Customer Reviews for

A Trick of the Light (Armand Gamache Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Winner for Louise Penny

I think my wife may be getting jealous as I was up almost all night again with another Louise Penny novel. One would think that some many murders in one little village would be impossible, but Louise Penny makes it seem plausible. The only issue I have with her books ...
I think my wife may be getting jealous as I was up almost all night again with another Louise Penny novel. One would think that some many murders in one little village would be impossible, but Louise Penny makes it seem plausible. The only issue I have with her books is the wait until the next one. Personally, I think she is a genius and I would place her among my favorites, Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, Rex Stout, Steig Larson, and Tom Clancy.

Penny's writing is truly amazing. I feel like I would like to go to Three Pines and meet the people who live there. Armand Gamache is someone I would not only like to meet, but to work for. All of the cliches about being a "page turner" and "I could not put down" apply to all of Penny's works, but especially to this one. The one caution I have is that you really need to read Bury Your Dead to fully understand what is happening to Gamache and his fellow investigators.

The entire Inspector Gamache series are great books. I heartily recommend that you read them in order, but it is not a requirement to enjoying these mysteries. I read this in two nights, pity I had to go to work, but I can now turn my attention to my wife and avoid the problems that Peter Morrow is now dealing with.

posted by Texas-Buckeye on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was so looking forward to this addition to the Armand Gamache series. Every book Louise Penny has written has been better and better. But Heck Ned, this one is only OK. Just about all of the characters are wallowing in their self-imposed adult angst, and as a result, ...
I was so looking forward to this addition to the Armand Gamache series. Every book Louise Penny has written has been better and better. But Heck Ned, this one is only OK. Just about all of the characters are wallowing in their self-imposed adult angst, and as a result, the story was slowly paced, lacked excitement and the characters weren't as appealing as they have been. Jean Guy's weird obsession with his boss's daughter was particularly disturbing. Guess I'll hope for the best on the next one.

posted by 2894730 on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A must read! Check it out

    An intelligent and literate author writes a thinking person's mystery.
    Louise Penny has the courage to make her inspector a mature, balanced person who is not dysfunctional. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For fans of Louise Penny-highly recommended

    Penny does not disappoint in her ongoing saga and mysteries behind Three Pines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    HESTIA CABIN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Asha

    Thsnk ya! Go iris

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    I have read every single book in the Inspector Gamache series an

    I have read every single book in the Inspector Gamache series and thoroughly enjoyed each one. Louise Penny has never disappointed. I became interested in all her recurring characters in the very first book. An amazing talent to make these characters become like old friends. I'm always waiting for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I've read all the Armand Gamache mystery's. I hold my breath til

    I've read all the Armand Gamache mystery's. I hold my breath till the next book is released. I cannot tell you how much I enjoy Louise Penny's books. I almost feel like I'm part of the Three Pines family. Great author to get hooked on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    TRAINING

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Just delightful ! Pulled in characteristics of many previous re

    Just delightful ! Pulled in characteristics of many previous residents and family -- showing a tad more of the dreadful attack which reappears throughout all the books. Found it helpful to have read the previous books, setting up weaknesses -- leading to "false" guesses on who the murderer really was. All the main characters are such delightful folks, I keep wanting to know more and more of them. Anticipating the next one ! Thanks so much, Mrs Penny !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Trick of the Light

    As with Miss Marple, or the folks who live in the environs of the protagonist in “Murder She Wrote,” and as a couple of the residents of Three Pines say, “there must be something in the water,” almost “a cottage industry.” And to quote the author, “this little village produced bodies and gourmet meals in equal proportion.” For shortly after Louise Penny’s newest Chief Inspector Gamache book opens, a celebratory party held in that bucolic Quebec village just south of Montreal is dampened when a dead body is found in the garden of the hosts, Clara and Peter Morrow, with her neck broken. A decidedly personal manner of death, all agree. The dead woman, Lillian Dyson, was Clara’s BFF [before there was such a term] many decades earlier, their friendship coming to a shattering end when Dyson’s treachery became known, and it had been years since they had had any contact. The party itself followed a vernissage, a private solo showing of the artist’s work at the Musee d’Art Contemporain in Montreal, a dream come true for Clara.

    Armand Gamache, the deceptively mild-mannered head of homicide for the famed Surete du Quebec, and his second in command, Jean Guy Beauvoir, are investigating the murder, not the first time they had come to Three Pines on such a mission. As Gamache says, “Why not just move the whole homicide department down here?” [In jest, almost certainly.] Jean Guy, with his unspoken love for Gamache’s daughter [who is, after all, married], is still recovering, mentally as well as physically, from a horrific incident six months prior, as is Gamache himself. [Although not essential, I’d recommend first reading the prior book in the series, “Bury Your Dead,” as to the events and the repercussions thereof which ended that book.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    I'm in love with Armand Gamache!

