Customer Reviews for

Trial by Fire (Ali Reynolds Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!!!

In all my years of reading I had not discovered J. A. Jance until the past year. I have read six of her books including this one and i couldn't put this one down. I will be picking up the previous titles with Ali as the main character so I can get to know her better. If...
In all my years of reading I had not discovered J. A. Jance until the past year. I have read six of her books including this one and i couldn't put this one down. I will be picking up the previous titles with Ali as the main character so I can get to know her better. If you are a Jance fan be sure to read this book; if you have not yet discovered her this is a good place to start.

posted by B-Ann on December 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It took me a very long time to realize where the book was going it had so many mini stoy lines.

The main character was not very likeable and the writing underestimated the readers ability to make certain assumptions. Absolutely every thought process was spelled out for you, and many things repeated making it quite annoying (blink one for yes, and two for no). St...
The main character was not very likeable and the writing underestimated the readers ability to make certain assumptions. Absolutely every thought process was spelled out for you, and many things repeated making it quite annoying (blink one for yes, and two for no). Still dont know what the reasoning was behind Sally and her boyfriend. Played up way to much for what the purpose of that mini storyline was. And the sidebar of her daughter's pregnancy? A bit pointless and bizarre. This was my first book by this author, and will be my last.

posted by 2873643 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!!!

    In all my years of reading I had not discovered J. A. Jance until the past year. I have read six of her books including this one and i couldn't put this one down. I will be picking up the previous titles with Ali as the main character so I can get to know her better. If you are a Jance fan be sure to read this book; if you have not yet discovered her this is a good place to start.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Loved the Plot and the Characters

    When I went to the library this week, I just couldn't resist picking up a new-to-me J. A. Jance and this one is as good as, if not better, than all of the others I've read. It's the fourth novel in the Ali Reynolds series.

    As usual, Jance grabbed me with the first page which begins, "She awakened to the sound of roaring flames and to searing heat and lung-choking smoke. Maybe she was already dead and this was hell, but why would she go to hell?"

    The woman realizes finally that she is alive because she knows her leg is burning. Something, a beam maybe, is holding her leg down and when she tries to move it, her hand catches fire too. This poor woman doesn't know how she got there or why, where "there" is, or even who she is. Then she sees a creature coming through the flames. He's yellow or possibly orange and he picks her up to carry her away. She thinks he's Satan and she is in hell after all, but of course he's a fireman who has entered the burning house under construction and saved her.

    She awakens in the hospital in horrible pain which disappears into a cloud only when a kind nun pushes the button to give her a dose of morphine. The nun seems always to be there.

    Meanwhile, Ali Reynolds has been recruited to be a temporary media relations consultant for the Yavapai Sheriff's Department in Prescott. She lives in Sedona but won't have to go to Prescott very often. Trouble is, her predecessor has been fired and no one in the department wants her there. She is called out to the fire to handle the media and at the site she notices someone has painted ELF in giant letters on one of the burning houses in this new development. The Environmental Liberation Front is an echo of a real life group that has made headlines in the western states for the last two decades or more so this is drawn right from the headlines.

    Ali follows the victim to the hospital in Phoenix where she is asked to stay in the waiting room to see what develops, and incidentally to protect the victim because the person who tried to kill her is still at large and for that matter, unknown. She discovers, as I have many times, that if you sit quietly in a hospital waiting room reading (or in her case typing on a laptop), you sort of disappear into the woodwork as far as other visitors are concerned. She also becomes a confidante of Sister Anselm, the caregiver for the victim.

