Customer Reviews for

Tribute

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Read

Cilla McGowen was raised in the spotlight. Her Grandmother was the famous Janet Hardy; a child star turned Hollywood actress and famous singer. Her mother, Dilly, wasn't quite as famous as Janet but managed to stay in the Hollywood spotlight all her life. From a very yo...
Cilla McGowen was raised in the spotlight. Her Grandmother was the famous Janet Hardy; a child star turned Hollywood actress and famous singer. Her mother, Dilly, wasn't quite as famous as Janet but managed to stay in the Hollywood spotlight all her life. From a very young age Cilla was thrust in front of the cameras by her mom. She was part of a successful TV show, made a few records, but by the time she was an adult she was pretty much a has-been.

Happy to be out of the public life, Cilla now makes her money flipping houses; it is a labor of love. Finally getting her hands on her famous Grandmothers long neglected farm, Cilla is rehabbing to make herself a home. Questions surround her Grandmothers too early death and as Cilla repairs the house, she seeks answers. But someone doesn't want Cilla around and is making things very difficult for her, her friends and workers. Finding a friend and an unexpected love in her graphic novelist neighbor, Ford Sawyer, Cilla gets some much needed TLC.

This is a lengthy new novel by Nora Roberts, but amazingly enough I flew through 451 pages, easily, I absolutely loved it.

What Nora does better than anyone is create unforgettable and magnificent characters. This book is filled with people who are written so well, you can see them so clearly and you feel like you know them. Every character in this book added something to this story; love, sex, fear, annoyance, growth, laughter, and sadness. You get as invested with the side characters as you do with the main characters. I love that about her work

Cilla is a heroine not without flaws; she's both hard and soft and has been emotionally drained. She's personable and knows her strengths and weaknesses. I found her extremely relatable. Ford was funny, charming and sexy. It took me all about a page to fall for him and his crazy dog.

The story is strong and takes the reader through past and present day at the farm with clever little visits from the Grandmother. Uncovering the secrets of the past and dealing with the danger of the present lead you through a suspenseful and gripping read. I admit I knew who did it pretty much from the start, but Nora added a little something extra that threw me off and added plenty of surprise at the end.

This book has everything; a solid mystery, a love story, humor and healing. I really enjoyed it.. This book showcases every reason why I love Nora Roberts writing so much!!!!

posted by 182683 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Beach Read

The book listed for Roberts in the romance recommendation guide I was working through is Born in Fire, the first of a trilogy, which I'd tried before. I didn't care for it. The style struck me as clunky--I remember head-hopping among other stylistic nits that drove me c...
The book listed for Roberts in the romance recommendation guide I was working through is Born in Fire, the first of a trilogy, which I'd tried before. I didn't care for it. The style struck me as clunky--I remember head-hopping among other stylistic nits that drove me crazy. The Irish characters also struck me as cliched stereotypes. However, Robert's not just a very well-regarded author in the genre (and prolific, almost 500 books) she's one of those that made it out of the genre ghetto into the mainstream bestseller ranks. So I tried her 2009 book, Tribute, which notably was written 15 years after Born in Fire and found it a much smoother, enjoyable read with a much cleaner style. A book with appealing characters--a strong heroine and non-jerky hero--that featured a page-turner mystery plot I can still remember a year later. (And how can I resist a hero with a dog named Spock?) I liked how the author worked in the details of the hero and heroine's professions--in her case, renovating houses, in his, creating graphic novels. Now, the book's not a keeper--not one of those with space on my bookshelves I consider a peak reading experience or would ever want to reread. But it was an enjoyable way to spend some hours.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Read