    I adore this series, and I love that it is set in Canada (primarily the tiny Quebec village of 3 Pines) rather than the usual British or US locales for the genre. Louise Penny always throws some interesting twists into her books, and the characters are so well fleshed that after 7 books, they feel like good friends. This is not the very best book in the series, but it is still wonderful and a thoroughly enjoyable read. Highly recommend that a new reader to the series start at book one and read the series in order. I will be eagerly anticipating Book 8.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Simply

    Wonderful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    MaryGfromNewJersey

    Absolutely one of my favorite authors. I couldn't put it down and when I was finished I wanted more. Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another 5 star read from Louise Penny

    A Trick of the Light is a wonderful book. Yes, it is a murder mystery (there is always a body!) but it is so much more. The characters are so well created they feel real. Reading one of Louise's books is like going home to Three Pines and meeting with all your old friends. For anyone who has not discovered these books, start now. Start with the first one and catch up, you will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent mystery

    This audio book comes in a 9-CD compilation, read by Ralph Cosham. The plot is quite interesting and will keep you paying close attention till the end. Clara Morrow is an artist that has her own solo show at the MAC in Montreal. After the vernissage, there is a party at her house in Three Pines. In the morning following this party, a body is found on her garden. Chief Inspector Gamache and his number two in command start working on the case. they had being at the vernissage, as they were friends of Clara and other people from Three Pines where previously they solved a murder case. But in this Art World nothing is as it seems. The person who was murdered is identified as Lillian Dyson, an art critic and an old friend of Clara, before changing into a foe. Nobody is this art world seems to like her. But she vanished from scenes long ago to reapear eight months ago, back from NY into Montreal. Her "new life" is different and her art improved, but somehow now she is dead. Chief Inspector Gamache and his team have to figure out what happen while dealing with some internal issues due to a deadly attack on their team the year before. Overall this is a masterpice composed by Mrs. Louise Penny, where each character is described in rich details and the voice that Ralph Cosham uses for each one is simply priceless. His narration is superb and contributes a lot to the success of this audiobook. Excellent murder mystery, a must have in the permanent library of any reader that enjoys this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This series gets better with each book!

    I had the pleasure of seeing Ms. Penney at author talk recently, and she is just as wonderful to listen to as her books are to read. Her latest book is the seventh in a series set in Canada, primarily in Quebec and the fictional town of Three Pines.
    One of the best things about her books is the extraordinary character development. The murder is always central to the plot but the interactions of the people involved in the situation are just as important. In this book, the people of Three Pines are like old friends involved in a messy situation. The murder rips open the scabs on relationships that have been damaged. Some will re-heal and some appear to be beyond repair. Ms. Penny gives just enough back story that first time readers will have an enjoyable read, but the long time reader will get the subtle nuances of the book.
    Clara and Peter have always had a complicated relationship and I have always had a lot of antipathy towards Peter's character. In this book, he is his usual jealous self but we see some of the history behind that and I felt some sympathy for him. Poor Clara finally has her own art show and then the body of her childhood "frenemy" turns up in her garden and takes all of the sparkle out of the occasion. Ruth, the town's crusty poet, is her usual nasty self but in an almost loveable way in some instances. Chief Inspector Gamache and his second in command Jean-Guy Beauvior have made it through a terrible shared experience with their relationship intact. Or have they?
    Every new book in this series is a treasure. This book continues in that manner. As a reader, I could not put the book down and when it was done, I was ready for the next one. Being obsessive about reading books in a series in order, I would recommend reading the earlier books, starting with Still Life. However, if that is not possible, a new reader would still find this a great book to read. It would be worth it to buy the whole series because they are simply wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Her writing is just so good and you feel like you're there in Three Pines. The characters are wonderful and the mystery, as with her other books, keeps you guessing. And of course she leaves you wanting more and going "what will happen". Anxiously awaiting book 8!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    a great mystery series

    From the first book, "A Still Life" to the last one "A Trick of the Light" this series is one of the best I have ever read. The characters, the story, the mystery are beyond exciting and captivating. You will want to become friends with these people and at least visit Three Pines. Please begin with the first book in the series - it is worth tracking all the first 6 books down, and beginning with "A Still Life".

    The publisher review tells you enough about the book - I will say that I am sad to have finished the last book (I couldn't wait to start it) and highly anticipate the next one in this series. This is Masterpiece Mystery Theater worthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4