Customer Reviews for

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Leadership

Looking for a little leadership inspiration, I picked up Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin. It's a small book, just 147 short pages. There are no chapters, per se, just boldface headlines introducing different anecdotes and concepts. It's basically an easy...
Looking for a little leadership inspiration, I picked up Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin. It's a small book, just 147 short pages. There are no chapters, per se, just boldface headlines introducing different anecdotes and concepts. It's basically an easy, light read.

Godin asserts that lasting and substantive change can be best effected by a tribe, which is a group of people connected to each other, to a leader and to an idea.

There are a few practical tips that you can turn around and implement in your work. It's also not a book that provides overall leadership strategy. Instead, this is a book of inspiration. It's not a book on HOW to be a leader as much as WHY.

The stories are exciting and help you to begin thinking about the ways that change is created in our world. The author describes how movements, whether political, social, or as part of marketing, are driven by tribe identities. We attach ourselves to ideas and shared values with likeminded groups and through the reading of this book you can recognize the ways in which your own behavior proves his point.

The examples Godin provides are sprinkled through the book and he revisits his premises over and over again. He tells stories of regular people who, simply because of their passion for an idea or product, changed their part of the world.

One line that personalizes the message is "If you think leadership is only for other people, you're wrong. We need YOU to lead us." Godin is urging us not to pass the buck when it comes to improving situations or promoting the things that mean a lot to us.

I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a boost or for additional reasons to stay the course in their leadership roles. This book delivers a lightweight, feel-good message for anyone who needs to reenergize. It's like a pep talk in written form that can be read in a few sittings. And, sometimes, a little hope, a little optimism, is what we need!

posted by BelindaEllsworth on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

nook sample is pretty worthless

If you really wanted to pique my interest in this book, the sample would have included real text from the first chapter rather than merely copyright info, list of other books by the author etc.

posted by Paulium on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Leadership

    Looking for a little leadership inspiration, I picked up Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin. It's a small book, just 147 short pages. There are no chapters, per se, just boldface headlines introducing different anecdotes and concepts. It's basically an easy, light read.

    Godin asserts that lasting and substantive change can be best effected by a tribe, which is a group of people connected to each other, to a leader and to an idea.

    There are a few practical tips that you can turn around and implement in your work. It's also not a book that provides overall leadership strategy. Instead, this is a book of inspiration. It's not a book on HOW to be a leader as much as WHY.

    The stories are exciting and help you to begin thinking about the ways that change is created in our world. The author describes how movements, whether political, social, or as part of marketing, are driven by tribe identities. We attach ourselves to ideas and shared values with likeminded groups and through the reading of this book you can recognize the ways in which your own behavior proves his point.

    The examples Godin provides are sprinkled through the book and he revisits his premises over and over again. He tells stories of regular people who, simply because of their passion for an idea or product, changed their part of the world.

    One line that personalizes the message is "If you think leadership is only for other people, you're wrong. We need YOU to lead us." Godin is urging us not to pass the buck when it comes to improving situations or promoting the things that mean a lot to us.

    I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a boost or for additional reasons to stay the course in their leadership roles. This book delivers a lightweight, feel-good message for anyone who needs to reenergize. It's like a pep talk in written form that can be read in a few sittings. And, sometimes, a little hope, a little optimism, is what we need!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    This book was recommended as reading before camp. It discussed h

    This book was recommended as reading before camp. It discussed how tribes need someone to lead them. The two most important parts of tribes are a shared interest and a method of communication. The tribes are build to evoke change and not settle with what is in the present. Creating a micromovement consists of publishing a manifesto, making it easy for your followers to connect with you, making it easy for you followers to connect with one another, realize that money is not the point of a movement, track your progress, transparency is really your only option, your movement needs to be bigger than you, movements that grow, thrive, movements are made most clear when compared to the status quo or to movements that work to push the other direction, exclude outsiders, tearing others down is never as helpful to a movement as building your followers up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    To all prey hunter toms

    This is your cave . Outside in the main cave you have a miny freash kill pile . You eat your prey on a little rock infront of your cave . Haning on the wall is some ivy mixed with mint so it smells like mint candy that mealted and muffled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Dohffje

    ICEPAW! ICEPAW! ICEPAW! *She remembers her older dead brother smokepaws apprentice ceremony. He never lived to warrior. She feels dissapointed she didnt get one*


    ~Spiritpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Redtail

    Your done. I gtg.( i used med cat magic to make it go quicker) bye!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Book great, Nook not...

    I have really enjoyed reading this book, but not using the Nook. Every time I log off I can't find the book on my desktop Nook icon. I have to go back to the B&N site and download it again. Worse yet, this does not always work. I paid over $18.00 for a book that I cannot always access. This makes me not want to use the Nook every again and buy only printable books.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Excellent Source of Relevance for Today's Professionals!

    I had heard about this book for some time, but was not compelled to buy a book called "Tribes." However, after picking up a copy and reading a page or two, I was mesmerized and hooked!

    An easy read, but with profound meanings and implications, Mr. Godin "forces" the reader to think beyond traditional marketing and business. For a brand to really be considered successful, one MUST understand the tribe it controls. Through a series of interesting examples and references, the reader is presented the bold call to action to understand, define and then inspire and lead your tribe.

    I have since referred the book to many business and personal connections, and have even begun to read Mr. Godin's blog regularly - not as a blind disciple, but as a business executive looking for challenging and useful information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Subject Matter

    About 100,000 year ago, we lived in bands. Only about 10,000 years back did we evolve into tribes. After tribes came chiefdoms, then states and empires finally arriving at the current nations. With that said, I do agree with the author that a tribe is any group of people, large or small, who are connected to one another, a leader, and an idea. Our human nature dictates that we must do this. <BR/><BR/>The internet has certainly eliminated and/or reduced the concept of geography and time while expanding the size of our tribes. With this expansion comes the natural flow of countless new tribes branching off into a myriad of directions. The reasons for thousands of years was usually food production and population growth. Too little food - too many people - new tribe. A tribe would also split because large tribes are hard to control, that is, large numbers lack behavior control. Nowadays, the game has changed. <BR/><BR/><BR/>The author has written a very timely and much needed book on how this new world will work and who will lead us. The change has happened in such a rapid manner and is such a profound part of our hierarchical society that I have great fears about the outcome. That is why this book and I hope the ensuing conversation it creates, will benefit us all <BR/><BR/>In order to live in complex social groups, it has been theorized that we need more memory and mental power in order to keep track of the relationships and social hierarchies that arise. This book is a good place to start. <BR/><BR/>I hope you found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2