Customer Reviews for

Tribal Leadership: Leveraging Natural Groups to Build a Thriving Organization

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    The power of Tribal Leadership

    As the CEO and founder of a service organization, I can easily identify with several of the stages described so accurately in Tribal Leadership. Until now, I have been unaware of the power of tribes as the authors Logan, King, and Fischer-Wright have so clearly defined in this book. Tribal Leadership is a valuable tool to assist any manager become a leader and help channel their efforts as they elevate their tribe to the next productive stage.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Fantastic and Life Changing

    How effective is your company in achieving its mission? What role do you play in your teams? How effective are you as a leader? How can you improve your leadership beyond steering or controlling groups?

    No doubt we've asked these questions of ourselves. We may have even come up with somewhat satisfactory answers. However, there's nothing like research-based studies and books to shed light on what we may already intuit, or in helping us understand how to better lead our professional and personal lives.

    This last thought is exactly what may occur to you when reading the paper-back edition release of Tribal Leadership by Dave Logan, John King, & Halee Fischer-Wright. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in better understanding how to lead teams, groups, or companies into a new level of productivity AND camaraderie. Read on to learn why.

    Overall
    The book is well-written and easy to follow. In fact, you may start the book and become addicted to the ideas, unable to put it down. The conclusions are based on a study of 24,000 people in different companies at different levels of efficacy.

    The description of each stage of leadership, from complete chaos (Stage 1, "Life sucks") to a well-oiled machine (Stage 5, "Life is great"), is lucid enough to seem familiar from your day-to-day life. You'll likely come away from this book with a new mindset to navigate your personal and professional life to better serve, not just yourself, but your community at-large.

    In short, after reading this book and applying its lessons, you'll become a better member of society and the world community, increasing your happiness as well as everyone else's.

    Pros
    The authors' approach to leadership is based on a study of 24,000 people in different organizations. The focus is not purely on Drucker-style of leadership lessons, but historical evidence of effective leaders and the common theme that runs through each leader's story.

    This may sound like a typical theme for leadership books, except the authors approach and interpretation is different. The authors focus on relationships and the languages that represent the different styles of leadership, not just ideas. Given the book is based on studies of individuals and their results, the concepts aren't theoretical in nature. In fact, the authors admit they had to revise their pre-conceived notions based on lessons learned in the course of preparing to write and update this book.

    The various levels of an organization and leadership are described as Stages, each signified by a general state of mind, consisting of a Mood and a Theme (table below is recreated from page 25 in the book):

    Stage 5: Innocent Wonderment, "Life is great"
    Stage 4: Tribal Pride, "We're great(and they're not)"
    Stage 3: Lone Warrior, "I'm great(and you're not)"
    Stage 2: Apathetic Victim, "My life sucks"
    Stage 1: Despairing Hostility, "Life sucks"

    The Themes are summaries of the language a person in each stage uses to express their state of mind. Each of us have been at these Stages at one point or another in our lives, though, as the authors explain, the majority of population gets stuck at Stages 2 and 3. Stage 3 is the most prevalent, as is apparent in our day-to-day interactions with overpowering managers, bosses, or business owners who portray the "I'm great, and you're not" mentality, with especial empha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Leadership through understanding the people in your organization

    What this book does well is to describe leadership in terms of the people you are leading. It places people into one of five tribes. In doing so it gives a useful description of what people look like in each tribe and some of the things that you can expect out of them and what some of your reactions, as a leader, should be to them. In this regard it is a very practical book and great for leaders looking for ways to connect with people in their organization.

    One of its best points is that it is describing a process and the process has to be followed. You can get people to jump from tribe 1 to tribe 4 in a single leap. Rather they have to go through each stage. It may be a quick succession, but it is a linear progression.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    More than another business book

    Dave Logan and his team deliver poignant concepts in a fast reading and entertaining book that will quite likely change your perspective on the culture at work and even on your relationships in your personal life. It is a must read for those interested in increasing efficiency and enhancing relationships. I've recommended it to several friends, patients and administrators.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Powerful Book!

