Customer Reviews for

Trickster's Point (Cork O'Connor Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Intrigued...

    I am new to the world of Cork O'Connor. In fact, let me be truthful...I'm a bookseller who rides the bus, and had finished off my latest book during lunch. On my way out the door, I picked up an advance readers copy, not really expecting much.

    Was so swiftly engrossed in this novel...the characters, the premise, and within 24 hours of starting it, the resolution.

    Now the good thing about finding an author who is well into a series is that you have his previous novels to fulfill your fix. And, this I did. In fact, sideboarded my carefully laid out reading list in order to read the eleven preceeding this. May I say the first three have kept me intrigued.

    You go into a mindset here, where characters take precedence over a plot. Plot, well crafted, brings you back to the characters.

    If this is your introduction to Cork O'Connor, relish it-as well as knowing you can find previous episodes....k

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I got an ARC and this is really good. See below... Trickster¿s

    I got an ARC and this is really good. See below... Trickster’s Point by
    William Kent Krueger Atria Books, 2012 Review by Ed Shannon Perhaps joy
    and hope are strange words to describe a murder mystery; but with a
    writer of William Kent Krueger’s skill, suspense and mystery rise above
    normal descriptors. The newest novel in Krueger’s Cork O’Connor
    series, Trickster’s Point, is not only tightly crafted and plotted but
    also a joy to read. Set in the beauty of Northern Minnesota, the novel
    begins with O’Connor being interrogated about the death of Jubal Little,
    the odds on favorite to win Minnesota’s election for Governor. The
    initial evidence points to Cork and drives him to clear himself and
    search for the murderer of his childhood friend. Filled with credible
    suspects and motives, the novel follows Cork as the past and present
    flow together in a mystery that continually surprises and examines the
    nature of love and friendship, of the complexities of human nature. An
    integral part of the joy in this novel, as well as the entire series, is
    the manner in which Krueger combines a taut mystery and Native American
    culture with the humanity of his main character, Cork O’Connor. Cork is
    flawed but also much more. He is named Ogichidaa, one who stands
    between--between his people and evil. Cork rises above tragedy and
    danger in a search for truth; but truth is not always justice, justice
    not always truth. He must strive to balance his Shinnob heritage and
    his law enforcement background as he faces the darkness of human nature
    while protecting his people, friends, and family. This conflict as well
    as the central murder mystery make Cork O’Connor one of the most
    intriguing protagonists in the entire suspense genre. In fact, he is so
    well crafted that Krueger’s novels rise above the label of genre to
    those books that force us to face our own humanity, our own flaws.
    Joy and hope. Yes, the writing is a joy with its well-plotted mystery
    and flowing description of Minnesota’s natural beauty. Yes, there is
    joy in Cork’s acceptance of the existence of tragedy and evil but also
    in an unending belief in hope. Hope that light overcomes darkness, that
    balance can be achieved. This hope is inherent in the Shinnob culture,
    in Cork’s Irish Catholic heritage and is skillfully achieved in William
    Kent Krueger’s novels.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dilemma

    Cork O’Connor has faced many perplexing situations in this long-running series set in Upper Minnesota. None, however, is as stunning as takes place in this latest chapter, perhaps because it begins at Trickster’s Point, where, according to Native American legend nothing is what it seems as the spirits play games. At the foot of the monolith sit Cork and Jubal Little, the presumptive future Governor of Minnesota. An arrow protrudes from Jubal’s chest, right through his heart. He asks Cork to remain with him rather than go get help, and it takes three hours for him to die, during which he rambles on, sort of confessing many past transgressions, but really leaving more questions than answers.

    The arrow is an exact replica of those Cork makes for himself, leading to the suspicion that Cork may have killed his boyhood best friend. And Cork has to solve this mystery to exonerate himself. Another body is found nearby, that of a white man with a rifle. Who is he, and why is he there? Was he to have been backup in case the killer missed his target?

    While the murder mystery is an essential element of the novel, more important is the look at the relationships of the various characters, to each other and to the locale. The author’s appreciation of Native American culture and the environment in which the story takes place is, as usual, sensitive and insightful. Jubal is an enigmatic character, almost too large to be believed. Cork, however, continues to grow with each new entry in the series.

    Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Trickster's Point

    Another great book, have read all in the series and not disappointed by any of them. All great reads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Another good read!

    This has been the best of the series so far. Sad ending though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Another excellent book in the series

    This was a great read, as are all of William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor books. Again, we are reminded just how human Cork is in that his past is such an integral part of why he stayed and let his old childhood chum bleed out rather than drive out for help. Revisiting his past and how he got to where he finds himself in this book, squarely under suspicion for murder, is a riveting read. I got my first book in this series as part of the Nook Free Friday selection. I am so glad they offered it since it introduced me to this series. I feel like I have also gotten a culture lesson about the native Americans living in Minnesota and how they have joined white mans society but retained so much of their culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    An exceptional addition to an amazing series!!

    I stumbled upon Kruger's first in the O'Connor Series (Iron Lake) a couple of years ago and have read and enjoyed each and every one with Trickster's Point being among my favorites! His style creates a smooth and interesting read while keeping the suspense going right to the end of the book. I cannot recommend his books more to those that are looking for an exceptional new writer that displays his vast knowledge of the outdoors and mystery!! It is no surprise to me that he made the best seller list right out of the chute with this one!! Keep them coming Kent!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Best Book Yet

    I purchased this as a pre-order and waited for it to be available. Boy, I was not disappointed. It is in my opinion, the best book in the series Mr. Krueger has written. Good plotting, great characters and even better dialogue. A real five star winner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great story

    I love his booksd and they always keep you coming back for more. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    One of my favorite mystery series.

    I'm so glad I discovered this author. (I do believe it was from a free Friday book offer, his first book. It worked because I then subsequently ordered the rest of the series.) Cork is one of my favorite characters. Its an excellent mystery and the pieces of the puzzle all fall into place by the end of the book. I will preorder his next book again like I did this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I always look forward to the next installment in this series. W

    I always look forward to the next installment in this series. Within a few pages I feel like I am greeting an old friend. You haven't seen them in a while, but it's like you've always been with them. I think it is a combination of Mr. Krueger's excellent job of developing and maintaining his character's identity and his ability to tell a good story in an interesting way. I hope this series continues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent book! The book starts with a hunting trip and Cork bec

    Excellent book! The book starts with a hunting trip and Cork becoming the main suspect in the hunting accident death of his friend. Cork doesn't believe it wasn't an accident. We watch Cork progress between dealing with his emotions and his past growing up. Excellent thriller and mystery. This series is a joy to read and just keeps getting better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I thoroughly enjoy Kruegers characters, especially Cork O'Connor. He writes about the boundary water area up North and the Indian culture. I've read every book he has written and wait for the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Spellbinding! (Review by R.P. Abbey-"Boswells:Rom")

    Couldn't put it down, great characters and descriptive writing. I have to find more of this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Have not tired of these Cork O'Connor Stories

    After so many books in a series some authors begin to get predictable with the story lines. Not so with William Kent Krueger! He still keeps me caught up in each and every story and still surprises me in the end with a twist here and a turn there.

    I love the growth of the characters in each book and this one did not disappoint with Cork starting to move on with a new love interest and I love that his son is growing in a spiritual way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Big fan of Wm Kent Krueger--got me hooked with "Iron Lake&q

    Big fan of Wm Kent Krueger--got me hooked with "Iron Lake". Have recommended his series to lots of people.
    Trickster's Point is a great continuation of the Cork O'Connor saga. Great opening up to the interrogation that sets
    the theme. However, I'm not sure how Cork's 'thesis statement' to the investigator was really true. But I'll leave that to
    other literary critics who like to parse the plots more precisely than I do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Another great read.

    I have enjoyed each of the books in this series and this one was no disappointment. I like the little twists the author presents and you usually don't see the ending coming. I highly recommend to anyone that likes a good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A hit as usual

    I have loved all of this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Aphrodite

    Baack did the potion wotrk?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Percy

    Heyo hal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5