Customer Reviews for

Trespasser (Mike Bowditch Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A definite must read!

I was so excited to win this book in a giveaway from the publisher! I haven't read the Poacher's Son, which is Doiron's 1st book, but I think I am going to have to read it soon!

Even though I didn't read the 1st book, this story stood well on it's own. I loved the ...
I was so excited to win this book in a giveaway from the publisher! I haven't read the Poacher's Son, which is Doiron's 1st book, but I think I am going to have to read it soon!

Even though I didn't read the 1st book, this story stood well on it's own. I loved the tone the author set and found myself completely immersed in this Maine small town. I really enjoyed Mike Bowditch and found him to be an extremely smart, multi-layered and strong lead character. All of the characters were well developed and became like living and breathing people to me. The story unfolded in a very natural progression and I found myself rapidly flipping the pages at the end to see how this story was going to end. I have to say, this is the first mystery in a VERY long time where I didn't have the end figured out and that is saying something. I thoroughly enjoyed this author's writing style and can't wait to read more of his future books.

posted by The_Book_Goddess on June 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings

It was a very good plot but I was a bit put off by the seemingly irrational decisions the main character frequently took. He seemingly was an intelligent, experienced warden yet in this murder investigation he continuously did stupid things. All in all it kind of ruined...
It was a very good plot but I was a bit put off by the seemingly irrational decisions the main character frequently took. He seemingly was an intelligent, experienced warden yet in this murder investigation he continuously did stupid things. All in all it kind of ruined the story for me.

posted by ppam on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    A definite must read!

    I was so excited to win this book in a giveaway from the publisher! I haven't read the Poacher's Son, which is Doiron's 1st book, but I think I am going to have to read it soon!

    Even though I didn't read the 1st book, this story stood well on it's own. I loved the tone the author set and found myself completely immersed in this Maine small town. I really enjoyed Mike Bowditch and found him to be an extremely smart, multi-layered and strong lead character. All of the characters were well developed and became like living and breathing people to me. The story unfolded in a very natural progression and I found myself rapidly flipping the pages at the end to see how this story was going to end. I have to say, this is the first mystery in a VERY long time where I didn't have the end figured out and that is saying something. I thoroughly enjoyed this author's writing style and can't wait to read more of his future books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Loved it!

    Totally disturbing story...a really page turner...has you wondering about the characters LONG after the book is done. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Mixed Feelings

    It was a very good plot but I was a bit put off by the seemingly irrational decisions the main character frequently took. He seemingly was an intelligent, experienced warden yet in this murder investigation he continuously did stupid things. All in all it kind of ruined the story for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Read it!

    I received an advanced copy of Trespasser through a Goodreads Giveaway. This was an excellent read with rich characters and a riveting plot. It can be a standalone novel so if you haven't read the Poacher's Son, you can still jump right in! I am going back and reading the Poacher's Son though because I enjoyed Trespasser so much. Doiron is definitely going on my must-read list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Enjoyable reading for the most part.

    However, writer seemed to lose focus toward end of book with an important scene which detracted from the reality of the story. In general, an interesting book with a nice twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    All of his books are amazing

    All of his books are amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Maine Game Warden, Mike Bowditch is just recovering from dealing

    Maine Game Warden, Mike Bowditch is just recovering from dealing with his notorious father in THE POACHER'S SON.  His girlfriend has decided to give him a second chance to spend more time at home, and to be "safe" in his job. Now negatively labeled as "the poacher's son", he is trying to live down this reputation, but this is difficult as he is once again fighting the current within his area. 




    Mike was called to the scene of an accident between a driver and a deer, but for some strange reason the girl has left the scene.  But did she really leave on her own, as she has been found brutally murdered in one of the Maine coast's "summer cabins"---huge summer homes for the vacationing rich. Her married lover is found in a four wheeler with his throat slit.  The authorities want to call this a murder/suicide, but Mike finds the girl's murder eerily like another murder that happened a number of years ago.  But since that murder was "solved" , with the perpetrated behind bars, things just don't add up, and Mike just can't leave well enough alone. 




    Mike is caught between those calling the convicted man innocent, and those who just want to close both cases, and they are not "playing nice".  Mike's girlfriend just wants him to consider his safety while investigating a crime that is NOT within the Game Warden's job description. 




    This book is definitely a thriller, but the play on atmosphere and the definite "Maine dialogue", adds a whole new dimension to the enjoyment of this book.  Once again, Paul Doiron has created a book of action so definitely within Maine, that the reader is transported to the seaside with the characters---multiplying the suspense for the reader twofold.  Definitely this series will continue to be on my reading list, going right on to the nest book--BAD LITTLE FALLS. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    A great ride !!

