Customer Reviews for

Tricked (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Like most really good authors, Hearne is getting better with eac

    Like most really good authors, Hearne is getting better with each book. The absolute only complaint I have with his books is that they are too short. I finish one in no time and then have to sit miserably awaiting his next book. Great job!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Atticus and Coyote are getting into trouble together. Someone sh

    Atticus and Coyote are getting into trouble together. Someone should have told the druid that Trickster gods always win...

    I love this continuation of the Iron Druid Chronicles. It was fast paced, and engaging, but I think it's a set-up book. That's not unexpected at this point in the series, there are some major changes taking place and TRICKED is setting the stage for the next big battle. There's plenty of action in TRICKED, but the stakes aren't as high as in HAMMERED until the bitter end.

    Overall, a good book I'd recommend to fans of the Dresden Files, Terry Pratchett's Discworld, and the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    TIME SHOULD STOP WHEN A NEW ATTICUS BOOK IS RELEASED! Review br

    TIME SHOULD STOP WHEN A NEW ATTICUS BOOK IS RELEASED!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Verushka

    I wish desperately that everything could stop when a new Atticus novel is released – and by that I mean work, emails and you know just real life. It’s easy to get lost in the books of this series, and to get grumpy when real life beckons you – okay, just me – out.

    Tricked is a start to what is a new segment of Atticus’ life. It has the feel of being the first half of a greater story, with the focus in this title being on the groundwork for his, Oberon and Granuaile’s new life in Arizona. With change, Hearne takes his intrepid trio into Coyote’s world and Native American mythology (Coyote being the Trickster of the previous novels).

    Coyote enlists Atticus help to help his people, in essence, and while the thought is to be commended, he basically leaves it up to Atticus to do all the heavy lifting, slaying and saving.

    Skinwalkers. Let me leave that with you. Please remember also this is Kevin Hearne so whatever you think you know, chuck it out and get lost in the ride, research and writing.

    At the beginning of this book, we get an inkling of the greater powers snapping at Atticus’ heels, even though he has faked his death by all accounts, before Atticus’ true adventure begins. I confess I felt the lack of knowledge about the greater powers at work keenly in this book. I guess I don’t need to know everything coming up, but I did hope for more than what we were told.

    Without his familiar surroundings and numerous groups and Gods vying for his attention, Atticus’ attention is also focused on Granuaile and her presence in his life. I figured there was a romance coming, but the slow simmer has hit the boiling point pretty quickly – well okay, four books isn’t quick, but it took some getting used to. Granuaile is probably the one person he has let gets close to him in a long while, so it’s going to be a treat watching her deal with him.

    Oberon…at this stage, I think he deserves his own title. Hearne’s absolute talent at writing humor never shines as brightly than with Oberon and I will gladly read anything and everything that features him.

    I confess it is jarring not having Morrigan, the Widow Macdonagh (much of her that is), or Leif and Hal in this story, but everything changes and for a druid who has lived millennia, this move was bound to happen. Old, established friendships are also changed profoundly in this novel and I will mourn the loss of Leif’s friendship in Atticus’ life – and it’s more than a move that changes things between them.

    Overall, this is a beginning to a new chapter in Atticus’ life and I am going to sit on my hands and remind myself constantly that I can’t know everything straightaway. I’m just going to have to wait for the next one and the one after that!

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    Tricked a bit of a re-run

    the first book hounded was a surprise, so bought next three...each one kept getting a bit deeper in character and action - somewhat like a marvel comic book storyline - lots of fun but possible; however, tricked was a bit flat and predictable. :( I had high hopes for more and more. come on Mr Hearne, do not take your readers for granted now - you have the audience - please keep working hard and growing your character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Love this series!! A must read!

    Absolutely LOVED this series. I was hooked immediately! At times I found myself laughing out loud. Really enjoyed this book! This is a must read for sure :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Fantastic series

    A must read, especially if you love the Dresden Files!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Very good. Highly entertaining!

