Customer Reviews for

Trickster's Choice (Trickster Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Review for Trickster's Choice

I started reading Tamora Peirce in the summer after my 7th grade year. I fell in love with her Lioness series, and then with the other Tortall books. (I liked the Circle series, but Tortall was just much neater.)

Even though the Trickster's series came out by ...
I started reading Tamora Peirce in the summer after my 7th grade year. I fell in love with her Lioness series, and then with the other Tortall books. (I liked the Circle series, but Tortall was just much neater.)

Even though the Trickster's series came out by the time I had reached highschool, I still read the books out of curiosity. I was delighted to find that they were wonderful reads, though can you expect less from Tamora Peirce?

Now I am 21, and I still love the books, and am purchaseing the lot of them.

They are written for girls in thier preteen to early teen years. However, I felt the Trickster's Choice will appeal to women in their late teens and early 20s or older, as will the sequel Trickster's Queen. Their is a backstory from her earlier books, and if you havn't read The Lioness Quartet, the Wild Magic series, or the Protector of the Small, you won't know some the character's as well as you could. However, the book is a wonderful stand alone and I would highly recommend it to any age.

posted by Chrissy_Mae on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Trickster's Choice by Tamora Pierce, I have come to the conclusion that this book isn't necessarily a disaster, but it isn't good, either. Something that is good about this book is that it has a strong heroine that isn't weak and helpless, like th...
After reading Trickster's Choice by Tamora Pierce, I have come to the conclusion that this book isn't necessarily a disaster, but it isn't good, either. Something that is good about this book is that it has a strong heroine that isn't weak and helpless, like the female characters that you can come across in some fantasy books. Also the places and customs in the book are really believable. Lastly, the plot of the book is, over all, well developed and mostly interesting. However, there are a number of things in this book that keep me from recommending it. First of all, the book is polytheistic. There are multiple gods and talk of 'immortals' which may be a little offensive to some people's faith. Next, there is a LOT of political turmoil that can get boring at times. Also, there are so many characters introduced in the book that it got confusing. Last of all, between the politics, the extensive geography that the book was set in and the many characters, I had to flip back to get my bearings often. So all in all, there were just to many bad things about this book than good for me to recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing escape from everyday life.

    This was the first book that got me into Tamora Pierce and I am so glad it did! I have read this book so many times that the cover has fallen off and I've had to tape it back on multiple times. The first time I read this I was so draw into the plot that I actually cryed and laughed out loud to some of the events that occur in the book. Even going back and rereading the book those emotions were still pulled out of me. I have recommended this book to many people and they love it as much as I do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review for Trickster's Choice

    I started reading Tamora Peirce in the summer after my 7th grade year. I fell in love with her Lioness series, and then with the other Tortall books. (I liked the Circle series, but Tortall was just much neater.) <BR/><BR/>Even though the Trickster's series came out by the time I had reached highschool, I still read the books out of curiosity. I was delighted to find that they were wonderful reads, though can you expect less from Tamora Peirce?<BR/><BR/>Now I am 21, and I still love the books, and am purchaseing the lot of them.<BR/><BR/>They are written for girls in thier preteen to early teen years. However, I felt the Trickster's Choice will appeal to women in their late teens and early 20s or older, as will the sequel Trickster's Queen. Their is a backstory from her earlier books, and if you havn't read The Lioness Quartet, the Wild Magic series, or the Protector of the Small, you won't know some the character's as well as you could. However, the book is a wonderful stand alone and I would highly recommend it to any age.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No Trick

    I started reading this book with no expectations, and was very surprised. The story line is well thought out, and the characters are well developed. The ideas are original, and I found myself laughing out loud at the Character Nawat more than once. My only complaint is that the names were a little hard to keep track of, however, Pierce supplies a handy list of phrase and character descriptions in the back of the book. Good idea.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    This makes my TOP 10!!!

