhood love who left their community for the English world. Clara, is married and disillusioned with her loving but unemployed husband, stewing in the bitterness of depending on their community for money. Both sisters have to face what it means to depend on God and to trust in his provision as they deal with the death of their parents, the return of old flames, and past family tensions. When an evil relative brings trouble to the community, Emma and Clara realize that God is truly the only one who can bring them happiness and hold their world together.


    It is clear that Kathleen Fuller writes about a less conservative Amish community in this novel. In response, the novel has a more "real world" feel to it. The story touches on jealousy, greed, sex, lust, anger, evil, depression, financial worries and more. The characters struggle with emotions and feelings that are typical of all humans, and I appreciate that the author does not gloss over these difficulties with pat answers and platitudes. Even more encouraging was the fact that Emma is overweight and not particularly beautiful. It is very rare to see this description for a main character of a novel, and I commend the author for writing Emma with honesty and spiritual beauty, allowing her to find happiness in the end.

    I would highly recommend picking up Treasuring Emma for your own library, especially if you appreciate Amish fiction. I look forward to completing the Middlefield Family Series and learning more about characters who were left hanging at the end of this novel.

    Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher via Book Sneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Treasuring Emma

    Treasuring Emma is the latest installment in the Middlefield Family Novels by author Kathleen Fuller, set in the Amish community of Middleford.  This close-knit community has recently suffered a series of losses and changes.  Specifically, Emma Shetler is facing some life-changing decisions.  Having been rejected by Adam Otto, the only man she has ever loved, Emma has now buried  her mother after a battle with cancer. With no income, no marital prospects, medical bills coming in, and her grandmother to care for, young Emma is unsure what her future holds.   To add to Emma's troubles, her sister Clara, herself disillusioned with her own marriage and family, begins to push Emma to consider building a family business that will require Emma to make changes she is not ready to make. When Adam returns to Middlefield for a visit, Emma is more confused than ever.  Now Emma, Clara, and Adam, must each find their own peace with God in order to discover and follow His will for their lives. Treasuring Emma is not only the first book I have read by author Kathleen Fuller, but also the first Amish setting novel I have read.  I have to say I enjoyed the book. It is a quick-reading but intriguing love story that kept my interest all the way to the end.  Since the book begins with a "glossary" of Amish terms, I should have expected their frequent usage, which is exactly the case.  Though these terms helped to saturate  the reader in the Amish life, I also found their usage a bit distracting to the storyline itself.  All-in-all, it is a delightful read. Recommend? Absolutely! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1