Customer Reviews for

Trials of Death (Cirque Du Freak Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

an actually good vampire book.

The Trials of Death by Darren Shan is a really good book. It is action packed, and suspense filled. It follows the story of a half vampire named Darren who is trying to earn good standing amongst his fellow vampire clan members and doing so will earn him a sizable amoun...
The Trials of Death by Darren Shan is a really good book. It is action packed, and suspense filled. It follows the story of a half vampire named Darren who is trying to earn good standing amongst his fellow vampire clan members and doing so will earn him a sizable amount of respect from the other vampires. It is a very good book and I reacomend to anyone who likes vampires.

posted by Anonmous on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Abel

Hmm..

posted by 9062963 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Help me choose!!!

    Whitch book should i get from this series PLEASE ANSEWER ABOVE!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    AMAZING%5E.%5E

    This+series+is+the+best+ive+ever+read%21%21%21+READ+IT%3C33333

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    great book

    Book five of the cirque da freak series is the absolute most intense. It is really action packed. This book shows friendship. This might be my most favorite or my second most favorite the reason why is because i like books with action i can picture it really easy in my head other books that are slow and dont have action and intense moments in it i cant picture it in my head very good. Another book that has some action in it is book 8. If you looking for entertaining and high action book then book five is a good book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    great experience

    i thought this was the best book ive read in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    cool

    a great sieries of book but at some points i thought it could have been more exiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Amazing!

    this book is downright awsome its mysterious and it keeps me going read it if uou love vampires!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    cirque du freak series #5

    this book is a fun but not very fast paced book. it kept me on the edge of my seatthoughbut if you havent read the ist 4 books you may bet a little lost. it tells you some important details but you will get confused in later books. i sugest theat you get this series as a fun read not as something to do for a project or something. this particular book is a very exciting book. it keeps you wanting to read more. i hope you will enjoy this book the way i have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The series is awsome.

    This a thrilling book that is action and funny and in some cases scary.
    This book is for anyone who likes vampires.(or if youo saw the vampire assistant movie)!!!!!!!

    With seeing the movie first every thing was very vivid and clear like watchin a movie which isnt even out yet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Good

    my son has been reading the entire series for a couple of months now and he loves it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Trials of Death

    Trials of Death is the fifth book in the best selling Cirque Du Freak series. Darren, the vampire's assistant, must pass five fearsome trials to prove himself to the vampire clan - or face the stakes in the Hall of Death. "There won't be any snakes in Darren's trails." To do so, Darren must successfully complete the five trials, or face death right in the eyes. He is a half vampire who needs to prove himself worthy to the vampire clan by completing the trials of death. Darren is extremely confident and determined to show the rest of the vampires at Vampire Mountain that he is just as noble as them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Travis's Cirque du freak series Review

    I really enjoyed this series! I read all the books in a very short period of time! I couldnt put the books down once I started!
    It is a very thrilling series! You will start to feel like you know the characters! It gives you a good mental picture of the book! Its about Darren a half vampire and Mr. Crepsley the vampire that blooded him, and thier stuggle to defeat the vampeneeze.
    If you havent read this series you need to read it and the Demonata series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    The review

    Cirque de freak is one of my favorite series of books that i have read. one of my favorite books in that series is Trails Of Death because there are tons of twist and it has very good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to put down

    This book was really good all the things that you thought would happen are something completely extra ordinary. It's really hard to put down. In fact the whole series is really good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Time Alone

    This book is good book for when you have time alone and nothing else to do. It gets your attention at the start of the very first sentence. It is a thiller and it has some moments where you can relate to. It puts a twist on the whole humans good vampire bad theme in most vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    This Is Awesome

    I've read books. Long, boring series. But, this is my FAVORITE book series I have EVER read. If I one day could meet someone, I would meet all of these characters(if they were real). I cannot wait to see what happens in the end. Awesome book Darren Shan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a very fascinating book, Personally im a big vampire fan myself. This has a couple twists and turns, and some suspenseful moments. This book always keeps you on the edge of your seat, you can also really relate to some of these characters. I recommend this book to anyone who would like a good read, or like vampires, although if you didn't read books 1-4 some things might be confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Amazing!!

    Darren Shan is one of the most talented writers around. This series was amazing and I have been eagerly awaiting the new book. I read this series before Cirque de Freak and couldn't wait to read that series when I finished the Demonata books that were already written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    This book is really great!

    This book is awesome,it keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time that you are reading it! Mr.Shan really knows how to keep people on the edge while having a great and compelling storyline and characters that can really relate to so many people. This series is a very compelling story and has so much detail that it is like you are on the jurney with the characters. It is a storyline of pure genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    a reviewer

    I love this story because its a story but you want to read more,i would recommend it to a 10 or 11 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    My review on Trials of Death

    Hi My name is Stephanie and this is one of the novels of Cirque du freak i also read cause id never gave up on the series like a lazy person who does not like to read id rather be a book potato thean a couch potato.For this one i thought i was gonna break down and cry cause how darren went through all those trials and survived, the fith is as good as the second cause it leaves u off the edge of your reading chair and leaves u with your heart pumped up with excitement... and fear? the whole series of darren's novels are more for the type of age were you can understand the word demonic and paranormal. Even if you can take it when it comes to a grewsome part those are my favorite parts of the books.Well enjoy the whole two series of darren if u can handle it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11