    A great ride !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    I love this Book

    This a very good book and I think a lot of people will like it too!!!!!
    Ok ,Paul where is the next one? Anything to do with Mike and Charlie's New house guest?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Superbly readable and compelling story

    Every 2 weeks I go to the libarary and challenge myself to try a new author. Jackpot! Can't wait for future books by this author. I jumped into this before reading the 1st book but no worries. This story stands up just as it is although no doubt it is even better if you've read the first book. Congrats to the author and looking forward to more from Paul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Good, but not as good as #1

    In this second mystery to feature Mike Bowditch, game warden, Mike is much harder to like than in the first book. At the start and end of the book, he is a sympathetic character, but his motivation for most the book is hard to fathom so he comes across as awfully self-centered. In this book, he is investigating a new murder as well as looking into a past murder, perhaps perpetrated by the same villain, all while he is at home supposedly on leave. In the first book, Bowditch's reason for becoming a game warden make sense, and the effect this had on his and his girlfriend's relationship make sense. He seems to come to some understanding of himself in "The Poacher's Son." In "Trespasser," it appears that he's lost this self-awareness; the reasons he made the choices he made in this outing didn't always make a lot of sense to either himself or the reader. However, Doiron did a great job of evoking the Maine woods and seaside, and the plot line kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Trespasser

    I got this one as part of a goodreads giveaway. I'm glad I did. Solid characters (I think I liked the various bad guys more than the protagonist :) ), great plot with plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing, and fantastic climax. Wonderful read that I'd recommend to anyone who likes mysteries/thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Another Winner From Paul Doiron

    I have been waiting with great anticipation for the latest installment of the Warden Mike Bowditch series from author Paul Doiron. His debut novel, The Poacher's Son, which was released last year was a fabulous thriller. Trespasser is just as good if not better. I love the character Mike Bowditch. He stumbles through life, a bit of a rebel, not really sure how to handle his relationship with his girl, but with a great need to do his job properly. His instincts are always dead on...he knew he should have tried harder to find the missing driver in the opening pages.

    This fast paced adventure thriller keeps you turning the pages! Doiron portrays the real Maine...the poverty of many of the citizens along side of the ocean-side summer homes of the wealthy. The obsession with ATVs that has gripped rural America and the new problems they've created. The characters in Doiron's Maine are realistic portrayals of its people. You don't have to have read The Poacher's Son to follow the story in Trespasser but a smart reader would read it first and would read it because it is an excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    not at the nook price they are asking

    24.99 for a nook book. Is that a mistake? It doesn't matter how good it is at that price

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will appreciate this exhilarating tense regional mystery

    In Maine, Game Warden Mike Bowditch receives a call about a deer-auto accident on an isolated road. By the time Bowditch arrives at the scene, he finds blood on the road and the car nearby, but the woman and the deer are gone. Soon afterward the corpse of the female is found elsewhere.

    Her case reminds Bowditch of one from several years ago when a jury convicted lobsterman Erland Jefferts of the rape and murder of a wealthy college student and sentenced him to life in prison. As Bowditch makes inquiries, State officials warn him to mind his business. However, his life is already in shambles as he has little hope to regain his lost relationship with his girlfriend Sarah so he does not care what happens to him or his in the tank career. However, what he failed to factor in is his below the radar investigation places Sarah in peril.

    The second Bowditch police procedural (see The Poacher's Son) is an excellent Maine "mud season" whodunit. As Mike tries to regain his muddied personal equilibrium, he works a murky case that his superiors tell him to back away from for his own good. With a strong support cast and a troubled but dedicated lead, fans will appreciate this exhilarating tense regional mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit for Paul Doiron!

    Another hit for Paul Doiron! Game Warden Mike Bowditch still reeling from the events in The Poacher's Son (If you haven't read it what are you waiting for?) and once again steps into an investigation he should be staying out of, the murder of a young woman which has similarities to a decade old case for which someone is already serving time for. Is the right man in prison? Is this a copycat? And why does Mike seem to find trouble everywhere he goes??!!?? I so enjoy Paul's writing he kept me guessing all the way through this one, I didn't know who did it until the reveal! It was so great to be back in touch with the characters from the Poacher's Son including Charley & Ora. This is going to be a series I will stick with till the end because Mike Bowditch has a lot of work to do on himself, his relationship with Sarah and to try to stop getting in trouble with his superior officers so he keeps his job, but that's what makes this a great series, the characters are flawed and human ,he has so much growing to do it will be great to see his progress! I highly recommend starting with the Poacher's Son before you read this one just for the character background you will be hooked on this series just as I am! Full Disclosure: I received this from the GoodReads Giveaway Program 5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2