    Cilla McGowen was raised in the spotlight. Her Grandmother was the famous Janet Hardy; a child star turned Hollywood actress and famous singer. Her mother, Dilly, wasn't quite as famous as Janet but managed to stay in the Hollywood spotlight all her life. From a very young age Cilla was thrust in front of the cameras by her mom. She was part of a successful TV show, made a few records, but by the time she was an adult she was pretty much a has-been. <BR/><BR/>Happy to be out of the public life, Cilla now makes her money flipping houses; it is a labor of love. Finally getting her hands on her famous Grandmothers long neglected farm, Cilla is rehabbing to make herself a home. Questions surround her Grandmothers too early death and as Cilla repairs the house, she seeks answers. But someone doesn't want Cilla around and is making things very difficult for her, her friends and workers. Finding a friend and an unexpected love in her graphic novelist neighbor, Ford Sawyer, Cilla gets some much needed TLC. <BR/><BR/>This is a lengthy new novel by Nora Roberts, but amazingly enough I flew through 451 pages, easily, I absolutely loved it. <BR/><BR/>What Nora does better than anyone is create unforgettable and magnificent characters. This book is filled with people who are written so well, you can see them so clearly and you feel like you know them. Every character in this book added something to this story; love, sex, fear, annoyance, growth, laughter, and sadness. You get as invested with the side characters as you do with the main characters. I love that about her work <BR/><BR/>Cilla is a heroine not without flaws; she's both hard and soft and has been emotionally drained. She's personable and knows her strengths and weaknesses. I found her extremely relatable. Ford was funny, charming and sexy. It took me all about a page to fall for him and his crazy dog. <BR/><BR/>The story is strong and takes the reader through past and present day at the farm with clever little visits from the Grandmother. Uncovering the secrets of the past and dealing with the danger of the present lead you through a suspenseful and gripping read. I admit I knew who did it pretty much from the start, but Nora added a little something extra that threw me off and added plenty of surprise at the end. <BR/><BR/>This book has everything; a solid mystery, a love story, humor and healing. I really enjoyed it.. This book showcases every reason why I love Nora Roberts writing so much!!!!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I enjoyed this book so much! I have read most of Nora Roberts's books and this one kept me entertained for hours.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    CAPTIVATING

    TRIBUTE IS A WONDERFUL STORY ABOUT FAMILY AND BUILDING A "HOME". FOR A PERSON WHO NEVER HAD A HOME THE CHARACTER LEARNS WHAT IS IMPORTANT IN LIFE WHICH ISN'T ALWAYS BLOOD, BUT MAKING A PLACE FOR YOURSELF AND FINDING OUT WHAT REALLY MATTERS. IT KEPT ME GUESSING TILL THE END, AND THINKING I HAD FIGURED IT OUT, WHICH I HADN'T. MY ONLY REGRET IS THAT THE STORY HAD TO END. I LOVE NORA AND HER ALTER JD ROBB.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable

    Incredible read. Tribute was a hard book to put down. As is usual with Nora Roberts it was a very well written story.

    I was drawn in from the first page....agonizing over the terrorism of Cilla and the mystery of Janet's death. In the end you'll think "I didn't see that one coming."

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I loved this book!!!!

    I was looking for a book which fell into the type of book I love. I like some of the old Barbara Michaels books, which normally involve an old house or mansion where the attic is being cleared out, a one hundred year old unsolved mystery with a strong female character who ends up in love. Gothic ghosty mysterys. I chose this book because it had some of those qualities not knowing anything about the author.

    I found that I loved this book and the writers style. I am looking forward to reading more of NR's books. The characters I fell in love with and I loved living in their world for a short period of time. My only sadness was that when it ended, I no longer got to live in that world in my readings.

    I had read a Nora Roberts book once before, but I just found that out looking for some other books to purchase. I had read the Blue Dahlia, which was good, but not one where i looked up who the author was, which is why I didn't even know she wrote it.

    I hope some of her other books are similar if not better than Tribute.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Read this one!

    I have not cared for the newer Nora Roberts books, such as the garden trilogy(characters not very interesting), but this one is Nora at her best!It is more in the style of "Sanctuary", a story that is rooted in the past but still imposing on the present day lives of the characters. The male lead character is wonderful - you feel like you know this guy and he is not super strong or incredibly beautiful - just a real guy with an interesting and believable career. And I must mention his dog who is truly an enjoyable part of this story. This book also has lots of humour and wit and credible situations - one of the books that you sort of hate to see end because you want just a few more chapters! Truly an enjoyable read - a great book to escape with. Also if you have ever done a remodel project you will strongly relate to some of the scenes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Strong Women

    Another excellent read from Nora Roberts. This time our heroine has a very interesting past. A good novel for young minds to see that 'fame' is not everything and with it comes many trials. This is a book with a strong single woman has it's central character. enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I BUY ALL OF NORA'S BOOKS!

