Customer Reviews for

Triggers

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Scott's Too Short To Be Useful Reviews

    A real screenflipper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Usual good, absorbing read by Mr. Sawyer

    Gave it 4 stars instead of five because thought the ending was lacking the "punch" (thought provoking) close I usually expect from this author. I would have given it 4.5 stars if I could.
    I like many of Sawyer's writings because he often takes what is almost feasible now and projects it into the not too distant future. I don't care for sci-fi that has unbelievable life-forms in some unbelievable time/place.
    Even in the writings Sawyer has done using non-human life forms - he makes them seem believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    "Triggers" is a thought-provoking, compelling read fu


    "Triggers" is a thought-provoking, compelling read full of suspense and intriguing characters. Robert J. Sawyer's latest meets and exceeds his standard of excellence in writing and story-telling.

    In the midst of home-grown terror and a major national defensive initiative, there is an assassination attempt on the American President. At the same time the President is the operating room, Doctor Singh is attempting a new proceedure to treat the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder of an Iraq War Vet by altering his memories. The White House is bombed and the electro-magnetic pulse affects Dr. Sighn's treatment process. Minds and memories are linked, including the Iraq War Vet and the President.

    Set against the backdrop of a political thriller, Sawyer masterfully weaves in discussion of racism, abuse, the affects of war on our soldiers, and political responsibility. And once again, in true Sawyer fashion, he shows us that there is an acceptable, preferred alternative to what we know and the direction society is going.

    "Triggers" is filled with non-stop action and touching interpersonal moments between characters. I couldn't put it down. If you've read any of Sawyer's previous books, you will love this one. If you've only started reading Sawyer after watching "FlashForward", you will love this book. Whether you love thrillers or Science Fiction, or interpersonal drama, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Wasnt his best

    Ive read most of his stuff when it was first printed in analog and usualy cant wait for his next piece but as one reviewer said it was redundant but i also found it predictable the begining was good though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    A little different, but still GREAT!

    Faster-paced and more thriller-like than his usual work. Another great book by Sawyer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Not my favorite.

    Enjoyed it at the beginning, but after a while the story became redundant .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this when it was printed as a serial in Analog. As always

    I read this when it was printed as a serial in Analog. As always with Robert J. Sawyer, it's an enjoyable read. It feels like he rewrote FlashForward with TV in mind (and I believe he said something similar was the idea behind this book.) This book, like his others, lets you get to know the characters well. I'd rate it a 5 but the main topic isn't one that grabs me and mostly for that reason I'd rate some of his other books higher. Definitely a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Great read, Robert J. Sawyer doesn't disappoint!

    Great read, Robert J. Sawyer doesn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1