Customer Reviews for

Triggerfish Twist (Serge Storms Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Smart and funny.

    I'm currently in the 15th chapter and it has really been exciting and fun and defintly worth buying if you have seven dollars lying around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Triggerfish Twist Steals the Show

    It has been said that Mr. Dorsey killed off two, too many people in his first novel. The relevant conundrum then was how to please his new audience and bring the two beloved characters back. Mr. Dorsey does this in brilliant style and setting. Reuniting Sharon and Coleman with Serge was a high and wide hurdle which Dorsey clears with his rapier wit, clear style and his ability to make the bizzare seem almost commonplace, if not acceptable. It is interesting, albeit bad luck for the people that live on Triggerfish Lane, that Mr. Dorsey has now brought the trio into the suburbs. It affords him an unlimited supply of suburban rituals and middle income situations for Serge and his merry band to transorm into complete mayhem. This book, as all his others, is a page turner of pure adrenaline and side-splitting laughter. One is also extremely pleased with Mr. Dorsey's writing, already rich with talent, which shows his mature and more polished style, concise in its action leaving more room for the adventure of the characters and the story. This book will be a great summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wacky amusing Serge A. Storms Florida caper

    In the Tampa Bay area, after his roommates Sharon and Coleman burn down their townhouse along with a few historical homes while freebasing lint, Serge A. Storms relocates the entire crew to Triggerfish Lane. Meanwhile in the same Triggerfish Lane area, Lance Boyle rents to the shoddiest tenants on the planet. The slumlord wants the more respectable locals to sell cheaply to him. <P>Shockingly, Serge the historian loves life in the Burbs. He ¿helps¿ his neighbors, which requires some kind of conning. His best buddy is Midwest refugee Jim Davenport, a gentle-hearted father of three, who moved his family here because Tampa ranks third as a desirable place to live. However, the magazine Tampa and the Boyle Tampa are not the same. Serge places the Davenports off limits to the local nasties. However, Serge¿s bodyguard service requires 24-7 when Jim accidentally kills one of the McGraws leading to the rest of the family of thugs seeking vengeance. <P>The latest Serge tale TRIGGERFISH TWIST is a very humorous look at suburbia through the eyes of a kindhearted urban con man. The story line is wacky, as Serge looks so comfortable outside his element. Except for the Davenports the rest of the cast adds zany depth while the Midwest transfers appear as a typical American family caught in the midst of an asylum that leaves the quintet tugging at the hearts of the reader and Serge when the McGraws seek revenge. Tim Dorsey provides a humorous tale that continues the crazy tradition that along with the 2k election paints Florida with a lunatic terrific fringe. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very funny read!

    I loved this book. Living in Florida as I do, makes it even more hilarious since I recognize the sites, people-types, and quirkiness of the state. I'd recommend anything by Tim Dorsey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Sharon's Biggest Fan

    This story moves at 100 mph, giving the reader a hectic, twisting ride. Dorsey introduces a host of characters, each an individual and keeps them all discernable. Sharon is my favorite. What a bitch. This is the first title from Dorsey that I have read, and I'll read them all just to get more of her. The great thing about this story that its not only a zany, ridiculous adventure, it's a good mystery as well. Triggerfish Twist is an intensely funny, intricately woven, skillfully assembled, full speed ahead tropical, mind twister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Made me like reading like no other book can!

    I can not thank this book enough for getting me into the love of reading. The book never slows down and each scene always gets more out of control than the one before it. I cannot fathom a better book. It's a super-charged blast of pure fun. This is a book for anyone and everyone. Specifically, Tim D's characters, and situations are so unique that they'll open your mind as if you were seeing a never before seen color. You'll love how the different lives and effects weave through each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2