BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Trigger

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So Real

I just couldnt stop reading. By the end I just held the book in my hands trying to get over what happened. I actually cried alittle and I'm not an expressive person. This is the only book I have ever wrote a review for, it was that good.

posted by J_Elliott on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Oh god, clearly this kid has no concept of death. Even when life gets so horrible you can hardly bear it, at least your alive. Because when you die, thats it. Your gone. There will be no thinking "wow my life is so much better now I killed myself". You will feel nno pai...
Oh god, clearly this kid has no concept of death. Even when life gets so horrible you can hardly bear it, at least your alive. Because when you die, thats it. Your gone. There will be no thinking "wow my life is so much better now I killed myself". You will feel nno pain no happyness no nothing. He also must have been a pretty selfish person to even think about killing himself let alone attempt to. He was so wrapped up in his own problems that he didn't even stop and think about how his death (or attempted death) would effect his family and friends. What a self-centered idiot.

posted by 16685952 on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Real

    I just couldnt stop reading. By the end I just held the book in my hands trying to get over what happened. I actually cried alittle and I'm not an expressive person. This is the only book I have ever wrote a review for, it was that good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense, also recommend too crazy to live too beautiful too die

    Intense, also recommend too crazy to live too beautiful too die great books

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Jersey seemed he had everything but when he shoots himself he ha

    Jersey seemed he had everything but when he shoots himself he has to start his life all over again. When he comes home everyone is different and he cant remember a thing before the accident and can't even think without accidentally saying it out loud. So what did happen? Jersey, with the help of people from his life, tries to remember the past and figure out why he shot himself. I thought this was an amazing story and an emotional experience as we figure out the past with Jersey. Yes, it is a cheap book but it was one of the best books i read in a while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Good

    Not as good as Exposed, but still interesting and unique :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    Oh god, clearly this kid has no concept of death. Even when life gets so horrible you can hardly bear it, at least your alive. Because when you die, thats it. Your gone. There will be no thinking "wow my life is so much better now I killed myself". You will feel nno pain no happyness no nothing. He also must have been a pretty selfish person to even think about killing himself let alone attempt to. He was so wrapped up in his own problems that he didn't even stop and think about how his death (or attempted death) would effect his family and friends. What a self-centered idiot.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Dark

    This was such a dark story but I loved reading it, issues for teens and being aware is so important for everyone especially parent. It made me cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Sneaking in Algebra

    I started to read this book when my friend had it during algebra class. i got all the way up to Chapter 4 and couldn't put it down. so i went and checked it out of the school library. i love it. its amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Trigger

    I read this story and i felt a whirlwind of emotions. I relearned what weakness, anger, sadness, acceptance, rejection, and guilt could be at their base. I recommend this book fullheartedly but with the knowledge you will be left wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    If I had to choose, I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars. Th

    If I had to choose, I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars. The reason for this is because it’s viewpoint. I enjoy how it’s from the mind of a boy who has brain damage. Seeing as the author actually studies brain damaged people, it’s interesting to see how it might actually be from their viewpoint and what might actually go through their head. Also, it’s a creative plot, the way that the boy doesn’t know why exactly everything is like this now and wants to find out. In this story, the main character, Jersey Hatch, somehow led himself to shoot himself in the head. He surprisingly lived through it and is left with a half-working brain. He has trouble with things that come easy to us and has to deal with worried, robotic parents and old friends that for some reason now hate him. Jersey doesn’t know why he shot himself or what he did to make everyone hate him, so he has to search for answers throughout the story. I would recommend this book to people who read at a higher level and enjoy realistic yet somewhat sad stories. The reason you should be at a higher level is because you really have to understand the effects of a brain injury and be able to follow Jersey’s sometimes confusing way of thinking. You should enjoy realistic yet depressing stories because the main problem of this book is now very common and realistic and happens a lot, and for the most part it’s not exactly positive and happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great story, bad writing

    The story was perfect and left me guessing what would happen next. But the story also takes a while to get to the point and annoyed me a bit at times. Some pages were full of repetitive phrases and words, but I enjoyed reading it over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!!