    I LOVE this book to death!!!<BR/>Tamora Pierce has spun a tale that unwillingly has wiggled its way up up up to my TOP 10....and it is a remarkable book that though long, is worth the length!!! It shows how even women or rather, ESPECIALLY women can achieve what is thought to be out of their reach and I really love stories like this!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Long Time Fan That Is Very Impressed

    I have read all of Tamora Pierce's books, and this one has overall been my favorite. There is so much more plot than the other books in the Tortall series; most of them were all 'kill the villan, get the guy, save the world' kind of thing. This book is very different, Aly actually has to think rather than just slice up everyone that doesn't like Tortall (like her mother). I am very impressed with 'Trickster's Choice.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Awesomemess

    I've read 11 of Tamora Pierce's books, and so far, overall, this
    is my favorite. The characters are interesting, the plot line is intriguing, and all the different relationships are enrapturing. TAMORA PIERCE IS AMAZING.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    One of my favorite Tamora Pierce books! I love the second one as well, Trickster's Queen. It was very well written and I really enjoyed Alianne as a character. I agree that some of the names can be a little confusing (I feel that way about most of the Tortall series) but totally worth the effort. I'm in my mid-twenties and I still love Tamora's books. Also, I have female and male friends in their 30's that enjoy her books. They aren't a challenge to read, but they are a breath of fresh air. I totally recommend this one. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Disappointing

    After reading Trickster's Choice by Tamora Pierce, I have come to the conclusion that this book isn't necessarily a disaster, but it isn't good, either. Something that is good about this book is that it has a strong heroine that isn't weak and helpless, like the female characters that you can come across in some fantasy books. Also the places and customs in the book are really believable. Lastly, the plot of the book is, over all, well developed and mostly interesting. However, there are a number of things in this book that keep me from recommending it. First of all, the book is polytheistic. There are multiple gods and talk of 'immortals' which may be a little offensive to some people's faith. Next, there is a LOT of political turmoil that can get boring at times. Also, there are so many characters introduced in the book that it got confusing. Last of all, between the politics, the extensive geography that the book was set in and the many characters, I had to flip back to get my bearings often. So all in all, there were just to many bad things about this book than good for me to recommend it.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Good Book

    I have read some other books by Tamora Pierce before and not really cared too much for them, but this book was really good! This book keeps you interested and if you like a good book, this is a good choice. The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is that I didn't think the ending was complete. Although it wasn't until after I read this book, I discovered it was a series, and that there was another book coming out!! I can't wait until then, but while everyone is waiting, you must read this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Hi

    Tamora Pierce has pulled off another amazing read. The book's main character is a girl who is a spy, which is a nice deviation from the other books she's written. I would higly reccomend this book to anyone. Best book I have bought so far on my nook:-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    Tamora Pierce is my first favorite author. Ive read all of her books including this one. Her main character and the heroine in this book Aly Cooper is funny, clever, sly and stong, just the type of person I enjoy reading about. Her adventures are always fun to read about, they keep you wanting more. I hope you enjoy this book. You wont be sorry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing

    When I start to read a book if it doesn't interest me in the first chapter, then I usually don't read the rest. This book was interesting in a different way than most books I read are. It was not very eventful at first but the characters were so funny and sarcastic that I fell in love with it right away. As I read the book, the action increased along with the humor. If you like to read funny but serious books then I definitely recommend this book. The adventures that Tamora Pierce takes you on are so captivating that you will find it hard to put the book down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    NOTICE!

    Ok, I just wanted to say that if you were confused about anything in this book there might me an explanation. That would be YOU HAVEN'T READ THE OTHER SERIES THAT COME BEFORE THIS ONE! Tamora Pierce's Tortall series: Terrier, Song of the Lioness, The Immortals, The Protector of the Small, and The Trickster are ALL interelated. If you want to get a better grasp on this AMAZING BOOK or learn more about characters such as Aly's mom, Alanna or her 'aunt' Daine go read these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Had got this at a book sale. Haven't yet the other series before this. But still found to be good, a little slow paced? But still a good read. Like Pierce's other series, Circle of Magic. So maybe I'll read the Alanna series, since I keep hearing its good and the original? Anyway, good start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Good book.Just make the meetings more interesting.

    I liked the book personally.The thing is,it bored me out when the meetings came.Some of the meetings are interesting,but most are not.Not saying its really bad...and I'm not saying its really good.Its a truly amusing book.~Anoymous(can't and won't say name,so Anoymous.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Awsome highly reccommended!

    Awsome highly reccommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Scripio

    Satisfing bio.... you may join Deathclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Nebula to trickstar

    Really nice bio. Same exact past a me kid. But you will get used to it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    To Trickstar

    It wasn't why don't you just create your own clan and the name wont be a prob?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    To trickster

    Well frostclan is real im not sure ligjclan is still active..........hard to find many evil clans that havent been driven out i recall only a few imposterclan deathclan anticlan to name a few all were disbanded....if you fpund so evil cla i guess that works

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21