Customer Reviews for

Trial by Journal

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    You should really read this book!

    The book "Trail by Journal" by Kate Klise was a very good book. An old man named Bob White was on trial for the murder of Perry Kett. Perry was a young 12 year old boy who worked at the zoo with Bob. According to the new Missouri State Law since Perry was only 12 there must also be a juvenile juror on the jury in this case. Lily Watson was chosen to be the juvenile jury in this case. She was in the same class as Perry but never really knew him. Because she missed so much school she would have to keep a journal through the time she was at the trial. Her teacher told her to put all of her feelings and thoughts into the journal. Well let me just say she sure did! This trial will be like no other Missouri has ever seen. It will be turned upside down and all around trying to uncover new clues. But while this is going on there is the complete opposite, Bob White the quite old man writes in his journal about making good friends with the rats in his jail cell. There are articles from the local paper including one section from one of the juror that is on the jury. I found this section personally one of the best parts. He tells you about the trail and some of the friends he makes with the other jurors. This book will have you laughing for hours! I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone! The grade level is about 5th or 6th grade, but people older still should take a look because it s a great book. Anyone one looking for a good light hearted book should read this book, "Trial by Journal".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Awesomeness

    I love this book so much!! It was a really fun and interesting book with mystery. Recommended for 4th and 5th graders. I just love this book a lot. My favorite book in the whole world. About a girl named Lily who is on Jury duty and trying to solve a mystery of who killed who and she writes all the stuff she finds in her journal. READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sixth-Grader is First Juvenile Juror

    Get ready for a trial unlike any Tyle County has ever seen! Sixth-grader Perry Keet is missing, and Bob White, his co-worker at Tyle Park Zoo, will stand trial for the alleged murder. But Keet's disappearance is only the beginning of this legal thriller. The real story is told by 12-year old Lily Watson, a classmate of Keet. Watson was selected to White's jury law requiring a juvenile juror to serve if the case involves a child victim. Part of Watson's duty will be to listen objectively to the testimony of Tyleville's wealthiest citizen, Rhett Tyle. His testimony is expected to be the key to White's conviction. White's fate now rests in the hands of Watson and fellow jurors, Fawn Papillon, Anna Conda, and other Tyleville locals, as they try to uncover the truth before it's too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    What a wonderful book. I read it with my mother-daughter book club, and everyone loved it, even the people who thought they wouldn't. I recomend this book for EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YAY YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    READ THIS BOOK!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. The age range is 8-11, but I'm older and I still loved it! I would definitly recommend this book to anyone. It's great the way that the story is told with newspaper clippings, letters, and diary entries. Lily is so funny!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    I thought that this book was fantastic!! It was a page-turner and it really kept your interest. It was NOT one of the types of books that you start but never finished. This is definitely one of my favorite books!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    The Good Book

    This book was a very excellent book. Except there were too many things with the word 'Tyle'. What's the deal with that?! But besides that fact, it is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    best book ever!!!!

    Me and my friend both read this book and loved it. the letters and other things where the best. Every time I would pick up the book to read it I would say only one chapter but since this book is so suspending I ended up reading about 3 to 4 chapters at a time. I loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!

    This is such a good book. It has a great story. And it ends on such a nice way! I couldn't stop reading it! That's how good it is. I would give this book a lot of stars. Get it from the library or buy it, or whatever and READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    GREAT book

    Trial by Journal is one of the best books I've ever read. If there is one book that I would read more than once, Trial by Journal would be it. I can't believe that Kate Klise is an adult. Any kid who half-way likes to read would love this book. My parents have even read it, and they love it! It's basically a funny collage of fake newspapers, the villain's evil notes to the other one, outfit orders, etc!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    A Really Good Book.....

    This book is fab-o! I'm in the middle of it right now, and I love it! Just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Trial by Jury no Trial by Journal

    This book is great! I couldn't put it down. It took my 4 hours to read and I read it without stopping! It is a great book that mystery and journal lovers will love. Kate Klise has done a wonderful job! Lilly Watson, Juvinille Jusrist is out of school on jury duty... it's a murder case of one of her classmates! Her teacher tells her to write a journal but little does she now she will have to write the truth and nothing but the truth. I enjoyed the style it was written in. Kate Klise {author} has connected a journal with evidense... newspaper clippings, letters even has parts of a jury members autobiography!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2002

    Trial by Journal { Awesome Book}

    I LOVE this book. I LOVE how the author made the character realistic and not just plain. I like how she planned the story and how she made the character. The mystery and guessing is thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Your Ticket to the Court Room!

    Trial by journal is a great book.Kate Klise is a great author and I love the way she writes all her books in letter format. The personal stationary is fun to look at to. Trial by journal is a great book full of mystery and humor. Put yourself in the court room and read Trial by Journal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    A FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    This book is about a girl who goes on jury duty for a murder trial. Being out of school was her dream, but writing journal entries for each day for her teacher to tell about the trial was not on her list!This wonderful book is funny and has twists and turns along the way!Trying to be a detective she finds out something nobody knows...Kate Klise has a extraordinary way to write though journal entries, newspaper clippings, news stations, and secret letters. I definatly recommend this book to kids and adults. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1