    I love all these Iron Druid books and this one is right up there as a highly entertaining book. Hearne keeps everything fast paced. The jokes keep going back and forth. His characters are witty. Really want to read book #5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great book

    Perfect

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Andrew

    Finr

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Must read series

    Read this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Fatty

    &#1492 if you do this, it types your words back qards

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Gandalf

    Huh? Idg what ur sayin

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    There are many repercussions from Atticus' previous decisions an

    There are many repercussions from Atticus' previous decisions and he decides that the only way he can live with so many Gods wanting him dead is to fake his death.  It isn't easy to fool one God, let alone all those out to get him so he enlists the help of Coyote who wants a little favor in return.  But Coyote doesn't quite tell him the full extent of the favor and Atticus finds himself once again in a very slippery situation and fighting for his life.  Coyote is a trickster after all.  Luckily he has Oberon and Granuaile to help through the madness.  Atticus is caught up in another crazy adventure but it doesn't come without its scars.  We are told more amazing folklore and introduced to a few more scary creatures.




    On the story...
    This wasn't my favorite installment of this series but it was still very enjoyable.  It picks a bit after the last installment left off and we have to wait a bit to find out what happened to the widow.  We learn more folklore which seemed a big long winded this time around.  BUT we meet some new creatures that turn out to be just horrific.  I didn't think it could get any worse but it does.  I love the slow unveiling of Atticus' history and it progresses further here.  I feel like I really know this series now and I know what to expect but Mr. Hearne just has a way of whipping out surprises that really rock the boat.  Atticus is betrayed a couple of times.  One in particular really blew my mind.  I was so speechless.  I'm glad to see more of Oberon and Granualile in this installment though Oberon is my favorite by far.  I grew a little irritated by some of Atticus' and Oberon's American culture references.  This has always been a part of their interactions but it seemed excessive this time around.




    On the narrator...
    Luke Daniels.  Amazing.  Can this guy really do any MORE voices?  That is all.




    Overall...
    Very solid and adventurous installment with a few small annoyances.




    P.S.  Anyone else want to get rid of Granualile?  I don't have a real reason for it, but I wouldn't mind it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Another great book that keeps the series moving along.

    All the great parts from the previous books show up again. The characters are starting to really come together and you start to feel invested in them. If you liked the previous books you have to get this one to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Fun, smart and entertaining

    Kevin Hearne is my new favorite author. This book and the first three are all enjoyable reads. Finally a writer with the ability to mix action, mystery and a bit of romance on the side with a unique blend of mythology in the modern world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Slightly ho-hum but still a good read

    Coyote gets bit old and worn thin. I was a bit fed up with his cr&p.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tricked Iron Druid Chronicles Book Four By Kevin Hearne Narrate

    Tricked
    Iron Druid Chronicles Book Four
    By Kevin Hearne
    Narrated by Luke Daniels

    Atticus O’Sullivan is back, this time he is paying a debt to the Navajo trickster god Coyote after Coyote takes on Atticus’ form to help him fake his death. Atticus must move some earth, in this case gold. But as is the norm for a trickster god the simple task of moving some earth comes with a twist.

    This is not one of those books that will forever change your life after you read it but it will however entertain you immensely for eleven hours as you listen to the quirky commentary, fast paced action, and absurd scenarios all brought to life by Luke Daniels amazing narration. Kevin Hearne has created a series that is absolutely hilarious yet has intense action scenes as the Druid seems to always find himself in trouble. This novel has a certain twist, which I must keep to myself as it will most definitely spoil a part of the book, that is so unexpected yet you wonder why you didn’t think of it in the first place. I love this series, but the best experience I have had is in listening to the narration. Luke Daniels is phenomenal in bringing to life each of the characters with his ability to seamlessly switch from one voice to the next, from the western accent to Oberon’s voice this is a must listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Excited!

    The next book comes out soon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great series.

    Love this series. Very entertaining and full of surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8