    This book is heart renching!! I could not put it down. One act that effects so many lives!! READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    emotional

    this book has made me cry just thinking of what he went through after the incident. It is a truly good book and makes you think about your own life and appreciate what you have and who you have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Wateva

    I hate my nook!

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read, if only a bit inconsistent

    The title alone is eye-catching. When I was browsing the book store and stumbled upon a story about a guy who attempted suicide but failed and had to start his life all over again, I couldn't pass it up. I couldn't wait to dig into the book and see how it develops for the protagonist, Jersey, as he tries to figure out the life he doesn't remember.

    The plot is pretty straight-forward. Jersey Hatch is a fish-out-of-water in his unfamiliar life. His parents walk eggshells around him constantly and no one from his old life would even speak to him, including his ex-best friend, Todd. The only people who give him the time of day is Todd's sister, Leza, and his grandma, Mama Rush. These people prove pivotal in his journey back into his old life.

    I applaud the character relationships throughout the book. Jersey gains a genuine friendship with Leza that doesn't appear forced or sugar-coated. Near the end of the book, you also see how he grows closer to his father as they start to find common ground through a particular event that happened to them. Unfortunately, the development with the plot isn't as good as it was with the characters.

    My biggest problem with the book is that it really goes nowhere until the last bit. It's more about the struggle that Jersey endures after he shoots himself, rather than what actually caused him to do it. And trust me, the word "struggle" isn't used lightly. Jersey gets pissed on (at one point: literally) throughout the entire book before we finally discover what drove him to do what he did.

    Susan Vaught proves to have amazing potential for her first book and she proves to be very passionate about the characters and the story she's telling. She did a wonderful job at bringing the characters of Jersey and Mama Rush to life. I would consider Trigger to be a must-read for troubled youth and I'd certainly recommend it to a wide variety of readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I love this book! It has a great story line, about a guy who wakes up from a coma and finds out that he tried to shoot himself. Aparently he did it wrong adn accidentally servived... But he doesnt remember why he did it. He knows some things though. Like, His friend hates him, His mom USED to be happy, and he tried to kill himself with his dads gun... Trigger is totally Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    couldn't put down

    i loved it could't put it down. read it in three days. it keeps you moving and guessing. wish there was a sequel to it so we can see more of jersey life as he progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mechele R. Dillard for TeensReadToo.com

    Seventeen-year-old Jersey Hatch cannot remember that day in his bedroom with his father's gun, and no amount of questioning from family, friends, or therapists can change that. Why did he do it? He wishes he could answer that question, but if he cannot even remember the actual act of shooting himself in the head, how can he be expected to remember why he decided to do it in the first place? Only through a painful search for answers can Jersey discover exactly what happened and why. <BR/><BR/>The fact that he lived is both a blessing and a curse. Yes, there is the simple fact that he is alive--a blessing, technically. But after one shoots himself in the head, life cannot ever return to "normal," whatever that may have been. Not only does he have to relearn everything in his life and deal with the fact that his body will never again work as it did before he pulled the trigger, he has to repair relationships. His dad is constantly hovering over him with that fake smile and a bowl of oatmeal; his mother rarely makes a sound; his best friend, Todd, wants nothing to do with him; and the authorities at school seem to wish he was anywhere but on their campus. Can all of these problems really be fallout from his mistake? He was the one who got shot, after all, so how can so many people be so affected by a single error in his judgment? These are questions for which Jersey knows he must find answers in order to find peace. <BR/><BR/>Author Susan Vaught is a neuropsychologist who works mainly with young people with head trauma. Through her words, the reader experiences the reality of a failed suicide--the frustration of the individual, the ambivalence of his parents, the fury that erupts within the caretaker household, the curiosity of outsiders, and, ultimately, the decision that can only be made by Jersey: rebuild his life or finish the job?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Amazing!

    I couldn't put this book down and I read it in two or three days. It was written wonderfully and I highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2