    This one is fascinating and interesting and I agree with the good reviews!! While reviewing, I feel the need to recommend a book, E X P L O S I O N I N P A R I S , by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG, that I absolutely fell in love with!! It should be on every woman's book club list!! Check out the reviews and you'll be hooked, as I was!!! EXPLOSION IN PARIS!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    not bad

    A bit drawn out and boring at parts. I noticed some things that were in the sisters trilogy were in this book. But you just have to fall in love with Ford and his dog. Made the story worth it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    Thre isn't a book I don't have by my favorite author. I had to get another shelf for this one. In Tribute, her writting continues to shine and to grow. Love you Nora

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Beach Read

    The book listed for Roberts in the romance recommendation guide I was working through is Born in Fire, the first of a trilogy, which I'd tried before. I didn't care for it. The style struck me as clunky--I remember head-hopping among other stylistic nits that drove me crazy. The Irish characters also struck me as cliched stereotypes. However, Robert's not just a very well-regarded author in the genre (and prolific, almost 500 books) she's one of those that made it out of the genre ghetto into the mainstream bestseller ranks. So I tried her 2009 book, Tribute, which notably was written 15 years after Born in Fire and found it a much smoother, enjoyable read with a much cleaner style. A book with appealing characters--a strong heroine and non-jerky hero--that featured a page-turner mystery plot I can still remember a year later. (And how can I resist a hero with a dog named Spock?) I liked how the author worked in the details of the hero and heroine's professions--in her case, renovating houses, in his, creating graphic novels. Now, the book's not a keeper--not one of those with space on my bookshelves I consider a peak reading experience or would ever want to reread. But it was an enjoyable way to spend some hours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Tribute - Best of Nora's past 12 books

    Great reading, fun characters, and cute. Warm. You won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enticing Read

    Another amazing Nora Robert book. I love Cilla Mcgowan, she was born into a star filled family but prefers to restore houses and she goes to her deceased grandmother's farm to restore it and find a piece of her life she feels like she is missing, and to maybe even figure out what really happened to her grandmother the beautiful Janet Hardy. She meets her neighbor Ford Sawyer who is a comic book writer. This story will keep you interested from the 1st page all the way to the last

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps me awake!

    I love this book. I never put it down and I read it for 24 hours straight. I would recommened this book to anybody! I love Nora Roberts and wish to meet her someday! MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't put it down!

    While remodeling her grandmother's house, she becomes the center of a killer's attention. They want her gone and out of the town... and quick! After countless warnings to make her leave, the killer has no choice but to confront her for the last final time!

    For every attempt the killer makes to get her to leave, you can't help but wonder what will happen next! And because of that, this book is readable in a day (although your washing will not get done and your house will not be clean... but it's sooo worth it!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    This is a great book. I saw the movie and had to have the book. And the book is so much better than the movie. A real page turner. I couldn't put it down. True to Nora Roberts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll sigh and you'll shriek as surprise after surprise occurs in this wonderful romance/mystery. Don't miss it.

    This was such an exciting story building in passion and mystery. Cilla leaves Hollywood to find a new life and answers to questions about her grandmother's death. She is restoring the farm owned by her grandmother - who had found happiness there and where she committed suicide. While Cilla goes full steam ahead with a crew of engineers and herself to bring the farm to life her neighbor Ford Sawyer eases his way into her life - a handsome, nice and successful graphic novelist who is willing to let the relationship be paced by Cilla who is wary of love. Things get dangerous for Cilla as someone damages the work she has done in an attempt to threaten Cilla or drive her away - they almost succeed. Ford shines like a hero and he helps put the peaces of the puzzle together. However, the person doing these things nearly accomplishes their mission. The ending is very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Triblue review

    Love Nora Roberts ability to twist the tale with Mystery & romance. Great story telling. Keeps me coming back for more!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Usually love Nora Roberts books but this one was disappointing. There were a lot of time jumps and it was hard to follow. There was no "ending" and the book left me wanting.

    Nora Roberts in the past has written delightful love stories complete with intimate love scenes. This book was lacking in story line, love scenes and a "happy ending." I was sorely disappointed in this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    my favorite author

    Nora Roberts continues to be my favorite author. The stories are always different and interesting. She researches the details of the subject so you learn something as well as just enjoy the story. The characters are well-developed and she always leaves me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11