Customer Reviews for

Tribulation Force: The Continuing Drama of Those Left Behind

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Transition

The second book in the Left Behind series focuses again on our main characters: pilot Rayford Steele and his daughter Chloe, reporter Cameron "Buck" Williams, and pastor Bruce Barnes. They have formed their own band of believers, they know that Nicolae Carpathia is the...
The second book in the Left Behind series focuses again on our main characters: pilot Rayford Steele and his daughter Chloe, reporter Cameron "Buck" Williams, and pastor Bruce Barnes. They have formed their own band of believers, they know that Nicolae Carpathia is the Antichrist, and now what will they do?

Rayford and Buck begin to work for Nicolae and his regime (Nicolae creates "Global Everything") and quickly realize that their status as believers is best kept undercover so they can keep working with the other Trib Force members. Some personal relationships are further developed but seem a little awkward in their interactions.

To me, this was sort of a setting the scene book. It is necessary to get from one place to the next, just was not my favorite of all of them....but, I enjoyed it just the same

posted by kristen4mk on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kind of think the premise of Left Behind has gotten lost as the

Kind of think the premise of Left Behind has gotten lost as the series grows. Not sure if I buy the fictionalized version of old school Dallas Theological seminary approach to prophecy. The anti-christ is probably muslim, from Egypt or Turkey not Eastern Europe. The Ten...
Kind of think the premise of Left Behind has gotten lost as the series grows. Not sure if I buy the fictionalized version of old school Dallas Theological seminary approach to prophecy. The anti-christ is probably muslim, from Egypt or Turkey not Eastern Europe. The Ten nation confederacy is the Mediterranean Union not the EU and the USA is not going to be raptured awawy but judged, sadly. That being the case, there are more exciting Christian thrillers out there, some are better written, others are more grounded in the Bible. But a good start for people starting with zero knowledge -- at least the fundamentals of Bible prophecy are in this series and the Jenkins-LaHaye team have struck a nerve in the apocalyptic literature genre.

posted by 1791667 on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Transition

    The second book in the Left Behind series focuses again on our main characters: pilot Rayford Steele and his daughter Chloe, reporter Cameron "Buck" Williams, and pastor Bruce Barnes. They have formed their own band of believers, they know that Nicolae Carpathia is the Antichrist, and now what will they do?

    Rayford and Buck begin to work for Nicolae and his regime (Nicolae creates "Global Everything") and quickly realize that their status as believers is best kept undercover so they can keep working with the other Trib Force members. Some personal relationships are further developed but seem a little awkward in their interactions.

    To me, this was sort of a setting the scene book. It is necessary to get from one place to the next, just was not my favorite of all of them....but, I enjoyed it just the same

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Ender

    Oh whatever then, be forcemated...i give up. You apparently want this))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this one much better than the first one. There were still some instances that bothered me. Maybe it's just a personal thing, feeling that the way some of the characters interacted with one another wasn't realistic (mainly dialogue). However, I enjoyed the intense emotions that the last couple of chapters brought out in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Great End Times Fiction!

    This second book in the "Left Behind" series is an awesome read! I read this entire series while I was on a 6 week bed rest. I was stuck at home, nothing to do, nowhere to go and feeling a bit sorry for myself. These books, beginning with this one, made me so excited for Jesus' return and made me want to dig deeper into my bible.

    The plot is good, the good characters are likeable, the evil characters hate-able (and sometimes pretty laughable), and it stays as true to God's word as possible... if you're a pre-millenial rapture kinda believer. Even if you don't know where you stand on that issue, this book is still a must read. It's not only good entertainment but is also very thought-provoking whether you believe this it the way it will all happen in the end or not. This book is similar to the movie (if you've seen in and I highly recommend it, too). But, like with all movies, the book is ALWAYS better. This book takes place after the Rapture (which happened in the 1st book) and goes through the beginning of The Great 7-year Tribulation. It'll make you hungry to read your bible and I know at least a couple people who gave their lives to Jesus because of reading it.

    I give this book 4 stars because the writing is just common-place. I'm a reader of classic literature and only give 5 stars to truly amazing reads. I think you'll love this book, though, especially if you're eagerly awaiting Christ's return or trying to find out what Christianity is all about. This book will definitely entertain you and may even change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    After the Rapture - Now what?

    The second book in the best-selling Left Behind series showcases Rayford Steele, Cameron "Buck" Williams, other family members, and the evil Nicolae Carpathia. Rayford, his daughter Chloe, and Buck explore their new found faith in God, and together forge a collation that will be called the Tribulation Force. Entering the drama is a Dr. Chaim Rosennzweig, an Israeli scientist, with an uncanny knowledge of Scriptures. Together the Trib Force attempt to survive the mining work of the world's new dictator Carpathia. The authors' latent work on the theme climaxes to what the Christian book of Revelation refers to as the Red Horse of Death. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Trib Force

    "Tribulation Force" is the second is the series of books by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins chronicling the events that take place in the world during the end times. The books follow several main characters as they fight for their lives and for their faith as the world makes its way to the last days. In this book, the Rapture has occurred, and now the characters from the first book decide to form a force (the "Tribulation Force") to fight the evil that is coming to the world. Rayford and Buck find themselves working for the person who they believe is the Antichrist, and it is only a matter of time before their faith in the true Christ is known. This series of novels is a fictionalized account of the events of the end times. I enjoyed the whole series, and this book was good, but I think I enjoyed "Left Behind" better than this one. What I did like about this book was how the characters have decided to do something about their situation instead of just letting things happen to them. They take action and start to fight for their faith instead of being passive and just letting things happen. While this book is geared towards Christians, there is enough action and depth to it that should appeal to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    A great object lesson for today!

    Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkin's Tribulation Force, the second book in the Left Behind Series, picks up after the cliff-hanger ending of book one. Nicholae Carpathia becomes the Supreme Potentate of the UN and astounds the world by manipulating a true peace between Israel and the rest of the Middle East. The folks who are left behind then begin experiencing the eighteen months of peace, which the Bible prophesies will follow that agreement.

    During this time of peace, the main characters Buck, Rayford, and Chloe seek the help of church assistant Bruce Barnes to study the Scriptures. Soon they realize that the Rapture took all believing Christians from the earth and that-according to Bible prophecy-what will follow is a seven-year Tribulation period before Christ comes again. They also become convinced of their need for the Savior and give their lives to Christ. Most evangelical groups refer to those who believe in Christ after the Rapture as Tribulation Saints. So young Chloe nicknames their group, The Tribulation Force.

    Though they understand from the Bible that evil will be unleashed on earth during the Tribulation period, the members of the Tribulation Force cannot sit idly by and watch it happen. They become key players in world history-Rayford pilots Carpathia's plane, Buck heads the Global Community Weekly-and even manage moments of joy when they fall in love and marry. Then World War III breaks out and . . . well, I guess you'll have to read or re-read the series to discover what happens next.

    Though this book is fiction, it was a great object lesson to me concerning how folks-power-hungry leaders, foolish celebrities, everyday people with their heads in the sand-can cry out "Peace, peace," when anyone around them can clearly see that there is no peace. I see this attitude of denial in the world today.

    At the time they were first published (beginning in 1995), the books in the Left Behind Series were truly forerunners. They expanded the Christian fiction genre, paved the way for other inspirational authors, and highlighted what the Bible has to say about the future. I hope a whole new generation will discover this exciting series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2