    This wonderful story grabbed me by the collar yesterday, got me through an evening when my husband insisted on watching American Idol (ugh), and wouldn't let me go today until I finished it. The characters are real as life, and although I figured out whodunit before the end, it certainly didn't spoil finding out how Ali solved it or what became of the characters at the end. I do recommend this suspense novel.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Loved it

    Loved this book. Great characters and plot

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Fast Moving Thriller

    Ali Reynolds is smart, likeable and courageous. And, you'll be rooting for her all the way in this exciting shouthwestern police proceedural. Very good character deveopment both for Ali and supporting characters; makes me want to read other books in the series. J.A Jance knows her stuff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging amateur sleuth tale

    In Sedona, Arizona, former TV reporter Ali Reynolds obtains a media-relations position with the Yavapai County Sheriff's Department. Ali knows to tread carefully as her predecessor Information Officer Devon Ryan, on administrative leave pending an investigation into illegal activity, got into a physical altercation with Cononimo Courier reporter Oscar Reyes who may sue the department for the black eye he received at a news conference.

    Ali handles the press as the cops investigate a suspicious fire that left a Jane Doe barely alive with third degree burns, an ability to communicate by winking only, and amnesia. Also at Saint Gregory's Hospital is Sister Anselm, known as the "Angel of Death," for her nurturing of unidentified patients; she provides comfort to the latest injured soul. Meanwhile Ali sneaks into the burn unit to obtain more information from the victim while a killer targets the nursing nun, but soon teams up with the Sister.

    In her latest case (see Cruel Intentions), readers need to ignore why a public relations specialist would investigate an attempted murder-arson because this is an engaging amateur sleuth tale that fans will enjoy although the action is limited as Ali mostly works her Mojo in the burn unit. Still fans will appreciate the teaming up of the nun and the former reporter as they make an intriguing pairing working together to solve the mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Harriet klausner

    Of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report and ruin another book. She is the worst plot spoiler here, ruining every book in bn's library. Please bn, please do something to this obnoxious poster. Ban her and delete her plot spoiling posts, please.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    It took me a very long time to realize where the book was going it had so many mini stoy lines.

    The main character was not very likeable and the writing underestimated the readers ability to make certain assumptions. Absolutely every thought process was spelled out for you, and many things repeated making it quite annoying (blink one for yes, and two for no). Still dont know what the reasoning was behind Sally and her boyfriend. Played up way to much for what the purpose of that mini storyline was. And the sidebar of her daughter's pregnancy? A bit pointless and bizarre. This was my first book by this author, and will be my last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    narur Naruto

    Cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Again, I love the Ali Reynolds character in J.A. Jance's book. I have
    read all of this series. Very entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    One of the Best!

    J.A. Jance outdid herself on this one. After several Ali Reynolds series books, I feared they would get to be "same old - same old" but this book proved me wrong. Another exciting mystery as a woman is pulled from a fire, and a Nun proves to be a hero in helping her and helping Ali Reynolds solve yet another mystery. I highly recommend this book. This series has indeed been very addictive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You must read this book!!!I

    I couldn't put this book down! It was zoo good, deceiving, unexpected outcomes, and
    well written. i couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Hard to put down

    J.A. Jance just keeps on writing her wonderful stories that are hard to put down. I usually finish her books in two days. These Ali Reynolds books are a wonderful addition to her Sheriff Brady series and I love all the Jance books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Trail by Fire

    My first J.A. Jance book to read it was a book that was hard to put down , I will be sure to read more of this writer....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    pinkcactus

    This is soooo goooood! I couldn't put it down! I just wish Ms. Jance could clone herself and write more!

    If you don't like this book, you don't like a good mystery!

    Love love love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Once you pick this up, you will not want to stop reading

    This book is a great read and once you start reading you do not want to put it down, and when you are finished with the book, you can not wait for the next one. The setting and characters are real. I have just discovered J.A. Jance with this series and I want to read her other books. I really would recommend these books to anyone who like a good mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Falcon

    No offense taken) If you accept me then Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Grim

    "Stupendous! Revolution result nine is where you will be welcomed."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    I was drawn into this story from the beginning. I did think the ending wrapped itself up too easy, but it was a good read, however unrealistic, that kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Good suspense

    Easy read. Suprise ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Dk

    Xkkdkddd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6