Customer Reviews for

Tricky Business

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A FIRST-RATE READING

Popular funny man Dave Barry hits another homer with his second laugh provoking mystery novel, while talented voice actor Dick Hill reads this rollicking tale with punch and panache. The Extravaganza of the Seas is a floating casino that transports gamblers jus...
Popular funny man Dave Barry hits another homer with his second laugh provoking mystery novel, while talented voice actor Dick Hill reads this rollicking tale with punch and panache. The Extravaganza of the Seas is a floating casino that transports gamblers just far enough away from the Florida coast. Despite a tropical storm alert the owner of the ship orders it to sea; he has plans to hijack the drugs being smuggled aboard ship by some local Mafioso. What a cast of characters! There is Fay Benton, a single mom hoping to get lucky for the sake of her child; two rascals in their eighties who have fled the confines of the Beaux Arts Senior Center; a motley bunch of mobsters; and Johnny and the Contusions, the ship's orchestra (if, of course, you are tone deaf). The storms brings more than high winds to the passengers, and brings happy smiles to listeners as the fate of this madcap voyage is revealed. Dave Barry again proves himself to be a first-rate fiction writer, and Dick Hill does another star turn.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

library copy. thank god I didnt buy it. I kept waiting for it to get better, then I kept waiting for it to end.

posted by Anonymous on October 10, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    A FIRST-RATE READING

    Popular funny man Dave Barry hits another homer with his second laugh provoking mystery novel, while talented voice actor Dick Hill reads this rollicking tale with punch and panache. The Extravaganza of the Seas is a floating casino that transports gamblers just far enough away from the Florida coast. Despite a tropical storm alert the owner of the ship orders it to sea; he has plans to hijack the drugs being smuggled aboard ship by some local Mafioso. What a cast of characters! There is Fay Benton, a single mom hoping to get lucky for the sake of her child; two rascals in their eighties who have fled the confines of the Beaux Arts Senior Center; a motley bunch of mobsters; and Johnny and the Contusions, the ship's orchestra (if, of course, you are tone deaf). The storms brings more than high winds to the passengers, and brings happy smiles to listeners as the fate of this madcap voyage is revealed. Dave Barry again proves himself to be a first-rate fiction writer, and Dick Hill does another star turn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    disappointing

    library copy. thank god I didnt buy it. I kept waiting for it to get better, then I kept waiting for it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Just OK.

    After reading the reviews, I was expecting more from this book. It was slow to get going then a rush at the end. I didn't find anything hilarious or even comical. It was just ok and I don't recommend buying it (I paid $1.00 at a library book sale). --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Just Disappointing

    I've always liked Dave Barry's books, but this was god awful. Maybe if he spent more time on perfecting the humor than writing graphic descriptions of people vomiting and getting their testicles cut off it would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Barry's on a roll

    I nearly died laughing with Big Trouble and I came even closer to doing so with Tricky Business. It is one laugh after another from beginning to end, starting with the band's discussion over an infomercial. I read the book in a couple of hours (not consecutive) and there are only a few books I've read so fast. This is not a deep book and reveals no universal truths-if that's what you are seeking, don't read it. However, if you're looking for a way to spend a rainy afternoon, I can heartily recommend Tricky Business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    A darker, funnier crime comedy from a funny guy

    Buy this book now. This book is a great crime comedy/mystery that i enjoyed deeply. At first, when i read this book, i didn't like this book as much as did Big Trouble, for i was not familar with scrotom removal via knife. But then i thought about it some more and desided, hey this is a sick world we live in and i'll darned sure that its sickness will not effect my judgement of this hilarious book. So i read it again. And again. And again. And again. And so on. I realized soon that book is the gosh darned funniest thing i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    A Carl Hiaasen Wanta Be?

    Dave Barry is a very funny man. I enjoy his columns and thought Big Trouble was a great read, full of quirky characters and an unbelievably believable story line. Tricky Business has none of that. The story line is predictable, and the characters are a shallow stereo typical rendering of the profession/make up of the person. This is compounded by a difficult to read type font (I've never complained about a type font until now).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Quick Page-Turner Good for Laughs!

    Dave Barry's quips and jokes reflected everything that we people need every now and then- a dose of humor, and Barry does just that. He focuses mainly on the quirkiness of ordinary life- daycare centers' tendencies to use words like 'interacting' to substitute for 'playing', the questions of everyday life (Why do the residents of Miami stock up on bleach before a storm? What is the function of each of the 48 buttons on your remote control? What happens at a retirement center where the lead entertainment is an old lady singing 'Bali Hai'?), and the shady, elusive characters that grace a casino ship in the middle of Tropical Storm Hector. Tricky Business isn't tricky- it's just plain fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Just What You'd Expect from Dave Barry

    Dave Barry does it again. I've done just about everything I could with Big Trouble: hardcover, paperback, audio...even the movie. Tricky Business was right on time. You had to feel for Fay, Johnny and The Contusions and the rest of the misfits who can't seem to find anything else to do but float around on a big old gambling boat, even if it means setting out in the middle of another Florida hurricane. And those old boys from the Beaux Arts Senior Center - I'm sure I've met those same guys somewhere - Barry nailed them dead-on. Dave Barry writes some pretty funny stuff and I didn't want it to end - like the mystery-stuff on the buffet line that's always there...never ends. Barry has got to have another novel in that quirky head of his. Bring it on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Best of the 2 barry novels

    Very entertaining and hilarious and honestly makes you wanna hurry up and get home to read it at the end of the day. Brillant and hilarious!!!!I hope he makes a few more because these are so funny and brilliant!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing crime thriller

    Tropical Storm Hector is playing havoc in the waters near Miami Beach and most people are staying indoors rather than go on the roads or sail their boats in the dangerous ocean. The Extravaganza of the Sea is a cruise ship that goes out past the three-mile limit into international waters so the passengers can have an evening of gambling. It is going out on the night Hector hits because it has a scheduled rendezvous with another smaller boat based in the Bahamas to exchange money for drugs. <P>Arnold and Phil, two senior citizens who escaped from the Beaux Art senior center, just want to have some fun. Wally and his band, Johnny and the Contusions, have to sing for their supper. Fay, a single mother and cocktail waitress, has to work if she wants to keep her job that pays the bills. All these innocent people are caught up in the crossfire when some of the criminals try to double cross their partners in crime. <P>TRICKY BUSINESS sounds like a deadly serious crime thriller and in part, it is exactly that. However, it is also a hilarious comedy satirizing the worst things about cruise ships. Dave Barry (that Dave Barry) has a unique serio-comic voice that will appeal to readers who like Kinky Friedman as obviously the President does. The characters seen real as the innocents struggle with heroism just to stay alive. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    Dave Barry returns to fiction

    After reading Dave Barry's "Big Trouble" and seeing the movie, I was disappointed at Barry's second attempt to write a novel. "Tricky Business" is entertaining, but nothing like laugh-out-loud Trouble. "Tricky Business" is worth reading if you have a library card, but not worth owning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1