Customer Reviews for

A Treasury of Royal Scandals: The Shocking True Stories History's Wickedest Weirdest MostWanton Kings Queens

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Part is...

    The Best Part is that you can put it down. Its divided into wonderful short chapters so that it makes a great bathroom read or a quick read during coffee. It only gets confusing because all the monarchs are named the same, but other than that Farquahr is an excellent author. I'm purchasing his other books now, they make for great anecdotes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Love it....

    Loved it it was awesome...If you love history espcialy crazy history youll love this book....I read the whole thing in one day....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Want to go behind the scenes in History? Michael Farquhar is th

    Want to go behind the scenes in History? Michael Farquhar is the best author to take you there. With various antidotes and little known facts, you can learn more from one of Mr. Farquhar's books than you can in years of college history classes. Throw in the humor and wit and you have a book that you enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read

    If you are a history geek like me you will love this book. Could not put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Love it.

    Definitely read this if you like history at all. I read it a couple of years ago and I think it made me like history more! I have ever since always wanted to know the back stories, because there is always something someone isn't telling you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Wonderful read!

    This is one of my favorite books to read! Every story is provacative and fun. I was absorbed into it from the second I started reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You need to appreciate this book for what it is.

    I have seen some complain about the length of the "naught anecdotes" but I thought that this one of the books cheifest charms. It is meant to be a light read, something whimsical and interesting. Not a book to sit down and plow through. This book is a great bathroom reader, or a book for someone that is so harried they can only make it thrrough a few pages at a time. Its a fun little read, and chances are you will learn something that you didnt know before. I also enjoyed the one liners Farqar occasionally threw in. I look forward to his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    I love love love this books...I am soo buying the rest of his book it was hilarious...soo funny...a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Those Scandolous Royals

    A very intresting view of royalty through the ages. The entitlement and craziness made for a quick, interesting, educational read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Most Wicked

    Naughty wicked and bad! I shall reread it at once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    WONDERFULLY ENTERTAINING

    I really loved this book. It made me laugh, and taught me a few things along the way. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Fantastic!

    Not only is this entertaining, but educational as well. I use it to 'spice up' my historical background lectures in my high school English classes--the kids love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Incredibly funny

    This book is fantastic! I've given it to several friends who now understand why I find history so much fun! It takes an incredibly dry subject and really spices it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    A Must Read!

    Extremly Funny.. This book gives the reader history that most historians don't know!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    A Great Book

    A delightful mixture of history and juicy tidbits of not-so-nice royalty. For anyone with an inner gossip and an interest in history, this is perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    royal scandals is fabulous

    Wonderfully written, highly entertaining and largely informative. A great read..two thumbs way up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    Hilarious!

    This is a terrific summer read -- light and humorous but cleverly written. I found myself chuckling out loud (then looking around sheepishly on the beach) -- mostly at Farquhar's modern day slant on a historical scandal. A really fun book, good to share with family and friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2