    I have read many books on leadership, and this one really broke through to a deeper level of understanding for me. My key takeaway is that people within organizations operate within complex systems, or tribes. Better still, the book outlined how to leverage these natural tribes for the betterment of the entire organization. This book offers a great analysis of how culture impacts performance without simplifying the idea by assuming that there is a single monolithic culture within an organization. This book takes a deep look at how high-performance cultures impact the success of a company, and I use the concepts from 'Tribal Leadership' within my own business on a daily basis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    A New Look at Leadership

    Tribal Leadership identifies the deeper meaning of leadership by advocating the breaking down of silos that exist in today's organizations. The authors take you inside the effective leader, who is acting to build coalitions and collaboration across the company. In a practical and fast-moving style, this book presents the five stages of a leader's journey - and how you can leverage core values and a noble cause to motivate and empower any team. This book sets forth a new challenge for leaders in all walks of life: are you ready to really leverage the power of people? A wonderful book with a new spin on a critical subject.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Phoenix

    She slips into his lap, rubbing her eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Phoenix

    "As my name says," she nods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Alejandro

    He sits still, occasionally smoothing her shirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Tribal Standards ~JayRaven

    MUST READ ALL - Camp next result - Just to twist it up. I've decided to change the names a little. This is a Leopards Clan. Named Thunderclan. Then names have to be two of the same things. <br> <br> Like two animals: JayRaven, DeerWolf, or HawkMouse. Something like that. <br> Or two colors: BlackViolet, CyanGreen, or WhitePink. <br> Nature: PoppyLeaf, TreeBerry, or MossRock. <br> Or Water: WaterPond, StreamPool, or BeachSand. <br> Wind: SkyCloud, BreezeSun, or StarMoon. <br> Or Cat Parts: TailFang, FurClaw, or FaceMask. <br> <br> Please have something like that. It makes it more fun. Please have a unique name! <br> Thanks! <br> ~JayRaven, PoppyLeaf, FangFur, BreezeSun, & PoolSand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Tribal Leadership: Modern approach to team leadership

    A modern twist on good old-fashioned team building. That's really what this book is about. Instead of teams, it's tribes. Instead of teamwork, it's loyalty and productivity. Instead of team success, it's high performance culture.

    The authors have taken the concept of teamwork and adapted it to the recent explorations of the tribal concept. How can a group of people, connected through some common bond (working for the same employer, for example), evolve into highly productive and innovative teams? Through the five stages described in detail in this book.

    By applying theories of basic psychology and scientific research, the authors lead readers through a process of growth, from hostility and self-centeredness to a culture where knowledge is power but not shared, to a culture with common purpose and shared values. Tips and tools are shared to help leaders take their teams where few actually go, stage five, where the focus is solely on achieving potential and in which pure innovation exists.

    I'm not sure any substantially new theory is shared in this book, but familiar information is definitely presented in a new way. If your mind has shifted from team to tribe, you'll probably find great value in this resource. There are several nice touches in the book's format; coaching tips are called out throughout the book, there are easy to understand summaries of key points at the end of each chapter.

    All in all, Tribal Leadership is a useful resource for developing highly successful teams. For leaders seeking a systematic way to assess and develop the cultures of their tribes to achieve maximum greatness, this book presents the process in a useful and very readable format. It's a good addition to a leadership or management library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Tribal Leadership describes the core of human interaction...the Tribe.

