Customer Reviews for

The Trench

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    The Sequel rocks!

    It's so amazing that I'm going to do a rhyme about it. Here Goes. I couldn't put the book down through and through, I always loved the non-stop action, too. The scenes were great, the characters ever better, not to mention that the shark was always very clever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    The Rollercoaster dosen't stop

    A great sequel! More complex and in dpeth than the first. Alten dosen't dissapoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Thank you, Steve-o....

    This book, while immensely enjoyable, instilled in me one of maybe three things in my life that have ever truly terrified me: deep, cold, black water, with something, some unknown beast out there just waiting....God, it's scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent sequel

    Alten continues where he left off. A riveting tale that will keep you on edge. Note for parents -- This book is a little more adult themed than the first novel. Overall, an engaging tale that you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Trench makes you wonder what is out there.

    The Plot is compelling. The characters face issuses with all the realistic inner conflits that all people feel, when they are being tested. A good read...it kept me up way past my bed time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Awesome!!!

    He's a great author. I look forward to reading the next 2 in the series. #3 Primal Waters
    #4 Hells Kitchen (Meg Series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling!!!

    Page turner from the first page to the last, this is going to be a GREAT!!! series. The characters become family. Don't make the same mistake I did read the first book titled [Meg]and then enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Trench

    The trench was a very good follow up to the MEG book. I thought this was better because you didn't have to spend time on background of the characters. It gets started with action and ends with it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a thrill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    The Meg

    Non-stop action! Blood and guts! I loved every part of it and can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    WOW...AGAIN!!

    Just when you thought it was safe to open another book!! Move over momma, baby's here!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Trench (Meg Series #2)

    Suspense, drama, action... EVERYTHING!! This man is probably one of the best storytellers of all time. It is like watching a movie in your head. Everything is descriptive, precise and the action is always there. This book, unlike like its predecessor, has that evil plotter which adds that feeling where you want to know his next move. A book eveyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    CRAZY STUFF!

    I READ IT NOT KNOWING WHAT I WAS GETTING MYSELF INTO.BECAUSE OF THE DETAIL, THERE WAS PARTS WHEN I HAD TO PUT IT DOWN TO CATCH MY BREATH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    This is an awesome book!!

    i totally loved this book!! steve alten writes a mean shark. i couldn't put this book down. i think that this book was better than MEG. This book has you on the edge of your seat until the very end and is full of suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    '2 thumbs up, way way up!!'

    Wow, steve does it agian.The trench which is a heart ponding thriller scare me more than the original

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Trench (Meg Series #2)

    Steve Alten did it again. This is no ordinary sequel. It is amazing how a few years can affect a person's writing. This was an unbelieveable novel which will answer all of the questions left from MEG. Great writing, Better details, amazing plot and many twists and turns. A MUST read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Another great shark book

    I loved this book as much as i did Meg and i actually thought that it was a better book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    The Trench is a GREAT book!

    I read this book and I was captivated by it. I couldn't put it down and read it in about 3 days. The detail in the book is amazing. I loved how the author described everything the Megladon did. I definatly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2001

    Better than the first

    only if you've ready the first book, MEG, will you understand this book. I couldn't close it. If you think this book is trash then you have no reason to read suspense. This book was well written and takes you into a world that has never been seen or touched by man. He made it sound like this could happen any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Another Great Book By Steve Alten

    I have read MEG and I was amazed by it, The Trench is even more amazing. Steve Alten really works hard to put realism in his books. I have done a bit of research myself on prehistoric sharks and the abyss, and it could be frightfully possible for anything to live down there, we haven't even scratched the surface of the oceans many mysteries. MEG and The Trench are just fun, scary fiction, for now, in the future, who knows!!! Sharks deserve the respect that mankind does not give them, if a shark attacks, the public has to go kill it without realizing that the ocean is, and has been before man, its domain. Sharks outlived the dinosaurs and I think that alone deserves respect. There wouldn't be such ridiculous killing of sharks if a megaladon existed, it would rule. I love the ocean and I realize everytime I venture out in it, I am risking myself. MEG and The Trench make one realize that man does not control everything. Steve Alten is a wonderful author, and I wish him lots of luck in the future. His family should be proud of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    A wonderful book

    I really like this book. I went to California for 2 weeks and read this book in about 2 days. The suspense was great and I couldn't put it down. I definatly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3