Customer Reviews for

Trial by Fire (Raised by Wolves Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I thought this book was really great! But the thing that gets me

    I thought this book was really great! But the thing that gets me is that the girl on the cover looks so much like me its crazy! I had so many people point this book out to me because of the girl on this cover and the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Great sequel!

    This was an awesome read. Bryn is such a wonderful character, she has so much to deal with and she does it without the "normal" whining. She is a strong, loving Alpha. If you loved the first book you have to read this one also. Hoping there is a third one coming out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A Great Continuation of the Series

    I was excited when I found out there was a sequel to the "Raised by Wolves" book I read when it first came out and to me it did not disappoint. The book, although sometimes slow paced, kept me guessing and paying attention to the details and the ending opened doors for the sequel. A good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent. I enjoyed it. Its a lustful game between predator and prey.

    I loved it. After I got 1 4ths of the way through I HATED to put it down. Its an intoxicating game where the Predator and Prey are changing between Time and Fate, and in this battle, Callum is forced to sit the big game out and only help with very bland messages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Enemy Within is Always the Greatest Threat

    Bronwyn knows a thing or two about survival, not fitting in, and werewolves. She's alpha of the newly formed, rag tagged, Cedar Ridge Pack. And she's human. They are more of the Breakfast Club than a Wolfe pack, the lot of them being mostly kids, but Byn has finally found the place where she fits. Specifically groomed by her former father figure Callum for the role. A new kind of alpha. A new kind of pack. Settling into her new life with her besties Dev, Lake, and new boyfriend Chase, is about to get a whole lot more difficult. Cedar Ridge may not have age and experience on their side, but they are rich where all others are not. Bryn's is abundant in female weres, and the only thing keeping the other packs from invading her territory and divvying up the girls, is pack law. Unfortunately for Bryn and her clan someone has been putting a lot of thought into getting around the rules..

    Bryn's leadership and ability to protect her pack is put to the test when a beaten rogue ends up on her doorstep looking for sanctuary. He's a member of a rival pack lead by Shay, Dev's older brother, and all around arch nemesis. As it turns out the stray is also being hunted by a coven of "knacks", humans with abilities that are described like more extreme amplifications of what would be normal human behavior. Bryn's caught between her need to protect her wolves, and wanting to save the abused boy, Lucas, from the alpha who beat him and the coven who tortured him. Pack law forbids her from forcibly taking another alpha's charge, so to except Lucas into the fold Shay would have to relinquish all rights over the runt. Bryn has to play things by the book, otherwise she risks losing everything. But Shay is playing the long game, and planning his moves. As her shortcomings become glaringly apparent, Bryn's going to have to make some crucial decisions, not only for the present but the future as well. Her choices will tote the line between humane and beast. Is becoming the alpha she HAS to be, the kind of alpha she WANTS to be? Some things you can't come back from. The safety of the pack could be her downfall. Being the only human amongst wolves you can't forget it's the enemy within that's always the greatest threat.

    Raised by Wolves the stunning prequel to Trial by Fire was slow to begin but wonderfully crafted, and multi layered. The sequel is just as rich but without the hindered pace to start. Barnes takes her story to unexpected places. Though they aren't overly complex storylines (which wouldn't make sense for YA), these aren't transparent books. They are pleasantly unexpected, going further where other authors of this genre would naturally stop. The reoccurring theme I find in Barnes' body of work is friendship. Her heroine always has a wonderfully diverse menagerie of besties. Lake, and Dev are no exceptions. JLB crafts some very interesting background characters as always. She weaves personalities into the story as much a part of the scenery or maybe even more so, since I remember more details of the character quirks than the setting. This is great sequel. A little light on the romance, Trial by Fire is more story driven. The core plot is a solid one with, some twists and interesting developments. Jennifer Lynn Barnes shows her growth and maturity in this series. Trial by Fire is another strong thoughtful addition to Barnes' bibliography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    Bryn might be settling into her alpha position, but there's more than one 'person' trying to take it away from her. We all knew this was bound to happen. Bryn is only human, sure she's Resilient, but her world is filled with werewolves and other special things - saying what these 'special things' are would be a major spoiler, so I'll refrain. But I can give a hint, think of Bryn and how she's...scrappy. Just like in the first book, Trial by Fire is well written and engaging. There's something about it that makes you want to keep reading. I was a bit disappointed in the new threats that came Bryns way. I actually disliked that story arc, not to the point were I flat out hated it, but enough where I wished I could move on. I am glad that the parts with the new characters were spread out so it didn't feel like a total invasion to the story. I did bring the rating down to four stars. There seems to be a kind of pattern in the conflict category. They seem to be built up and they just don't deliver. I do think this times conflict was resolved/handled in a better way than last time, but not enough where I felt satisfied. Thus, the four star rating. Don't get me wrong, I thought this book was great, just not as awesome as the first book. BUT, can I just say the ending was ideal. Finally, we have some movement on Bryn and the alpha front. Not to mention, Callum and all his glory. Just from the ending, it really gets you pumped to read the third book. Is it 2012, yet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review!!

    Over all I thought it was amazing! The only complaint was that the book seemed to pack a TON of info in some parts so it seemed to become a little slow, but dont let that discourage you!!!! When you buy this book you will be happy with it. Plus.... the ending was absolutly astounding! In my opinion the ending made the whole book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Book 3?

    This was a great sequal that kept me guessing and the open end was great. But...will there be a 3rd book? It is needed please continue this series i love to read about bryn and chases love and the packs adventures and drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2