    When I first received the book I was quite skeptical about tribal interactions in the workplace. How could a tribe control social interaction at the workplace? How does a leader or even the average employee benefit from a tribe? Needless to say, I had a lot of questions going into the book. They were all answered. This was definitely one of the best leadership books I have read. All of the examples were real-life stories of companies highlighting the different stages of each of the tribes. Here's an example of the different stages. The authors 'Dave Logan, John King and Halee Fischer-Wright' have definitely a winner on their hands. Get this book. Learn how different tribes interact and prepare yourself for the next great adventure. 'Life is Great.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    The Epiphany That Ties It All Together

    From the moment the simple framework of tribes is explained it all starts to make sense and epiphanies abound. This has been such a powerful tool in helping myself and everyone I work with to understand motivations of behavior and why our mentality changes depending on who we're with or where we are. Most importantly, it has served as an important tool in updating the culture of the other medical professionals that I work with. Even the most difficult of people who are initially stuck at Stage 2 or 3 have begun to budge and we're all happier and feel more accomplished because of it. This is the type of book that comes out once every few years that will make you want to keep spreading its message to your friends, family, and colleagues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    An amazing book an the 'tribes' and cultures within every organization!

    This is an amazing book for any of you who look around and see how the 'tribes' that naturally form within organizations function and why some are fantastically successful and others fail miserably. The authors (Logan, King, Fischer-Wright) have based this work on years of research and have put together a model that is at first glance deceptively easy to understand but deeply powerful to put into action. Those of you who can take this model and put it into action and move your organization into Stage 4 or even 5 are sure to see dramatic results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Turbo-charge your ability to accomplish great things

    Tribal Leadership provides a tool to leaders and groups of people working with one another that will turbo-charge their ability to accomplish great things together. The authors offer clear insights into how we can substantially improve performance, not just in corporate environments, but in all endeavors that involve opportunities for people to collaborate with one another. In addition to improving what the 'tribe' might accomplish together, the insights offered in this book describe how naturally occurring leadership skills can intentionally, consciously be improved by each of us as individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    Logan et al. elegantly demonstrate the power of language in business tribes - and illustrate the leverage points that put language into the center of every manager's toolbelt. This groundbreaking book has had a profound impact on how I now see the art of managing. Further, I'm able to more effectively manage my own managers after I learned to 'stage' them. This book is a must for anyone looking to enhance the impact they make within their 'tribe.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    Engrossing, enjoyable and extremely valuable exposé of organizational culture.

    Some books impart meaningful knowledge. Some entertain. ¿Tribal Leadership¿ joins the ranks of those rare books that manage to do both. Through the use of concrete examples, the authors introduce the reader to various tribes and their leaders. This basic building block of human society, a group of 20-150 people, constitutes the world in which each of us play out our productive lives. Larger organizations are but ¿tribes of tribes¿. This work explores the five stages of tribal development, from utter hopelessness to powerful innovation. What is more, the authors provide explicit tools with which one can both gauge the culture of the tribe in which one lives, as well as the means with which to transform culture, increase productivity and have a lot of fun in the process. Anyone who aspires to lead needs to read this book! It will provide the edge, no matter what the organization. That edge is a positive and lasting addition to the value of the organization, rather than an ephemeral event-driven advantage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Finally, a business book I can use

    I find that most business books are only interesting to a point. I bring it up in conversation at a networking event, or I cite it once in a proposal. Tribal Leadership is a book I think about ALL THE TIME because I feel like I see the matrix for how the culture in a company or organization works. There are five levels, from 1 (like the post office back in the day) to 5 (like Pixar where people play sports, eat sushi and jam with a band, all while maintaining 50% profit margins). Tribal Leadership reveals the code to seeing a groups culture by simply listening for the right words. Once you get the lexicon down, you can hear it when anyone talks about work, and know who they are as an employee and how the company operates. I love that it's fascinating both academically and practically. Can't wait to see how things change when people get word of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    High Performance Culture How To's

    After hearing a presentation on the concepts of Tribal Leadership, I immediately saw the clear connection to most business models and the relative ease of implementation. At my company, we motivate our teams by leveraging shared values to build cohesive relationships. Tribal Leadership has given my executives a true systematic approach to raising the performance potential of their teams. It brought instant calibration to our assessment efforts and took the guess work out of selecting tactics to move individuals forward to a state of mind where they are performing well, focusing on team results and obtaining more satisfaction from the workplace. 'We're Great!' I highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2