BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Momo

    Move to res 4. Pat got locked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Stacy

    Moans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    C======::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    Awsome sword right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Cute

    Did not want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Upped my rating to 2 because of the brilliant 21st Century chara

    Upped my rating to 2 because of the brilliant 21st Century characterizations. While it sounded like a cute story, there were so many faulty descriptions and liberties with reality - what junior attorney working local "walk-in" type cases would be permitted time for continuing education in the UK - and so many events in the book skimmed over or dropped without seeing through. Author seemed to use lusty scenes as filler when she ran out of substance or didn't know how to handle it. Kareoke section was fun, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Retelling

    This is a worth reading if you enjoy spin offs of Jane Austen. I find my self at times not wanting to put it down. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Very interesting re-telling of the P&P story

    This is an re-telling of the traditional P&P story that modern Austin fans will enjoy. In this Lizzy has a professional carrer (lawyer) and Darcy is the judge who she comes before very often. The ending of the book is the same as JA's P&P but how they get there are the twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Spicey

    This was our bookclub's firsdt read. What a hoot! Pears just make us all laugh out loud now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great Modern take!!

    I loved this book. It had the underlying characterization and vague story line of P&P but in modern times. It was a fierce love story that had a complete and satisfying ending. Could not put it down, and Lizzy and Darcy had a wonderful journey together. I loved it, but if you are looking for a true to Jane Austen read, the modern-ness of this might be a little much for you. LOVED IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    janitefan

    I loved the story. The author helps the reader connect with the characters. You could feel their emotions as the story progressed. My favorite character was, believe it or not, Mrs. Bennet. Although, she still embarreses Lizzy, the author made her endearing and likeable. You never felt that she disliked Lizzy only wanted her to find a good husband. Furthermore, it was a bit disconcerting at first when Darcy used such vulgar language, but it didn't take away from the story. Overall, this is a great story. I hope to see more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Excellent Modern Sequel - Must Read

    I have read this book four times since last summer! I loved the sparks flying between straight-laced Judge Darcy and the upcoming young lawyer Elizabeth. Plenty of misunderstandings crop up from their year of working together professionally. Everything heats up and changes on a trip to England where their steamy vacation fling turns into so much more. There is plenty of angst on their way to each other. Be prepared to laugh and cry. A must read for your P&P sequels collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Cute

    A fun, quick read Cute play on the character names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Quick and entertaining read!

    I loved this spin off of Pride & Prejudice. I thought the author did a great job of bringing in characters to this new story. I think my favorite was Elizabeth's friend Lou. The only drawback was the language, but still a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Even though you know the ending...

    Even though you know the ending this is still a great read when you're on vacation or spending a rainy day inside with nothing to do. The chemistry between Darcy and Elizabeth is great and the steaminess of their trysts is worth every page.

    Not necessarily something to recommend to mom but definitely one to pass along to a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A twist on a classic

    As a fan of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice, I was greatly surprised by how much I enjoyed this re-telling of one of my favorite books. It was an enjoyable read. Even if you are not a fan of Austen's classic, you will still enjoy this book. The plotline is very steamy in some parts, and the characters are interesting and believable. This novel has the right amount of humor, romance, and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Loved this Elizabeth and Darcy

    There are so many dipictions of Elizabeth and Darcy that it's hard to get a great story anymore. If Jane Austen lived now, this is what she would have wrote. It was the best romance/action triller I have read in a good long while.

    RECOMMED if you have a weekend to yourself...take a good hot soak in the tub and read to your hearts content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Pride & Prejudice Modernization.

    When I saw this book on the shelf, I was unsure of whether or not to get it. I love to read all the different versions of Pride & Prejudice, to see what type of spin other people can put on it. Jane Austen was a brilliant writer and this author has done wonders to take Austen's original charm and humor and add to it in this modern telling. I was amused to see how the characters were changed to fit -- Caroline, Mr. Collins, and Louisa Hearst more than others. Once I began reading the book, I couldn't put it down. This telling will make you fall in love with Lizzy and Darcy, Bingley and Jane all over again. Definitely good for a rainy day read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great!

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3